We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bland food”
Review of Tortilla Flats - CLOSED

Tortilla Flats
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mission Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great location, bland food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Last time we went here we had some friends in from out of town. They had a live band, and had music coming over the PA system. Where we were sitting right between the two music sources made both sound bad. Night fell as we arrived and it was so dark in the place, everyone had to use their cell phones to read the menu. After we ordered, they would bring out the food as it came up, not all at once. We had all finished our meals before my daughter's meal was served, and by that time, she was not hungry because we had shared our meals with her.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County,CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Closed! Fail.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views, bad food. It's gone. Lets hope they stop "jacking around" and get it right next time.
Perfect location, so much potential.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liv2travel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sorry to see you have closed”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a beautiful location on Lake Mission Viejo. We went over the other day and found the restaurant closed. Tortilla Flats used to host a great Taco Tuesday with some of the best fity cent tacos I have ever had. Too bad! I think the problem was the pricing for mexican food was way over budget. The wife and I had a couple drinks and two taco dinners and it came up ot about $80. You can't do that once a week.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Have been coming here for 12 years. Food and service used to be as good as it gets for Mexican in the MV but ownership changes and not sure what else have combined to make this a place we will stay away from sadly enough. Our last visit saw bland and poor tasting and quality of food, and poor service. Mixed drinks weak too. Read that original owners were taking it back. This would be good news. Will wait to see this take place before returning in spite of its prime location on the lake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst Date of my Life”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The credit card machine broke, I had to pay cash, and the food made me sick. The restaurant does not match the view. Stay for the outside table, have chips and salsa, and drink alcoholic beverage of choice. Not a fancy place.

Helpful?
Thank Essene77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortilla Flats also viewed

Mission Viejo, Orange County
 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing