We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Enjoyed Our Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #5 of 325 Restaurants in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Modesto
Level Contributor
537 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“We Enjoyed Our Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had breakfast. My custom omelette was delicious. My companion also had an omelette. The cook forgot the avocado, but that was quickly remedied.
The restaurant was neat and clean. The waitress was friendly and efficient.
The menu does not show the price for side orders. If you don't see exactly what you want on the menu, you might want to take a chance and place a custom order for exactly what you want like I did. My meal ended up costing only half of what most of the breakfasts cost because this place serves large meals if one orders off the menu. There is a senior menu, but it is quite limited.
The restrooms were clean and well stocked. The restaurant was clean, located in an older building.

There is plenty of parking outside in the lot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Modestotrekkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a great Sunday breakfast (Shasta scramble), and took home the leftovers for 2 more breakfasts. Included a couple of huge pancakes... good, hot coffee... I was full and happy afterward. About $10, not bad these days.

It was a Sunday AM so the line was ridiculously long, but I was a party of one :-( so I was seated at the counter right away :-)

My meal took quite a while to arrive, but I don't fault my waitress.

I'll definitely go back. It's a chain, so I'd expect the same level of quality from all og them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BO91104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black Bear Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean, friendly, family orientated, great food and generous portions. We had an enjoyable breakfast experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbandmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
594 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Large portions, very good food, entertaining staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a very large party so we had to wait a long time to be seated. They won't seat a large party until you're all there. So, I don't blame the restaurant, just the family members who were later than the agreed upon time. I was told to expect large portions and was not disappointed. It's best to inquire about the size of some things so you don't look like an idiot with a turkey platter full of food in front of you. Our party had a combination of breakfast, lunch and dinner items. It was a Sunday, and they don't seem to mind what you order. I had big granola flapjacks and my wife had some great baby back ribs. I didn't hear any complaints from anybody, and there were plenty of doggie containers that left with us. We had a waiter who was a natural entertainer and kept our crowd as well as others entertained with trivia questions (for free side dishes) and his dancing with the stars routine. A very enjoyable Sunday family get together. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaka_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
439 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Met a friend for lunch and were immediately seated. The place is adorable and has a large menu. It was hard to make a choice. The three of us got three different sandwiches and we were all pleased. The french fries were great. Many cute decorations. Will definitely go back when we are in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 13betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing