We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly clean and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly clean and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2005

We stayed in the hotel 5 nights with 3 kids.
The hotel is clean, and very convenient.
It is located on the El Camino Real 10 minutes from SFO airport (although you hardly hear takeoffs or landings) which makes it very easy to travel both north and south, with many nearby restaurants and shops.
The heated pool and Jacuzzi were the highlight for the kids and were also fun for us every evening. The complimentary breakfast was minimal, and open only between 4:30 and 7:30 am!
Overall the stay was a good experience, and we will probably come back.
A.L

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Asaflew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    627
    201
    67
    28
See reviews for
493
647
147
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2005

Motel itself is, well, a motel. Physically it's nothing special. The service, however, was outstanding! They have a system that works for them. Stay at motel, leave car for up to two weeks. Whole thing is convenient and smooth. Close to San Francisco Airport... shuttle from motel quickly... car ready upon return... wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2005

For anyone flying out of SFO that lives outside of the Bay Area, like us, this is the place to go. Stay for one night and get up to 14 days of parking on their property. At a little over $100, it's cheaper than any of the parking garages around the airport, and you get one night to get to SFO easily if you have an early flight out or get over jet lag when you return. Yes, that's right. The 14 day parking is good before or after your one night stay.

The hotel is a 3-star, and I rated the hotel accordingly. It is, definitely, above average for a 3-star. The queen-sized beds were surprisingly comfortable, and the room looked like it had been updated recently. The only two things I can knock were the slight musty smell in the room (#605) probably due to the peninsula in winter and the close proximity of the CalTrain/BART tracks. The front desk is very accomodating to your needs. As for the shuttle service, it was relativley quick and painless, and the drivers were courteous.

My family and I liked it so much, we are doing it again in August of this year.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank bobgong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2005

My husband and I stayed here the first time in May, 2001; we have stayed countless times since then whenever we bring friends or family to the S.F. area. We like staying in the Millbrae-Burlingame area because it is quiet and less expensive than in S.F. We particularly enjoy staying in the 2 or 3 bedroom suites! The 3 BR has 2 baths which is wonderful! Those suites also have a FULL size refrigerator and dishwasher and stove!!! The living room sofa also makes into a sofabed, so you can sleep even two more people! Each bedroom has its own t.v. and VCR and the beds are very, very comfy and the pillows are very fluffy/thick! Housekeeping is great and the front desk staff (particularly Roy!) are so friendly and helpful! Give this hotel a try if there are 4 or more traveling in your party! You cannot go wrong, I promise you!

  • Stayed May 2003
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGALIA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2004

I can recommend this hotel if you want to use their car storage offer. After you stayed there for one night they keep your car in storage for up to two weeks without any additional charge and take you to San Francisco International Airport by shuttle which also picks you up upon return. This is a good deal compared with the cost of parking at SFO. Otherwise there are better hotels in the area. The El Rancho consists of several separate buildings: the ones near the street are fairly attractive looking (spanish style), but the buildings in the rear are not better than an average motel and too expensive for what they offer. After a renovation a few years ago things look a bit nicer now, but still nothing special. Breakfast in the restaurant is good, but service is slow and unfriendly.

Helpful?
21 Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
1.5 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.2 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.2 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
1.8 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
Address: 1100 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-2015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Green Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Best Western hotel to SFO Airport, AAA 3 Diamond Rated, with full service restaurant offering complimentary daily departure snack from 4:30am - 9:30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus El Rancho Hotel Millbrae
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn And Suites
Best Western Millbrae
Millbrae Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing