We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great customer service and very good breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
California, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service and very good breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have stayed here a lot as a family and with our hockey team. Staff has always been friendly and very supportive . Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    137
    73
    19
    11
See reviews for
94
46
27
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a great location if you're visiting the Cisco campus. It's very close, and they offer free shuttle service to / from Cisco and the airport. The service is great, especially Mark at the front desk, who also drives the shuttle. The hotel is a little dated and the elevators don't always work reliably. Oddly, the bathroom doors in the rooms are heavy metal and will not stay open. The breakfast is pretty good, offering freshly made omelets, eggs, etc., in addition to the standard continental items. Free Internet access, in-room coffee, fridge and microwave make this a great business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFBWDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The price is pretty high for the value of this hotel. Room is decent enough. Staff are friendly, but the place is dark and there is a very strong and unpleasant odor, most likely what they use to clean. Staying here for work, and they have a convenient shuttle, although I had to wait at least 45 minutes at the airport and it was cold!! This would not be where I would choose to stay at all..! Very over-priced..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

i stayed 3 nights, friday through sunday, in late oct at this hotel. a few days after i checked out, i found my bill had extra $62.90 charge. that gave me a negative impression on the hotel.

i made a complain to hilton. the next day, the hotel general manaer called me and apologized and returned the money. besides, she sincerely asked me to comment where they could improve. i told her the miscommunications causing the overcharge (frankly speaking, it was not completely the hotel's fault). i felt the hotel's sincerity to hlep customer solve problems or issues.

i was out of bay areas where i went to school there. i went back there from time to time. i told the hotel manager next time if i chose a hotel in bay area to stay, i would surely choose her hotel again. why? their sincere attitude and customer services make up any of their previous errors.

beginning from next year, i will stay more at hilton. this year, i stayed 150 nights at marriott, 70 at hilton. next year, i think 200 nights at hilton and zero or a little at marriott.

if you ask me why, please read my long posting (Spend 2 hours to write) that complain marriott's customer services. the point is: newport news marriott at city center has the worst staffs. they never listened to me and were not at all willing to listen to me. the first secind i spoke, they began to come up with various excuses to deny me and reject me, even if thyey could make up a false answer that was obviously wrong. so, their worst customer service made me feel disgusting about marriott.

hilton will again be my first choice next year. i earned hilton diamond status 2 years ago and merely maintained my diamond this year by staying 70 nights. after comparison, i found hilton had better customer services thanh marriott. hilton is wiling to listen to me and try to help me solve the issue, while marriott was trying every way they could to reject and deny me.

Room Tip: good customer service. i will surely stay there again when i am next to stay at bay area hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We usually stay in the Hilton Santa Clara but this year there was no availability. So to maintain the Hilton points we opted for the Garden Inn. Obviously not as swish as its bigger brother, but it still ticks most the boxes. Rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The Garden Inn is located by a number of restaurants and shops at McCarthy Ranch next to the I-880. Gives you easy access to all the tech companies. It was not significantly cheaper than the Hilton in Santa Clara which is probably worth the extra premium for business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK_laughingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have done better in the San Jose area. This property had a great location, but issues. My upgraded room had the air chamber bed that went flat by morning. I couldnt wait to check out and get back home to a normal bed. It took the staff 2 days to replace my broken inroom coffe pot. The coffe area in the room was full of ants. The ice machines were broken along with the water cooler in the work out center. The front desk staff seemed to care and were friendly, but never followed up with their concerns.

breakfast was only included with full price rooms or premier hilton club members, so if you get a discount, expect to pay for breakfast ceral.

You can do better than this in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed almost a week on business at the HGI Milpitas. Having never been to California before I did not know what to expect from the area, and had to trust the Hilton name.

I checked in late in the evening (late flight) and my room was ready and waiting. King-sized bed with the sleep select option (dial up/down the firmness). The room was large and clean, same for the bathroom, if a little worn at the edges of the furniture pieces. Overall I was pleased with the accommodations. The view is nothing special (if you're at the back you get to see the highway, if you're at the front you mainly see the parking lot or the front A/C units. Thankfully I was not bothered by any noise the entire stay.

There is a gym and a pool but I was not able to try them out due to my schedule.

The staff was amazing, probably the best staff experience I've had of any hotel stay. The clerks at the front desk were always cheerful and helpful (they'll even open your wine for you). The wait staff in the breakfast area are top-notch, always quick to fill any request. Less than $12 for a full breakfast spread is pretty good too! There is a little pantry in the lobby for buying snacks plus a selection of wines.

In walking distance there are several big box stores (Best Buy, Walmart, Ross, Michaels), and quite a few dining options (applebees or sushi are across the parking lot, Thai food down the street, and pizza or starbucks just across the road).

With no traffic, the airport is less than 10 minutes away. The hotel even has a shuttle that will pick you up or drop you anywhere in the area. The location is very convenient for business travelers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridiculous888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milpitas hotels
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#3 of 19 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Beverly Heritage Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#6 of 19 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Milpitas Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Address: 30 Ranch Drive, Milpitas, CA 95035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milpitas
#3 Business Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Family Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas Hotel Milpitas
Hilton Garden Inn Milpitas
Hilton Milpitas
Milpitas Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing