We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but check with a Wedding Planner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“OK but check with a Wedding Planner”
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We chose this as the final hotel on a family trip to California based on wanting to see some sights in San Jose area and on the great rates Crowne Plaza business hotels can have on weekends. The hotel is well situated with respect to freeways and in this area you definitely need a car. As an earlier review pointed out, the nearby (easy walk) Milpitas Plaza is entirely oriental, so may not be some people's choice for breakfast (or even other meals, alhtough judging by the lineups outside the main restaurant, it must be pretty good). Another choice is a mall that may not be walking distance for some, and the hotel breakfast is expensive.

We paid slightly more for a pair of rooms on Executive level, which were fine in what I regard as 'standard Crowne Plaza', which I feel is a high standard. The pool was shut for the winter and the hot tub was hot and looked great but in the end we did not use it. The first night was fine. Unfortunately, the second night there was a big wedding. For some reason, in a nearly empty hotel, many wedding guests were booked very close to us and made a lot of noise from midnight to 2 am. Hotel security did respond but there seemed to be a lot of noisy people coming and going so really it could not be solved.

This kind of problem can happen anywhere so I am not too upset about it, but maybe check if staying there on the weekend, and ask for an isolated room (of which there should be many).

  • Liked — As a lily grower (hobby gardener), the huge bouquet in the foyer really appealed to me!
  • Disliked — Besides the noise problem, internet, although free and reliable wireless, was hard to figure out...
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Craxiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    132
    64
    18
    14
See reviews for
33
28
18
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

This probably used to be a very nice hotel, but it doesn't seem to be well maintained. The wallpapers have seen better days.
When I got to the room I realized there was a cold breeze coming out of the air conditioner - apparently it was not sealed well. After I complained I was transferred to a different room that had the same problem.
Had to run run the water around 10 minutes to get hot water.

All in all, a reasonable hotel, but for this price there are certainly better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TalMizrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Silicon Valley/Milpitas on business. Overall the hotel's environment was very early 1990's and not very up to date. The room was clean and bed comfortable, but don't stay here expecting anything more. I had some problems with the vending machines (all I wanted was a bottle of water and had to try machines on three different floors!) and when I reported it to the person at the front desk, he didn't seem to care much and pointed me to the gift shop. Granted, I only lost $1.50, but some sort of apology perhaps might be in line.

The location was fine, as long as you have a car to get around. Overall, I wasn't that impressed because of the outdated decor and ho-hum customer service.

  • Liked — Good location (with a car), comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Lackadaisical staff, outdated decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JKM808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Well it was a nice hotel by appearance But.... I will list the positives first: Great overhead rain showerspray in the tub, extra towels by the pool and good breakfast( but this was NOT included with Nights stay price). Now the negatives 1 No ventilation in rooms as windows do not open 2 Breakfast can be expensive and indeed all food at the onsite restaurant is pricey 3 Uncomfortable pillows and the front desk staff was pompous and gave bad attitude upon check-in. 4 Everything is operated with slidecards that do not always work even the elevator runs by slide-card. Also the hottub whirlpool had yucky yellow-green water in it.

  • Liked — The swimming pool
  • Disliked — No Ventilation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotgoodCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

I spent one night at this hotel for business. It is easy to access (right off 880), clean and comfortable. The beds were very nice. It is your typical business hotel. It is certainly not going to win any awards, but it is a safe bet and is a great value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minas Gerais
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Excelente Hotel near San Jose. It is located in front of Cisco in San Jose, but this area is called Milpitas.

The location is good for people with car, if you don't have a car you can rent in the hotel or you can pay for taxi (you will waste a lot of money, because the hotel is not near some interesting points in Silicon Valey)

The pool is great, with a hot tub that is very hot. The rooms are large and the bed was the best I've ever see in a Hotel.

Room service is expensive and the Hotel restaurant is not too good.

  • Liked — Great room with a excelente BED
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tcarrijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed at Crowne Plaza in Milpitas for two nights during the weekend. Check-in was easy, and we received the two double bed room that we requested. Front desk was friendly and helpful. We had no problems with the hotel stay. Room was decently clean and beds very comfortable. Wireless internet connection in the rooms was also complimentary. Plenty of free parking.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, free wireless internet in rooms, helpful front desk.
  • Disliked — Pool is small.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hellokitty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milpitas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
1.5 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#4 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Silicon Valley-Milpitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
Address: 777 Bellew Dr, Milpitas, CA 95035-7900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
#3 Family Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Business Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to announce that as of mid-July 2013, we have completed our full hotel renovation! Experience the fast-paced energy of Northern California's vibrant Silicon Valley when you stay at the Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley. Situated just minutes from the Mineta San Jose International Airport, our modern hotel is the largest in Milpitas and offers the perfect combination of comfort and convenience right here in the "Capital of Silicon Valley." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our well-appointed guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our friendly staff and delicious food and beverage in our SEVENS BAR & GRILL. Connect to your social life or catch up on e-mails with our robust WiFi network and stay with us to discover your perfect home away from home right here in the energetic city of Milpitas, CA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose/Silicon Valley Hotel Milpitas
Crowne Plaza Milpitas
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milpitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing