We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and overhyped”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rockin B's Burrito Bandito - CLOSED

Rockin B's Burrito Bandito
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Laguna Niguel, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overhyped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This restaurant seems to be more of a pickup place for singles than a sushi bar. The sushi bar is very big, and the sushi is pretty good, but very expensive and I can find better of a couple of dollars less. The sushi bar is actually too big, and that intimate feeling one usually feels between the chef and the customer is missing. The service is mediocre and the atmosphere is badly missing

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLindsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food good - restaurant dirty!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

The atompshere is dark and noisy - which is probably good because it hides the dirt and grime all over the place. If you can get past the look of the place, the food is good and there are a lot of options for sushi rolls and some very unique combinations. Service is just so-so.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JJA735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“the noise the drive you nuts..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

i will admit that the food is very good.. but dont plan on going there and carrying on a conversation unless you want to shout. great place maybe for teens who dont mind the noise. i saw another person in the restroom and we were joking that we would not be able to hear ourselves for days. he was from out of state and commented that "maybe this is what you calif people like to do when you go out.. not have to talk to anyone.."

but food and service were quite good...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

On our way home to Oceanside, Calif after taking daughter to John Wayne Airport in Santa Ana, decided to try this restaurant again. We ate there a few years back and remembering we liked it, decided to have another go at it. Oh my, I am so glad we did. I had a steak and grilled vegetables which were outstanding. The grilled vegetables weren't just your routine carrot/brocolli/cauliflower standard of most establishments. This came with asparagus, red bell pepper, yellow and italian squash, and eggplant all grilled with balsamic and spices. It was incredible. The steak was done med well which I asked but still tender enough and not dried out. My husband had sushi and i can't speak to that as it isn't my thing but it sure looked pretty and he said it was good.. For dessert I had mango sorbet which came on a bed of thinly sliced melon and pineapple topped with raspberry sauce. Oh my, I can't imagine where they got such good fruit but it was the perfect ripeness and sweetness. I am still drooling, it was so good. I definitely will try to figure out a time to go back here even though it is about 40 to 50 minutes from where we live.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelhussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Food, Ok Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Rip Tide Rockin Sushi & Tippan Grill in Mission Viejo is a very family friendly place to go for a good meal. The menu has a lot of choices from noodles, chicken and soups/salads, to a ful sushi menu! There is a party atmosphere, very loud and hip. The food was pretty good...but not a lot for the price. We went on a Saturday night and they were wall to wall packed...but severely under-staffed! The service was very slow and the waters seemed stressed out. Dinner ended up lasting close to 75 minutes. With three kids in toe.....75 minutes is a long time! I'd definitely come again for another chance. I suppose worth it just for the ambiance and food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Motek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockin B's Burrito Bandito also viewed

Mission Viejo, Orange County
 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing