We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as the one in Tracy Ca”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #4 of 325 Restaurants in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arnold, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not as good as the one in Tracy Ca”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This Black bear's food wasn't as good as the one in Tracy Ca. The one thing I have noticed is the customer service was excellent! The restraunt was clean and the atmosphere was great..but for the most part the only thing consistent so far is the customer service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    49
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Come super hungry or share your meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We come here often as we live fairly near here. It's menu looks like a newspaper and gives you some news from the past. They have awesome huge Southern style baking powder biscuits that are at least 4 inches high.....OMG...they are de-lish!! A wide variety of home cooking comfort foods and awesome baked goods. A cute place with carved bears inside and out and neat things for kids like a carved out tree to climb inside and get your picture taken. We ALWAYS share a meal here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Okay food but too much of it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Maybe I didn't read the menu carefully enough, but I left enough food on my plate to feed a small army. And while most people love taking home the leftovers, honestly, do you really want reheated huevos rancheros? Service was good, but the carnitas in the dish tasted like cafeteria steam table meat. Other diners seemed to be enjoing the pancakes, so I'll give it another try next time I'm really hungry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good diner food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are in the mood for a little diner food, and face it who isn't from time to time, this place offers a large selection to satisfy that hunger pang. The food is reasonably priced, and the portions are generous. the place itself is large, so there usually isn't a line or a wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kguzzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best food around hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The food is fresh and tastes great. very large sized portions, you will not leave wanting more...........................

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank t y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing