We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicer rooms after renovation! BUT way too noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Gilroy, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicer rooms after renovation! BUT way too noisy!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

Just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at a newly renovated room. They have renovated the top 6 floors and are now renovating the last 3 floors. The rooms look decent and clean. Fridge is of a good size and the microwave comes in handy. There's a Safeway nearby for your groceries. Room service was just ok and a bit overpriced. Staff was generally nice.

The worst part of our stay was that the children staying there were constantly running around, slamming doors, screaming and just being very noisy. It makes you wonder where were the parents?!

In the morning (since all rooms face the atrium in the middle where they serve breakfast) it can get pretty loud.

There are 3 elevators working, one is under construction. The elevators are extremely slow (it appears that the construction crew also use these to deliver their furniture). Whenever an elevator did open it was packed with people and we were unable to get in. It took us 11 minutes to get from the 5th floor to the lobby once. ( I didn't take the stairs since I had 2 little ones with me plus our luggage).

I picked Embassy Suites for our stay because of the microwave and fridge convenience, but in the future I will stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — The lobby and the newly renovated clean rooms.
  • Disliked — The loud noisy children running around, just very annoying. And the extremely slow elevators!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Giovalle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    243
    157
    109
    75
See reviews for
281
76
30
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

Stayed there in March 2007 on business. The hotel is pretty old which is obvious from the dated furnishings in the room. The lobby is nice and updated however. The top two floors were being renovated at the time so I imagine when the renovations are finished, the hotel should live up to what one would expect from an Embassy Suites.

The room is nice sized with a pullout on the sofa but all furnishings are definitely dated and overdue for replacement. It was nice having a mini fridge & microwave. The bedroom even had it's own sink which is ideal if staying with more than 2 persons in the room. No in room safe however.

Got a corporate rate of $129 however would not pay that much to stay there on my own because would rather pay a little more for something nicer. The cook to order breakfast was nice...better than the usual continentals offered at other hotels, but not really anything special. I liked all the different drinks offered...soft drinks, juices & specialty coffees/lattes, etc. The evening cocktails is ok...go for the drinks as the snacks are just chips and dips.

There are 4 elevators however only 2 worked on a regular basis. A 3rd one was hit and miss and I see where the earlier review that the elevators were dirty was from. The 2 front elevators near the front desk were fine if a bit slow. The back 2 elevators either never worked or hardly worked and were quite dirty with debris on the carpet and stains. The pool looked nice but never tried it. Location is good...right off a main street and next to several freeways.

Overall, it was an ok experience but would probably not return until the renovations were complete.

  • Liked — close to freeways
  • Disliked — dated
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bostonss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel many time for various parties and functions. Over the hotel is a good value when you factor in the free evening drinks, great breakfast and spacious rooms. Often the hotel is FILLED with groups of teenagers, drunken wedding parties, and screaming children, this time not so much! Security was ever present and actually seemed to be keeping a good level of control both in common areas and the pool.

Our room was a little run down (rusty hinges,large crack in bathroom vanity), but the hotel in undergoing a remodel and the new rooms (Pictures and carpet/drape samples in lobby) appear to be promising.

The hotel is in need of renovation but still comfortable. Lobby, atrium and Koi pond areas are lovely and make the overall experience more enjoyable.

Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Breakfast and Manager Reception
  • Disliked — Needs renovation...but its on its way
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlCrayZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

The Embassy Suites Milpitas is a nice property for short term stays. The lobby and atrium is beautiful and provides a nice place to relax in a tropical environment. We particularly enjoyed the manager's reception in the late afternoon and found that there was plenty of seating by the waterfalls and Koi pond to enjoy our beverage and unwind from our day of travel. The hotel was very easy to find and there was plenty of onsite parking.

While the atrium is very nice, there was a lot of noise coming from the indoor pool area. There were kids running around the Koi pond, playing in the elevators and running around the halls that encircled the atrium, as well as running in and out of the pool area. There seem to be kids everywhere so if you are a traveler that prefers quieter, adult settings this is not the place for you.

The rooms were very large and accommodating, particularly if you are traveling with family. Our room easily slept 4 and could have accommodated another rollaway bed if needed. The room was fairly clean, however the bathroom left a bit to be desired where cleanliness was concerned. We did not like that the climate control is handled by the hotel itself, so you cannot adjust the temperatures to cooler or warmer. It was so cold in our room that we finally called the front desk, who offered to brng up a space heater since the temperature was fixed for the entire property.

The complimentary breakfast was ok - there was a decent variety but it wasn't great. The omelet chefs were having problems preparing the omlettes correctly and lots of guests were bringing them back. The staff that were working in the atrium during breakfast were very pleasant though.

  • Liked — The gorgeous atrium & lounging area
  • Disliked — Hotel managed climate control
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FresnoCAMaryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milpitas
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
2.5 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#4 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Milpitas Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
Address: 901 E Calaveras Blvd, at the corner of Hillview Avenue, Milpitas, CA 95035-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
#7 Business Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Milpitas Silicon Valley Hotel Milpitas
Milpitas Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing