We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence
south dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and two children stayed here in June and were very happy with our choice. We stayed in cabin #6 and there was plenty of room for all of us. The kitchen was small but functional with utensils and dishes supplied. The fireplace was an added bonus we used a lot more than we anticipated as the nights were still cool in June. The cottages are all in the redwoods, so the temperature does stay comfortable during the day also. The breakfast in the lobby was good with pastries, muffins, yogurt, juice and coffee, though some fruit would have been nice. The staff was friendly and did help with any problems or questions we had. On the last day we were there the housekeeper just knocked once and immediately used her key to come into our cottage before we had a chance to answer the door. She said she didn't see our car and thought we were gone. We hadn't checked out yet and it wasn't check out time yet anyway, so I think she really should have knocked and actually waited instead of immediately opening the door with her key. The garbage truck early in the morning is annoying, but that isn't anything the owners could control. I would recommend a cabin away from the road like 5, 6, 7, 8 or 9.

Room Tip: Cabins away from the road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hofed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    74
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
83
104
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My stay was just as I expected and more. I had hoped for a lovely setting, and it truly was. I was impressed at how many trees were located within the property. Although Miranda Gardens is not located within a State or National Redwood Forest, you wouldn't know it. The area is quiet, peaceful, and feels likes it's been the same way for ages.

We enjoyed a little hike down behind the property in the morning before breakfast. It was so quiet and lovely to see the sunrise through the giant trees. Breakfast had a nice selection. I would describe it as an ample continental breakfast.

The staff was friendly and welcoming. The cabin (two rooms connected by a single bath) was clean and cute. It could use some updating, but it was right for the feel of the place and the price. We enjoyed the front porch on our cabin and loved that we could park right in front of it. There was only one problem: a very noisy garbage truck came to collect the garbage the morning we were there (Tuesday). But, that can't be helped, and that's not the resort's fault.

The location was great on the Avenue of the Giants and just moments away from Humboldt State Park. I would gladly stay here again. It would be great for families, couples, and anyone seeking a quiet respite. With a great restaurant and coffee stand across the street, as well as a small market and gas station on the same side...you'll have everything you need for awhile. Make this your stay in the Redwoods!!

Room Tip: Choose a cabin away from the dumpsters, if you'll be there on the morning of garbage collection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vc812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We loved this place. The cabins are really good as cabins go, with nice bathrooms and kitchen. This is not supposed to be a refined luxury resort. That said, it's a very nice place to stay for nature-loving couples and families. The cabin was clean and comfortable and the ones away from the road are quiet. We cooked most of our own meals, which you'll need to do because there's not much to eat within a 45-minute drive, except for the nice Miranda Cafe right across the street.

The owners are as nice as could be, and the grounds and the rooms are kept very clean. It's not a cheap place, but it's the best option on the Avenue of the Giants. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DS_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Miranda Gardens Resort is beautiful - nestled among redwoods on The Ave. of The Giants. Our cottage couldn't have been cleaner and was exactly what we had hoped it would be. Would love to go back some time, it was convenient and everyone working in the office was so nice. Highly recommend. There was also a very good cafe right across the street that we ate at several times and a small grocery next door.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyfulevermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stay right in a grove of redwood trees - how special is that! It is right on the Avenue of the Giants road and the spacious grounds are lovely. It has everything you need or probably want; a swimming pool, volleyball nets, grocery store, gas station, and in the evening it's fun to sit around a big camp fire and meet other guests.

We've been coming back here for 40 years. It was very rustic, but the cabins have been upgraded and are exceptionally nice now. They all have a deck or patio, and our bed was comfortable. Some have kitchens, but there is also a very good restaurant right across the street. A good value, and the people managing this property do everything right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SacramentoCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We traveled all the way from Florida to experience the Redwoods and this place did not disappoint as the cabins were above and beyond clean and the grounds were well kept. The service was friendly and informative; from making our reservations to the service while on property. They are located at the southern end of the Avenue of the Giants which made it very easy to explore during the day and come back at night to our cozy cabin. The only down fall is that the beds need new mattresses but that should not stop anyone from staying here. The entire family will cherish our time in the Redwoods.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILiveforThisFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely little place in the heart of the redwoods. Sweet place, beautifully maintained, and with just enough amenties that you don't have to
head all the way into Garberville if you run out of milk. Fun place for kids and a great little diner with great salads and pizza right across the road.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
11.8 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
9.8 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Scotia Inn
Scotia Inn
#1 of 1 in Scotia
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Property: Miranda Gardens
Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Miranda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing