We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Uncomfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Checked in late. Assigned to a 3rd floor room over a white painted roof. Room smelled like an ashtray [even though its supposed to be non-smoking]. The smell permeated everything, even our luggage and clothes. Front desk acknowledged that others had complained about our room. But they told us that there were no other rooms available. Only about 30 or so cars in parking lot, so how is it possible that there are no other rooms for a one night stay.

We ran the AC all night, but room remained stuffy and smelly.

We left before 8 am the next morning.

Not pleased. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolawca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi nicolawca,

I deeply apologize that your stay with us was not as comfortable as it should have been. Please reach out to me at melissa.maniquiz@ihg.com at your earliest convenience if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Again, very sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable experience.

Thank you for your review,
Melissa Maniquiz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 359 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Recent make over makes a good difference - this is good business traveller's hotel but I wouldn't stay on vacation. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds but don't opt for two singles if you're used to a larger bed. Also - noise travels under the doors...rooms at the end of corridors may be a good option for those seeking quiet.


Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi Iain,

Thanks for your review and tips for the TripAdvisor community. I'm glad we were able to successfully accommodate you during your business trip.

Best,
Melissa Maniquiz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recently I was in SJ/ Milpitas on business and stayed at the Crowne Plaza. The location is very close to the Cisco campus and many other companies in the Silicon Valley. The hotel is right off the highway and also very close to the San Jose AIrport.

The hotel rooms were very clean and modern. The Wi-Fi was included in the price, which was great and the quality of the Wi-Fi was decent as well.

The restaurant had been recently renovated. I ate there both nights I was in town because it was convenient but if I had a car I likely would have explored. The menu options were OK, but many were a bit odd. The waiter and waitress on staff the nights I was there were decent but not overly friendly. The bartender was a bit odd, a bit annoying and didn't really fit the environment.
As a female traveling alone, the restaurant was very comfortable to go sit at the bar or a table and order and just relax. This is not always the case, so that was a plus.

I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it most based on location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kudos4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hi kudos4k,

Thanks so much for your review of your stay. I'm very glad to hear that you were comfortable and able to relax in our hotel and restaurant. If you'd like to discuss more details of your stay, please reach out to me at melissa.maniquiz@ihg.com. Thanks again for your review!

Regards,
Melissa Maniquiz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Average hotel - this was my first business trip there since they "updated" the rooms. I wouldn't call the decor forward-leaning, or maybe even current. It's hard to get rooms in the area, and this was clean. However, there was a lot of road noise, lots of noise from the parking lot, etc., and the soundproofing wasn't good at all. I don't normally have problems sleeping in hotels since I do it all the time - it seemed that I heard every door on my floor open and close all night long. It was very noisy. I will try to avoid this hotel if possible. It's acceptable, but not preferred - even for a business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Kim R.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize that the noise level in our hotel was disruptive to your stay. We strive to be the preferred hotel of business travelers in the area; please reach out to me at melissa.maniquiz@ihg.com as we would like to address any concerns you have regarding your stay. Thanks again for your review!

Kindly,
Melissa Maniquiz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Easy access to/from highway.

Polite and courteous staff at check in. We were travelling with a dog, and the check-in staff forgot pet policy paperwork. Had to wait a bit at check out to resolve the issue, but the staff was efficient and kind.

Clean room, nice enough view (neighboring hotel and a few mountain tops). Felt small, but came with lounging chair and writing desk. Very nice linens and mattress. No closet area, just a few hangers on a bar. Drawers available. Free WiFi was slow, but I didn't use it enough to merit the upgrade for $10 - went to Business Center in lobby instead.

Rather nice breakfast buffet. Including breakfast with room saved $$ compared to a la carte options in restaurant.

Average size pool - not a lap pool. Hot tub seemed nice. Pictures on website exaggerate size of each.

Ice machine on our floor was not working, but at least there were signs posted for the next available options. 2 washers and dryers available ($1 for a wash at this point)1 floor up, easy to access.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi SusanSanJose,

Thanks for your thorough review. I am glad that you were able to utilize a number of our amenities during your stay. It is also very nice to hear that our staff was kind and helpful. We hope to see you soon in the future!

Take care,
Melissa Maniquiz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel has views of the Tech sector as well as the mountains. The heated pool & hot tub are on the 3rd floor and also has a view of the mountains. It was quiet and relaxing. The exercise room had adequate and well maintained equipment. The staff was polite and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJ-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hi HJ-Steve,

Thank you for your review and your beautiful pictures. The staff and I are elated to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Kind regards,
Melissa Maniquiz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had occasion to stay in the Crowne Plaza Silicon Valley while traveling on work in May 2013. I stayed here for two weeks.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - for those (like me) who have offices in San Jose/Milpitas area - the location is just perfect. A 10 minute drive would get me to any of my offices and that worked very well especially when you have early morning meetings. It's also pretty close to McCarthy Ranch which has enough shopping & eating options. For those with a higher shopping appetite, the Great Mall is a 10 minute drive again since the hotel is located just off the freeway.

The rooms are good - but I sorely missed a proper closet/wardrobe in the room. The coat hanger is just not sufficient to hang all your clothes and keep them organized especially when you're on a long trip. The restaurant was undergoing renovation so I could not check it out. Breakfast was served in some of the meeting rooms and that was fine. The staff is attentive and courteous.

You also have a Hertz rental in the lobby though finding a car is not easy since they have limited options.

Overall, it's a nice hotel. I would stay there again on my next trip - partly because of the location and partly because of the familiarity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi Pratish M,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased that our central location was perfect for your stay. As the renovation for our restaurant, Sevens, is now complete, you will be able to enjoy our new offerings during your next stay. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again for your kind words!

Warm regards,
Melissa Maniquiz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milpitas
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
1.6 mi away
Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose
1.5 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#4 of 20 in Milpitas
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
325 reviews
1.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley

Address: 777 Bellew Dr, Milpitas, CA 95035-7900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
#3 Family Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Business Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range: $129 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to announce that as of mid-July 2013, we have completed our full hotel renovation! Experience the fast-paced energy of Northern California's vibrant Silicon Valley when you stay at the Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley. Situated just minutes from the Mineta San Jose International Airport, our modern hotel is the largest in Milpitas and offers the perfect combination of comfort and convenience right here in the "Capital of Silicon Valley." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our well-appointed guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our friendly staff and delicious food and beverage in our SEVENS BAR & GRILL. Connect to your social life or catch up on e-mails with our robust WiFi network and stay with us to discover your perfect home away from home right here in the energetic city of Milpitas, CA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose/Silicon Valley Hotel Milpitas
Crowne Plaza Milpitas
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milpitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing