We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for SFO parking and shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NW California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for SFO parking and shuttle”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The primary reason for staying here is the proximity to SFO. The hotel is well set up for both an airport shuttle and parking. They are very well organized in this process. Our room was fine, nothing to rave over but very clean and well set up. Breakfast was nothing special, basically a typical continental breakfast. The physical layout of the breakfast area made it difficult to navigate when the room was crowded. The food was mediocre at best. The hotel staff was hospitable and efficient. The shuttle worked well both coming and going. Our car was ready. The process worked well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    658
    211
    69
    34
See reviews for
526
686
157
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Ideal SFO airport hotel with effective shuttle, really "heavenly beds" and a sumptous complimentary breakfast. If there is enough time until the departure of your plane why not stroll to Millbrae BART station and takte a 30 minute ride to downtown San Francisco?

Room Tip: Try to get a quiet upstairs room (with two queens) in an elevator building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel looks nice on the outside, but when we got to our room, big surprise! The wall paper was peeling, and the carpet was just filthy...We didn't check out the breakfast and we left as early as we could.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 4smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Please accept our apology for your poor stay. We strive to provide room accommodations that compliment our property exterior. We utilize a local carpet cleaner who visits our Hotel weekly to help us maintain our guestroom carpets. I will work with our Housekeeping department to be sure rooms that require the carpets to be shampooed are reported. We are updating all our wall covering this year as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Charlotte
Level Contributor
270 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The El Rancho is a massive, aging property, covering a big parcel with several different complexes. It's designed to sleep large numbers of people in a location convenient to San Francisco International. Rooms are adequate, but ours had been so sloppily cleaned that dead food was still in the minifridge. Rooms face a parking lot on the ground floor, leading to noise, or a walkway on the second floor, leading to more noise as people roll their rumbling bags across your doorway. If you're on the side of the hotel facing north, you also get a fair dose of train noise, including whistles, plus the tour-bus parking lot. The moral: don't book a room in the SE buildings!!!

On the plus side, the on-site restaurant is good, if a bit pricy, and the continental breakfast is fine. There's a pool.

You'd only choose this hotel for its location, and it's good for what it is, but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Avoid the South buildings, and rooms on El Camini Real- NOISE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We continue to upgrade our rooms concentrating on soundproofing rooms with new doors and windows in the area of the property you mentioned. We recognize how important a good night sleep is and are working to make improvements in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

As I promised in my May 2009 review, we returned recently for another "park-sleep-fly" package.

The older facility is still in fairly good shape and I would say my original assessment of the place is unchanged - except for the airport shuttle pick-up.

Our shuttle ride TO the airport to catch our outbound flight was smooth and uneventful.

On return from our trip we phoned after collecting our luggage, per hotel instructions, and went immediately to the pick-up point. After some time, the shuttle passed us by without stopping. I made a second phone call and was told that the shuttle that was supposed to pick us up was full before it got to us after having picked up customers who had Not called in accordance with instructions. It seems arrivals at the international terminal are last on the pick-up portion of the route, so if someone gets on at the domestic terminal without having called first, pick-ups at the international terminal may get skipped.

We waited a total of about 40 minutes as shuttles from other hotels came and went as many as three times before another of "our" shuttles stopped - but this one had standing room only. After agreeing to ride standing, we got crammed on, but a lady and her elderly mother who could not stand for long periods (they had been on the same plane with us) were told to wait for an even later pick-up.

All-in-all it took a full hour from the time we first phoned for the shuttle until we were at our car about a mile away "as the crow flies" - a very disappointing performance. I feel for the lady & mom who waited even longer.

We'll give them another chance with a trip we have planned soon, but another performance like the last one will will have us staying elsewhere after that if things don't improve.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwelranchoinn, Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and your willingness to try us on your next trip from SFO. Forty minutes is too long to wait for pick-up. We will work to adjust our schedule and number of drivers to ensure your next pick up is timely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I had a very positive experience. The place is clean, has a ton of parking and it is very close to the airport. The staff was very friendly and helpful, which meant a lot to me given I was very tired and grouchy when I arrived. I would definitely recommend. = )

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

good place for long term park and fly. Shuttle is free.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank folktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
579 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.5 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
1.1 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.8 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn

Property: Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Address: 1100 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-2015 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Green Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Best Western hotel to SFO Airport, AAA 3 Diamond Rated, with full service restaurant offering complimentary daily departure snack from 4:30am - 9:30am. At the Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn you’re sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn will stand out among other hotels in Millbrae, CA. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don’t miss a beat while you’re away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you’re on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at any Best Western hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus El Rancho Hotel Millbrae
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn And Suites
Best Western Millbrae
Millbrae Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing