We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,233)
Filter reviews
2,233 results
Traveler rating
1,044
788
268
89
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,044
788
268
89
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and flydeparture snackterrace cafeleave your carsan franciscoupon returngreat parktrain noiseon site restaurantsfo airportthe shuttle drivercomplimentary breakfastlong term parkinggreat place to stayrooms are cleanfree parkingan early flight
Filter
Updating list...
1,952 - 1,957 of 2,233 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a 2BR/2BTH apartment, located adjacent to the main Inn during a fairly lengthy stay in Dec 2010-Jan 2011. The apartment was outfitted with all the essentials for a stay of this (or longer) length. There were only a few problems but they were corrected instantly! This involved getting a new refrigerator and repairing a lamp. The folks at the front desk and all other staff were friendly and eager to help. We enjoyed a few dinners at the restaurant - again, good service and very good food. Of note, this is not the Taj Mahal, but it is a well-located, solid 3-Star accommodation at a very good price. We did hear some train noise, but it seemed far enough away to not interfere. We loved working with Ms. Gale Alba, who is in charge of the suites. She sought to make our stay a pleasure, and succeeded in doing so!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohsusanna_snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwelranchoinn, Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Thanks for your feedback. We do our best to make sure that your stay will be problem-free, but we also try our best to fix any issues that do happen to come up. We always appreciate hearing that we have succeeded one way or the other. I'll be sure and pass on your comments to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We booked in for two nights and got a great deal on a room with TWO bedrooms.
OMG ! When we got to the hotel we were told to drive a block away and found dirty apartment that people actually LIVED IN. The room we went to was smelly, musty and horrible. We didnt stay, we left right away and stayed in the Marriott Residences in San Mateo. Much cleaner, brighter and didnt smell.
Im not sure whether the Best Western name can be associated with placed people actually resident. It was a horrible experience at the location we were sent to. I can imagine that if you are in the blocks 100 to 600 they might be ok as it looked quite nice. BUT STAY AWAY FROM the rooms in blocks 700, 800 and 9000. Scary !!

Room Tip: Get a room next to the receiption area ONLY
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martikaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for your comments. Our Hotel offers a variety of room accomodations including extended stay suites. Our extended stay suites are offered on a short term and long term basis. We do at times cater to guests who require long term apartment style accomodations for a variety of reasons including long term work contractas and home remodels. I apologize for not having a room with two beds available at the main Hotel. Our staff and especially our Housekeeping department work hard to ensure our rooms are clean and fresh. We will review your comments with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We have stayed at the El Rancho Inn as well as utilized their meeting room and have been overly pleased with the entire property. The staff are ubber friendly, super responsive and accomodating to requests and suggestions. This hotel has a family feel while still maintaining a very high quality. We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
1  Thank esblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you so much for the kind feedback. We try our best to make all our guests feel "at home". We'll be sure to pass your comments on to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The Best Western El Rancho is very conveniently located close to the San Francisco Airport.
They have a free shuttle service that leaves every half hour. They also allow a car to be stored for up to two weeks with an overnight stay. I know most of the people at the front desk and it feels like family now. Sometimes there will be freshly baked cookies at the check in desk. To add to all of this, the rooms are great and the beds and pillows are some of the most comfortable I have slept on. It is by far the best place I've stayed when flying out of San Francisco.

Room Tip: call early if you want to stay on the ground floor
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Depot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We feel our park and fly package stands apart from all the rest. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I can't say enough good about this place. I left my car there for two months while I was I was in Mexico. The park and fly option is a great way to go. No worries about rushing at the last minute or airport traffic. The hotel itself is quiet and very well maintained. The staff is friendly and efficient. The price of the rooms are a fraction of what you would pay for a similar room in downtown San Francisco. The hotel is in the charming town of Millbrae, next to SFO. If you want to go to San Francisco, the airport shuttle will take you to the BART train or you can walk to the Millbrae BART station, which is a pleasant 20-minute walk away. The hotel has a great history. Richard Nixon once stayed there. The Right Stuff was shot there. Here's an article on that history: http://www.examiner.com/gay-travel-in-san-francisco/who-says-airport-hotels-are-boring-history-of-the-el-rancho-inn-near-sfo

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank jERRYYOUNG222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwelranchoinn, General Manager at Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews