We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #2 of 325 Restaurants in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian, Thai, Fusion, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

So, you have to know that they fill up during lunch -- to the point that all the neighboring restaurants are empty and there's a 90 minute wait at Banana Leaf...and guess what... it's all worth it!

So - show up early and save the wait -- enjoy the roti and all the incredible flavors that Banana Leaf has to offer... YUM!

Helpful?
1 Thank Douglaswski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    99
    30
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Malaysian in the valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The food here is easily the most fantastic Malaysian food to be found in Silicon Valley. The Utama Basil Prawns are hard to stay away from, and the Roti Prata is to kill for. Space is limited, and there is almost always a waiting list/line to get in -- especially on Saturdays. (they're closed Sundays)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUM! YUM! YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's a mix of Thai and Indian food. I don't like ANYTHING spicy, everyone else LOVES spicy. This is the best of both worlds. I get the saute chicken on a stick and coconut rice. They have a really great peanut sauce for dipping. My friends LOVE their red curry chicken, it's less spicy than their green curry. Don't miss it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food & great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This place has great fusion cuisine. My husband and I usually have a tough time deciding what to order so we often get the Banana Leaf dinner for two. It comes with a nice assortment. The Pineapple rice is delicious as well as the Roti Prata. When I come for lunch it is usually crowded and noisey but I still get great service & never wait more than a few minutes to be seated. When I want something sweet I order the mango chicken, If you like sweet & sour chicken you will like it too. I recently discovered they have take out. That is an awesome choice when you are craving their food but don't want to deal with the noisey crowd. They were so nice, packed it up perfectly and even carried the box to my car.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Banana Leaf - Great food if you can avoid the rush”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The food here is terrific, no question about that. It gets very crowded for lunch and dinner, and the service is almost too fast - it feels a bit rushed. Not to mention it's noisy.

But the food makes it worth while. The Roti will ruin your taste for roti other places, and their mango prawns are divine. In fact everything we've had there is first rate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExNYCabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing