We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our one night stay was a thorough disappointment. Having stayed on previous occasions, we expected to have a pleasant stay. Our room, although spacious, was in need of updates and a good deep clean. The furniture was worn, there was soda (or coffee not sure which) splattered on the bedroom door and the bathroom smelled moldy. The flat screen televisions were on the small side, but at least there where two in the suite. We picked this hotel to enjoy the pool, but it was almost to capacity with small children and the noise level was almost intolerable. Also, the many events and crowds of people at the hotel did nothing to enhance the experience. Breakfast was included with our stay. The food was plentiful with great cooked to order omelets, but the waffles tasted stale. If breakfast is one of the deciding factors in choosing this hotel, it would be just as cost effective to choose a lower cost hotel near a Denny's or Ihop. To be fair, I do give credit to the staff who were friendly and accommodating. When I requested additional towels and a hypoallergenic pillow, room service delivered them promptly. We are locals and stayed the night due to water pipe work being done on our home and thought we'd make a weekend adventure of it. We got an adventure, but not one we hoped for. Our son got a skin rash from the heavily chlorinated pool. Next time we'll pick a hotel near the beach or just stay with family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 980 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

One of the BEST shrimp cocktails I have ever had is at the Embassy Suites Milpitas. 5 jumbo shrimp served in a martini glass with cocktail sauce and diced cucumber, tomato and avocado with cilantro. I highly recommend giving it a try.

Also on this stay, from my balcony, it appears they just had a new AC system installed. The first night I was there the room was a bit warm (I was on the 9th floor), but when I returned from work the next day, the room was a chilly 65 degrees and the new unit’s blades were whirling.

I stayed in this hotel once before, a bit over a year ago. When I checked in this time, the front desk person welcomed me back and thanked me from staying with them again. While not a big deal to me, being recognized as a repeat guest is a nice touch. There are many Hilton properties I have stayed in multiple times in a year and even sometimes in a single month and this is the only time I can recall being welcomed back. All of the staff here is great, but that is a standard I expect from a Hilton property.

This property has an attractive exterior, classically huge atrium with trees and coy pond with all floors of rooms wrapping around. 2 elevators at each end of the main atrium level mean wait times are not too bad – there are 9 stories after all.

The rooms are larger than most hotels and most rooms have small balconies. However, the décor and styling in the rooms is dated and ready for renovation. The bed and pillows are comfortable, the couch, chair and office chair are also comfortable and despite appearing dated, do not feel overused.

A few problems: The TV in the living room would not respond to either remote control, but could be turned on and set to desired channel using the buttons on the TV. HBO did not really work at all – tiled image or just completely out and the wireless internet connection was poor and pretty much non-existent in the bedroom. The breakfast buffet, though cooked to order, is very cafeteria style with all hot items (eggs, meat, potatoes) being served by the chef. Also the juice and coffee cups were pretty small. Given my work schedule, I did not bring any of these items to management’s attention, but will when I leave – no hard feelings, just disappointing/annoying.

Considering the location, being a Hilton property and the price point compared to other hotels, I can say for sure that I will be staying here again in a couple of weeks when I return to the area for work.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bastian97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Embassy Suites were once a completely different travel experience. Larger space, real breakfasts, with some "home-made" choices. This hotel is very pricey, though in a pricey area - Silicon Valley. Nevertheless, the value is not there. Breakfast was like a high-school cafeteria line for omelets/eggs/pancakes. Once you ordered they then confused the orders, so folks were basically agreeing to take eggs orders that were done. Total chaos. Either more people on the grill or some type of system. Gave up on the second and third days of stay and got protein shakes for breakfast. IHOP is next door, maybe they want you to go there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jnjtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My family stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed the free breakfast. However, since the rooms all open to the courtyard of the hotel, it got pretty noisy at night. We were on the 6th or 7th floor and could hear people laughing downstairs. Also, they have an indoor pool and there were wet kids running around wet the hotel. It was not a great stay and we will probably not return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor to drown the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kloud77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel has suites, that is you get two rooms. So there is plenty of space. You get a complementary breakfast and an evening drink. The breakfast even includes a made to order egg and bacon. There is an indoor swimmingpool. So all in all very good value for the money. Still this is not a hotel with too much atmosphere but a good base if you have meetings in the area, or if you are in the valley on vacation. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: You might want rooms close to the elevator at the reception, if you have a lot to carry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjornsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I remember when this place was built, it was the most amazing hotel in the area. Now it’s pretty run down. I’ve stayed in a few different rooms and I notice some constancies. In two of the three bathrooms I notice in the area where they store the towels the screws don’t all match, bathroom fans in the bath room are loud, heater didn’t work in any of the rooms, one of the security hinge’s where broken. These are the little things I notice which irked me.

The front desk staff is always friendly but you can not always count on a bellman. All my check outs were at 9 am on Saturday morning but no bellman works at those hours, well that’s what I was told. They did send up a guy from engineering to help with out bags, but he wasn’t the happiest person assisting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Has all the key requirements for a hotel. Excellent shuttle bus service.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sancandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milpitas
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
2.5 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#4 of 20 in Milpitas
358 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fremont
Hampton Inn Fremont
#3 of 19 in Fremont
282 reviews
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley

Address: 901 E Calaveras Blvd, at the corner of Hillview Avenue, Milpitas, CA 95035-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
#7 Business Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range: $152 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Milpitas Silicon Valley Hotel Milpitas
Milpitas Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing