We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Travel Tool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Travel Tool”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We often take extended trips of 4-6 weeks out of SFO. The El Rancho has provided us (on 5 occasions now) with an idea way to store the car until our return. The property itself is fine; rooms, restaurant, staff are all very nice. Certainly not 4 star, but fine for the one day stay you'll likely be needing. (They do have a lower price should you wish to sleep over on the return rather than driving. We've not used this, so I'm not sure what the discount is.) The point here, is that the car is conveniently and securely stored for you and the price (example... our 40 day trip in June/July 2011, one night lodging and 40 days of parking, cost us $209) is less than half what parking alone would cost you at SFO outside parking structures. Go somewhere!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    649
    208
    67
    32
See reviews for
514
674
155
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This motel is very close to the San Francisco Airport and is a typical Best Western Motel with a few atypical amenities, e.g., swimming pool, nice cocktail lounge, great "park and fly" program, better than average included breakfast, free shuttle to and from the airport, etc.. The "standard" rooms are small and a bit worn, but clean and comfortable. THE REASON TO STAY HERE IS AN EXCPTIONAL RESTAURANT WITH UNUSUALLY GREAT FOOD AT REASONABLE PRICES!! See the separate review of the TERRACE CAFE in Millbrae, CA.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back of the motel as there is occasional railroad noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rolftowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Checked in & discovered a of couple dry blood stains on the carpet. We were relocated to a different room after maintenance took a look at it. My son woke up with bite marks on his arm next morning. The following night had to complain 3 times because of a loud party in the room next door with people drinking and screaming outside their room. Finally went back to room, flipped light on, and discovered a BED BUG crawling on my son's pillow!!! I took photos of it and called the front desk at 2am. Besides this, the rooms are outdated and very smelly! Worst place I ever stayed at!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHNNYG415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Chasse, Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights after flying into SFO about 10pm. The shuttle wait was a bit long, the person who answered the phone told me 15 minutes and it was more like 30 especially after seeing the other hotels shuttles multiple times. Late check in was smooth and still offered fresh cookies! We had requested a crib which wasn't in the room but promptly brought up. It even had a small bear in it which my 2 year old fell in love with. A pretty standard hotel room with comfortable beds. Overall clean and a nice place to stay. I had read mixed reviews but got a good deal on priceline so I went with it. The "free" breakfast was lacking just some pre-packaged bagels and pastries.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_A_Mc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Felicien, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We went to stay 6 days at El Rancho Inn and we are happy to have chosen this hotel. The environment itself is beautiful. Pharmacy, grocery store and many restaurants are at walking distance. The shuttle service to the airport and to the train station (to get to downtown SF) is efficient. The restaurant 'Terrace Café' offers is a high quality cuisine, the complementary breakfast is more than OK. If you choose to stay there ask to be on the swimming pool side in order to have the best place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, Calif
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our second stay for the Park n fly option the night before our flight out to Hawaii. The rooms are beautiful, the beds being a-one comfy.
The pizza from the on-site restaurant is amazingly good and the morning breakfast bar opens at 4:30 am for those who have early flights.
This hotel's service is outstanding. The shuttle service is excellent.
We will stay again in November. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swarthmore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel was excellent. The staff were so helpful and friendly, especially the front desk.
We "bugged" them a number of times for directions and recommendations and they couldn't have been more pleasant. The rooms were very clean and the food served in the restaurant on the premises was the best. The little lady serving the continental breakfast was so sweet, I wanted to take her home with us! It is also close to the airport and they provide transportation. We had a wonderful time and would definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cricket2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.5 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
1.8 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn

Property: Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Address: 1100 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-2015 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Green Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Best Western hotel to SFO Airport, AAA 3 Diamond Rated, with full service restaurant offering complimentary daily departure snack from 4:30am - 9:30am. At the Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn you’re sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn will stand out among other hotels in Millbrae, CA. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don’t miss a beat while you’re away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you’re on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at any Best Western hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus El Rancho Hotel Millbrae
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn And Suites
Best Western Millbrae
Millbrae Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing