We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, clean & quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Santa Ynez, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value, clean & quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were in town for a wedding and needed a place close by for an overnight stay with an early departure the next day. This place worked fine. Clean and quiet, and decent service, free wi-fi and the price was more than fair. A few really minor pet peeves - no one available for check-out at 6 am, and the refrigerator and air conditioner in the room were a bit noisy. I also think the chain could try a little harder with the grab and go breakfast, but for the price, we just hit Peet's Coffee down the street and fixed that problem. All in all, it met our needs perfectly for this kind of a trip. Not the kind of place you'd want to stay for a truly extended stay (I've seen extended stay hotels with better amenities) or if you really want to stay someplace a little more special, but absolutely fine if you just need a clean, basic room for a night or two.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pale_Rider27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We would like to thank you for your recent review of our hotel, and for choosing to stay with us while in town for a wedding. We hope you had a great time!

Our company prides itself on providing excellent guest service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings at a great value, which is why it was gratifying to read your feedback about your overall stay. I do apologize that you found our "Grab and Go" breakfast to be limited; however, it is meant to be more along the lines of a deluxe coffee bar. As well, I have spoken with maintenance about the air conditioner and refrigerator noise in your room. It has been fixed so this does not bother guests moving forward.

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future or at any of our other brand locations. We look forward to showing you our redoubled efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    13
    15
    8
    30
See reviews for
18
13
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My son and I have stayed at Extended Stay America hotel for more than a month. We like the facility, the room we stayed has decent size with kitchen, study table, sofa and breakfast area. Room was clean and comfortable. Front desk staff were helpful, but, I felt that they were under staffed, front desk staff seems too busy and handle multiple tasks at same time. I was afraid to ask for additional help. For some reason, the fire alarm went off multiple times during our stay; everyone had to evacuate and wait outside for a long time for the city fire fighters to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySeattle846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We would like to take the time to thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. I do want to apologize that we had a fire alarm incident while you were staying with us, it is of course so important that we be sure that the hotel is a safe place for all our guests before we can allow them to return to their rooms. I do apologize for that inconvenience.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words & please dont hesitate to contact our front desk staff or myself personally should you need future accomodations at this location or any other locations nationwide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Having taken a 6AM flight, I arrived WAY to early for normal check-in hoping to catch a quick nap and shower after the dismal flight. Amber found an available room, and did her best to get me the lowest rate. The previous guests must have trashed the bathroom sink somehow, but Amber came to the rescue again and had it fixed before I returned at night. The rooms are not luxurious but nice. What sets this hotel apart are the reasonable prices and a cheerfully helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you stay here and are looking for a great place to eat, walk a couple of blocks to Georgio's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so very much for your outstanding review of our hotel and for recognizing the hard work and efforts of our staff memeber, Amber. We know that many of our guests are constant travelers, like yourself, and strive to provide a "home away from home" atmosphere, complete with friendly service and comfortable surroundings. It sounds like we were able to provide this for you, especially after we fixed your room's sink!

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My stay was great all because of Amber friendly greeting and helpful too. She did not make us feel uncomfortable when we asked her questions about how much would it cost to take the bus. My family and I are from NYC and we just wanted to experience taking the bus in CA.

Room Tip: choose the front window room because it's more sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barshawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at our hotel, and about our Guest Service Representative, Amber. It's always satisfying to read positive comments from our valued guests, like you. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. Im glad you were able to experience the great things we have to offer here on the west coast including our wonderful hotel and California's public transportion system.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I travel for work. I'm in hotels for about ten months out of the year, for the last seven years. So when it comes to hotels, I know what I'm talking about.

I mainly stay with extended stay hotels due to my need for long term accommodations. While this particular hotel has its typical strengths and weeknesses, limited up front parking, no security cameras, coffee bar, but what this hotel has that no other hotel has is awesome customer service.

I checked in with Amber. I mentioned I was here building a couple of paint store projects. She never fails to ask how my day is and particularly how my projects are going. Its nice that she actually asks how my day is with interest, rather than generic corporate employee requirements, smile and greet the customer.
She knows I start work before the breakfast bar is set up, so she always puts aside one of my favorite muffins for me when I come back for breakfast!
I have never had such good customer service in a hotel before. It truly is a place that I can call home for the time being.

Thank you Amber!!!

Dan
104

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
It is so rewarding to hear that you had such a great experience during your stay at our hotel. The staff and I are so glad that we were able to provide you with a "home away from home" experience, one that left you wanting to visit with us again in the future. We thank you for recognizing our hard work and I will be sure to pass along your glowing review of Amber.

It would be our pleasure to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area or at any one of our other brand locations. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Upon check in Amber gave us excellent customer service. She is so personal and professional with customers every time we are around her. We wish her the best and to keep up the good work! We will be staying here for a few more months and we are happy that Amber and other staffs are here to make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Connie - The feedback you provided truly warms our hearts. Thank you for writing such a glowing review about your stay so far at our hotel. The staff and I strive to provide our guests with a friendly, clean and comfortable atmosphere; one that feels like a "home away from home" regardless of the number of nights they are staying with us. We are so glad to hear we were able to create this for you and I will be sure to show Amber your compliments.

We appreciate you choosing our hotel to stay in and look forward to continue to offer you top notch service throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for a month and can not believe the other reviews. It was the worst. Dirty, noisy and a staff that simply did not care at all. Repairs were only done after several complaints and false fire alarm evacuated the motel every few nights.

Room Tip: Choose the Embassy Suites next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review about your stay at our hotel. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. I apologize that we did not meet these standards with you.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms and property, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. In regards to not getting your repairs done, I have addressed them with the management team with the goal of having procedures put in place, which will ensure issues are being handled in a more immediate fashion. Based on your experiences, it is clear that we need to put time and effort into perfecting these processes.

Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other brand locations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milpitas hotels
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas - McCarthy Ranch
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
1.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
#12 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn San Jose Milpitas
Days Inn San Jose Milpitas
#14 of 20 in Milpitas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Milpitas Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas

Property: Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas
Address: 1000 Hillview Court, Milpitas, CA 95035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Jose - Milpitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Milpitas
Extended Stay Milpitas
Milpitas Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing