We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of History”
Review of McHenry Mansion

McHenry Mansion
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oakdale, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A touch of History”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Have not been there since they had a fire. It is furnished Victorian style. Has a lot of history about Modesto. I have been to special teas, that were very good.

Helpful?
Thank Judy95361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Christmas in the Mansion”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Mansion is the best location for transporting yourself and kids to the past. Beautifully maintained and still open. Amazing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth it if you are in the area”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's a lovely Victorian mansion with attention to period details. (They are still finishing restoration after a fire.) It is one of the few historical sites to visit in Modesto. Unless you are really into Victorian mansions I wouldn't go out of my way to visit it, but it is pleasant if you happen to be in Modesto.

Admission is free, tour is guided, hours are limited.

The gift shop is particularly nice. The volunteers are very friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back in time visiting mansion”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I especially enjoyed the gift shop with memorabilia. I remember mainly the tall ceilings and long drapes. Reminds me of the John Muir house in Martinez. I prefer to walk alone; guides are gracious and knowledgabale. hours are not so convenient.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryteworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another beautiful mansion”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We didn't get to go inside and there were workers repainting the outside, but it was nice to learn a little bit about Modesto's history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McHenry Mansion also viewed

 

Been to McHenry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing