We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Business Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Oakland, California
1 review
“Excellent Business Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel has thought of everything for the business traveler, even the standard rooms are spacious and when you upgrade to the suite with it's separate living room you can comfortably have a business meeting and remain productive on your business trips. The staff is exceptional, Rosa our housekeeper was very pleasant, attentive and always left the room clean smelling good. The morning staff at breakfast was also great, always in a good mood and anxious to help and get what every you needed. Jaime always remembered what i always ordered and had my decaf and orange/cran mix ready! You almost don't mind being away from home when you get pampered like this.

Room Tip: They are all good as far as I can tell and I have been in 5 different rooms over the last year
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyHeritageHotel, General Manager at Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Only when our guests are fully satisfied do we feel that we have done our job and it seems that we achieved that goal with you! It’s nice to hear that you experienced our passion first hand while enjoying personal and friendly interactions with our staff. All of us at The Beverly Heritage Hotel would like to thank you for your amazing review and we look forward to pampering you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    326
    241
    109
    62
See reviews for
165
103
40
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

As hotels go this in France for example would be a standard 3* no frills $100 per night type, but I booked this hotel for a 2 night stay and have to say the room, the setting, breakfast lounge and staff were fine. I did receive an upgraded room, so there was a lounge with it, suitable sized bathroom, couple of large flat screen tv's and usual tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts were good as well the dinners and the bar staff really friendly. also worth noting there was an IT event in the area one of the "big-ones" was hosting a technical seminar and quite a few were staying in the hotel...so obviously a decent choice from their perspective..and I would agree. You will require a car, there is a hotel bus that I believe takes you to San Jose and/or SFO airports. Weather excellent..didn't use the pool...yes i'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyHeritageHotel, General Manager at Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
With a locality that is convenient to San Jose and Santa Clara, along with our complimentary shuttle, the Beverly Heritage Hotel gives business travelers the perfect location for their stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, the service, and the amazing culinary fare at Brandon’s Restaurant. Your patronage is certainly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Fairly remote location at the tip of the south bay in Milpitas. Good sized room with noisy AC, average carpeting, torn and dirty furniture. Mattress was especially soft, and provided absolutely no support (I am used to sleeping on great Tempurpedic mattresses). Good speed, free internet. Free outdoor parking. Average looking hallway. Outdated low, popcorn ceiling results in poor air circulation and stale smell in the room. Small window doesn't allow too much sunlight. Cheap rates on priceline is the only highlight of the hotel, in my opinion. I did not try the hotel or gym onsite.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSantyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyHeritageHotel, General Manager at Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
We are truly sorry that your experience at our hotel was not a better one. Letting us know immediately if there are any problems with your room is the best way for us to ensure your stay is enjoyable. However it is good to see that our free internet access and parking worked out so well for you. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable opinion and we welcome the opportunity to create the experience that wholeheartedly reflects our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Immaculate, quiet, great breakfast buffet at Brandon's included in our package, a lovely bottle of wine and box of chocolates delivered for our anniversary, close to San Francisco and very clost to San Jose. We came on a long weekend to celebrate and had a great time! Winchester Mystery House is a must! Take the full tour that includes "behind the scenes". Tech Museum would have been more fun with the kids but, was a little disappointing with pieces missing for the hands on exhibits because people did come with their kids. Saw Harry Potter on the IMAX, though, and that part was great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nelsons4christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyHeritageHotel, General Manager at Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Happy Anniversary to you both! We are so honored to have been your choice of accommodations during such a special time in your life. Built by the Winchester Rifle heiress, the Winchester House is not only a frightfully good time, but a great museum and mansion to explore. Thank you for letting us know that all of us here at the Beverly Heritage Hotel were able to make your anniversary a memorable one. Your kind comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to having you as a guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

I would've given the Beverly Heritage 5 stars but in May I've started to plan my husbands 50th Birthday party at the Beverly Heritage, made the reservation, planed the buffett, sent out invitations to the guests. A month before the event I checked in with the event manager only to find out that they had replaced my event with another more profitable event. I was offered to do my event on another day which of course was not possible since the invitations were sent out and.....rescheduling a 50th B-day surprise party? Really? So I had to look for a new place for my party, send out new invitations and so on. The the really scarry part was that I was notified of this change when I called to confirm things. They did not call me to cancel at all. What would've happen if I never called them? Anyway, we had our party at another location and it was a total success.

We were 8 people and stayed at the Beverly Heritage for 6 days. The breakfast buffet is great, lots of choices, which we liked very much. The rooms are comfortabe and clean. The staff was very friendly and attentive, especially Justino went the extra mile to make this a great experience for us. Armando the cook, made super yummy omletts for us and was very friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McGadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyHeritageHotel, General Manager at Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
It was nice to actually meet you during your stay here and after being made aware of the unfortunate mix-up with our Catering Sales Team, we offer our heartfelt and sincerest apologies. Although we regret missing the opportunity to host your event as originally planned, it’s nice to hear that the time spent at the Beverly Heritage Hotel by your large party was made extra special by our staff. Please extend our best wishes and congratulations to your husband for his 50th birthday. We hope that in the future we can welcome you back to the Beverly Heritage Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I travel constantly throughout the US and make repeated trips to the Milpitas Calif. area. I have been staying at the Beverly Heritage Hotel for that last couple of months and have found the staff more than willing to ensure my stay is comfortable. Be sure to ask for Shayla at the front desk for the best room, Victoria and Phillite in the onsite restaurant for special food requirements (I have custom meals upon request). Steve and staff will run you anywhere in the area with their hotel van.
Plus, plus on service.

Ken

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyHeritageHotel, General Manager at Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Everyone at the Beverly Heritage Hotel, especially those specifically mentioned, is honored by your wonderful comments. We make every attempt to personalize our service and we are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed that experience. Thank you for your continued patronage throughout the last couple of months and we hope to always welcome you back whenever you visit the Milpitas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed there 8/20/11 a Saturday night. @2120 I went down to the restaurant for a quick bite to eat. Their menu said they are open till 2230. There were a few people still there. There was a sign that clearly said "Please wait to be seated." So I waited, and waited, and waited. There was a good huddle of people by the club entrance though with loud music and scantily clad "clubbers". I could not tell who's wait staff, bouncer. But I still waited. A good 10 mins later, still no one came to seat me. I saw a guy wait on a group of diners finishing up, I'm pretty sure he saw me, well if the restaurant is closing, he could have told me they are closed? At least, that's what the front desk guy told me that they are now closed. I wish there was a sign. But he said I can still order room service. So I told him to place my order for "steak and frittes" because by the time I get to my room to order, I would've wasted another 10 mins. Sorry, but I live my life by the clock. As soon as I get to my room, the restaurant called to confirm my order. I told him what happened in the restaurant while I was there and he apologized for the inconvenience. In another 20 mins, I had my dinner. This hotel has good strategy in customer recovery. Whoever handled my complaint did a pretty impressive job and should be made manager. I think the hotel will have better chances resuscitating to it's old glory if all the staff had that kind of attitude, along with a few room updates. I certainly will go back again another time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IceQueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyHeritageHotel, General Manager at Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
It is certainly is understandable to experience frustration while waiting to be seated and we apologize for the mishaps you encountered. We are delighted to learn that one of our team members assisted you in turning it into a positive situation. It is our wish at The Beverly Heritage Hotel that all of our guests have genuine service interactions and your feedback allows us to pinpoint where we can make improvements. We would welcome an opportunity to have you visit again to regain your trust in our service and hospitality. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milpitas
0.1 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#4 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
1.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
#12 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose

Property: Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose
Address: 1820 Barber Ln, Milpitas, CA 95035-7422 (Formerly The Beverly Heritage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the ideal fusion of style and function at Sonesta Silicon Valley. In a city rich with technology, this boutique-style Milpitas hotel offers a comfortable home with ease and convenience during visits to the San Jose / Santa Clara area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Heritage Hotel
Beverly Heritage Milpitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing