We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxed go-to favorite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velvet Grill and Creamery

Velvet Grill and Creamery
Ranked #66 of 498 Restaurants in Modesto
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Delhi, California, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A relaxed go-to favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have always enjoyed Velvet Grill and Creamery! My children love the pancakes, and I always order the Mega Grilled Cheese, thought the grilled chicken is a nice lighter choice when the mood strikes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShanAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Our favorite breakfast spon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a favorite spot for breakfast for my family. Whenever my son and his wife visit from San Francisco, they make sure to arrive in time to go out to Velvet for breakfast. I have never had a bad meal here. I think their breakfast specials are a great deal. I particularly like their french toast, and waffles. The wait staff is friendly and the service is excellent. I've eaten lunch and dinner here as well and both have great choices on the menu. They are also known for their homemade ice cream. I highly recommend this place for a great casual meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
625 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Great homemade ice cream, shakes & vegetarian items”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

A great place for a meal. The service is friendly & outstanding. I used a groupon several times. The milkshakes are outstanding & made from store made real ice cream. I have had their vegetarian patty which is unique & good - had it with both their Baja Burger & with their Velvet's California Burger - both were good, good sized & come with salad, soup or vegetarian chili. The mega grilled cheese is also good but not as mega as I thought - but great tasting & filling with the other items included.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“First and last time..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The service was almost ok.. We ordered a crab sandwich and a burger, the crab sandwich had no flavor & the burger was not so good. The prices were reasonable but for the food we payed for.. Not worth a cent. On the other hand the beverages and the fries were great!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss-Cali-209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The food is delicious, the service friendly, the prices reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I had a great salad the first time and the second time, it was so yummy. I did that because I wanted to save room and calories for ice cream! My husband and I shared two scoops of their very rich, decadent frozen treat. Next time I'll try a new food, but not too much...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank grandmamuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velvet Grill and Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Velvet Grill and Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing