We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO BUTTER !!??”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #21 of 238 Restaurants in Mission Viejo
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
317 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“NO BUTTER !!??”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

arrived at CPK and find out that now you have to make a big deal to get butter with your bread. they want you to use the oil they provide because it is healthier. I was told butter was not available at all but pushed back a little then got a small tab of it from the kitchen. this is not a smart idea. go ahead and make it by request but don't tell us that we cant have it. the pea soup is great and the original chopped chicken is still the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perhaps one of the best chain restaurants”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went here twice and found both food and service exceptional, it doesn't seem like a chain except for the printing of the menu. Very open with lots of windows making it feel very roomy.

I had pasta dishes both times, both the pesto and light cream sauces were excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No "cluck" to the chicken”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife & I ate dinner on 8/3/2013 at the Mission Viejo CPK. We both had the small plate specials –a Petite Wedge Salad and a Chicken Tinga Quesadilla. The wedge salad was good – ample bacon, blue cheese and lettuce. The quesadilla, however, was terrible.
The menu listed lime chicken as the first ingredient, implying there would be abundant chicken in the quesadilla, more chicken than beans. I ate two portions of the quesadilla thinking it had a nice balance of flavors, complimented by the dipping sauce. Then I focused on the contents – I hadn’t noticed eating any chicken. I opened up the remaining 2 portions, and saw no chicken! I expected to see identifiable pieces of chicken. I called over the waiter and complained and he pointed out to me the chicken in one of the portions. It must have measured ¼” by ¼” and was very thin – a sliver. He said the kitchen carefully measures how much chicken is in the quesadilla. I asked to speak with the manager. He didn’t defend their quesadilla; but, he offered to have another quesadilla made for me with more chicken, at no extra cost. When the quesadilla arrived, I opened all 4 portions. There was more chicken all right! In fact they doubled the amount; instead of 1 piece of chicken, I had two pieces per portion. Each portion had two pieces of chicken slivers, accompanied by 4 beans per portion. I took the chicken from half the portions and added them to the remaining portions. Some of the chicken slivers were larger – 3/16”
NEVER, Never, never order the Chicken Tinga Quesadilla at CPK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smoked333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went with a group of about 10 people. Great Service, Great Food, Loved the atmosphere... Can't wait to go back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have eaten at several CPK locations across the country and, while I like them, the food at this one was better than most. The crowds must agree because there was a pretty long wait when we left. (We went early, around 5, and got one of the last tables). Consider take out which they seem to do a ton of. Service was very good except for assertion that they have a chocolate soufflé for dessert...we tried and while it was tasty, it was more of a molten chocolate cake with ice cream than a real soufflé.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler01534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

Mission Viejo, Orange County
 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing