We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for drinks and music. That's it!”

The Derby Deli & Dueling Piano Bar
Ranked #177 of 237 Restaurants in Mission Viejo
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5 Freeway
Transit: Less than half a mile from the Metrolink station. On a main bus route.
Description: This is a full service New York Style delicatessen restaurant and a dueling piano bar that is open daily 'til 2am. We have amazing Deli meats that are cured, brined, smoked and steamed here in-house. Including daily fresh baked breads and amazing appetizers & desserts. The house comes alive Tuesday thru Saturday night with two pianists, live drums, a horn section and a violinist playing, by request, all of your favorite songs. The Show starts at 8pm Fall thru Winter and 8:30pm during Spring and Summer seasons.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for drinks and music. That's it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

They have a very strict and limited menu. We asked to try to simplify something and they wouldn't allow it! The chef doesn't make substitutions! They do have great music later at night and that's about it. Come to drink and listen to music. They also shoved us in the tiny little table in the corner because ALL of the other tables were "reserved!" All of the other tables were EMPTY! We were the only ones in the restaurant! And it's a good sized restaurant!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Dud!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hello,
Was excited to meet friends at the piano bar. Sounded fun but was a total dissapointment. The service was lousy, the place was crowded with various birthday groups. We did not get what we ordered initially. When the ordered dish finally arrived it was WRONG. After complaining to the waiter once again we were shoved to the side and forgotton once again for about 45 min. We decided it was a lost cause and left. Don't waist your time or money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ezusag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good value for the Mon.-Fri. lunch specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

good food selection, great fries and sit near the patio

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank marc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, Ca
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“THE place to casual party in South Orange County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We knew it would be fun when we couldn't find a parking place - & there's lots of parking! Security at the door, giant room, big bar, lots of crowd noise, birthdays & balloons, cheap eats & drinks during the week, plus great deli with lots of choices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano
Level Contributor
210 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Different, spacious and great portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Not your average run of the mill restaurant. Combination bar/nightclub in evening. Service so-so but good food with indoor and outdoor dining.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Derby Deli & Dueling Piano Bar also viewed

Mission Viejo, Orange County
 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 

Been to The Derby Deli & Dueling Piano Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing