We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for Families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence
chandler
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for Families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here in July for two nights during our 12 day road trip. The cabin was comfortable and the atmosphere very relaxing. The location can not be beat! We were counting on the nearby restaurant for dinner Sunday, but it was closed. We ended up getting a frozen pizza and some soup from the little store next door. The kitchen is easy to work in and there is an indoor or outdoor table to choose from. My 7 year old and I had fun playing at the playground after a day of hiking. There was basketball or ping-pong and a play set for the kiddos. All in all, this is a great place to bring the family. We stayed two nights, but it would be a wonderful place for a whole week of relaxing with the family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    73
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
82
104
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just held our 50th class reunion at Miranda Gardens (across from our high school). The staff was VERY accommodating. Loved the unique cabins, beautiful redwoods, and being allowed to have 70 people there to share in a BBQ. Couldn't have been more perfect!

Room Tip: Cabin 5 was awesome. Beautiful view of redwoods and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It upsets me to read reviews where someone didn't read their contract or complains about not getting amenities that were never offered...if you're not sure...ASK!!! It's that simple. I've been in Law enforcement for decades and I travel quite a bit. Unfortunately what comes with my line of work is a healthy dose of distrust for establishments bent on separating you from your hard earned money and offering an unreasonable facsimile of service. I am so happy to report Miranda Inn is NOT one of those establishments. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. They'll bend over backwards to make your stay a memorable one...and a memorable one it was. The rooms are cozy and very "homey" With the positioning of most of the cabins, you step outside of your unit and you are immediately swallowed up by dozens and dozens of tall beautiful California Redwoods. I sat outside on our own little patio enjoying the aroma of California Redwoods and a great bottle of wine . The entire town, all two or so blocks of it could not have been friendlier to us. I don't make it up that way often, but I can assure you, the next time I do, The Miranda INN is on my list...without question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is inside the courtyard area but even if it's not available, you and your fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in cabin2. It was small with some nice antique pieces in it. The bathroom was fine and clean. The towels and linen were fresh. Outside our door were four redwood trees. I mean right outside our door. We had plenty of channels on the TV for being in the middle of nowhere. We ate across the street and had a great salad and Lasagna. The people in the town of Miranda were friendly and real. I read about the fleas in the other reviews. I think I did feel one outdoors but none in the room. The carpets could have been updated. The antiques in the office were charming. I would recomend it for people who can deal with "different" and homey"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muchka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

When we first arrived my heart sank a little as I thought we had booked a more upmarket place but it turned out to be one of the most enjoyable nights of the holiday. It's perfectly situated for people wanting to stay near the giant redwoods though Miranda itself is tiny and has little by way of facilities. the staff were lovely and there was a great communal atmosphere which our kids loved - it really attracts a family crowd. There's a nice little pool and play area. The cabin/lodge was a little rustic but spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. there was a good small kitchen and a fine and very clean bathroom. There are barbecues by each cabin a large gas fired BBQs in a central area for anyone to use. also a lovely campfire to sit round. breakfast was continental and basic but fine.

One criticism is that the adjoining store, owned by the hotel, is a bit basic and the food a bit junky and grim so to make the most of this, you should stock up somewhere else before you arrive.

Our son left his jumper behind and they readily and instantly forwarded it to our next destination in another state so we got it before we flew home. I'm sure you can find more luxurious places but few that are so welcoming. Unhesitatingly recommended. ask for a cabin back fro the road although we had one near the front and it was no problem

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were in Miranda to hike and explore the redwoods. Spent one night in the Miranda Gardens. Our cabin was very large and very clean. Definitely dated,not that attractive,but had good beds, lots of clean towels. It backed up to the redwoods and was quiet. Our teenagers played ping pong and basically had a great time on the grounds,which were very well kept. We ate dinner across the street which was good and breakfast in the hotel,which was fine. It was much better than any chain,with lots of room to spread out and so much for the kids to do outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank letmepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This place is absolutely awesome and great for kids and family! It's very magical. I would recommend units 5 or 7 as they back up to the Redwoods. This place is like stepping back into 1950's California. The cabins are well kept as are the grounds and pool. This place is very, very quiet so if you're looking for robust nightlife this place is not for you. There are many, many things to do within a short drive from the place. The beach is only an hour a way. Go here as this place is the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2741Bodensee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
11.8 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
9.8 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Scotia Inn
Scotia Inn
#1 of 1 in Scotia
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Property: Miranda Gardens
Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Miranda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing