We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed This One” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zahir's Bistro

Zahir's Bistro
Ranked #12 of 325 Restaurants in Milpitas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyed This One”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Plucked this place out of Yelp and was thoroughly pleased. Service and food were quite good. Dining room was quiet (albeit not very full). They were out of several beers that were on the menu but no big problem. I had the pasta and artichokes which was light and fresh. Nice place for a business dinner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“New Location Same Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

New location (i think about a year or so) but still good quality food, they relocated from the old location on Calaveras (which is now the Black Bear Diner). Of the three locations that they have
been in believe the last location on Calaveras had the best ambiance and layout. The new location now on main street is very open and plain decor. However the food is till high quality and
excellent taste. All of the items are very well prepared and presented and the staff is always very friendly and accommodating. Most evenings Zahir is greeting and seating the customers and/or checking with most patrons on the experience. Would highly recommend for a nice upscale night out for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
587 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“VERY good, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

In a former all- you- can eat space, Zahir's has a boring layout in a nondescript boxy space. The table linens and settings are all very good, and the menu has a lot of good choices. Those are the first impressions.
Then, one bite of the food and - wow, SCORE! One of the best Parmesan Sole dishes in memory, even compared to the top names in seafood dining. The salad was perfect - fresh, varied greens and tasty dressing.
Service was very good. Zahir and his son made sure that everything worked well without hovering - attentive but understated service. Perfect for the kind of meal you would go there for. The rest of our group were very happy with their food. Not cheap, but a good deal for the outstanding quality of the food and service - very happy to part with my money in this case.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Zahir's is back and as good as before ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

As others have mentioned, this is a new location for Zahir. He apparently reopened the about six months back, but we only found out yesterday, and went to try the new location. The food continues to be very good -- prepared and presented with great attention to detail. The menu is a slightly more limited than before, as we noticed some of our previous favorites missing -- but there is still plenty of choice. Overall, this is good food for a reasonable price presented by a very pleasant host. We hope the new location will do well!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvToEatOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zahir's Bistro - Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is the fourth location for Zahir. In all locations, the menu was pretty much the same. Almost all his staff have stayed with Zahir through all the moves. The chef is excellent and also an original from the first location. To me, this indicates consistency and that Zahir is a good employer.
The service has been very good, not hovering overhead, yet attentive.
Zahir selects the ingredients and only gets the best. The combination of experienced staff, great ingredients, a fine chef, and Zahir's attention to details means an outstanding meal and experience.
I have been to all of his prior Milpitas locations, and this one is the best. The three other locations had shared parking which sometimes was a challenge to find a spot. This location has it's own very ample parking.
This location also has something that was missing in all of the previous locations ----- outside eating area for a lunch. The location also has less traffic than the Calaveras location, meaning a quiet meal is possible.
I had not kept up with his latest move, but re-discovered the new location when looking online for a eatery close to the Cavalier event. We have eaten three dinners within the last few weeks, and taken friends there. We all will be back to continue enjoying the food and ambiance that Zahir provides.
I highly recommend you try Zahir when you want a casual, reasonably priced, quality meal. Take a look at his menu in advance. It has a large and varied choice. He also has daily specials.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zahir's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Zahir's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing