We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Enjoyed!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Our room was clean, the staff was very helpful and we slept well. It's a mile to the BART and there are several eating places within walking distance. The restaurant at the hotel was sushi and we are not fans of that type of food...there are options within walking distance. We had the room with the jetted bath and it was wonderful, especially at the end of a day of walking in San Francisco!!! We are already making plans for our return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate your feedback and glad to know that you stay was enjoyable. Your business is greatly appreciated. Please visit us again soon. Thank you very much. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    226
    93
    31
    23
See reviews for
207
175
44
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was for only a night - on the last day of our visit to San Francisco. I and my wife chose to stay near the airport since our flight was early in the morning next day. Usually we don't expect much from the hotels near the airport, but this experience certainly changed the way we look at airport hotels for good.

First thing we noticed at check-in is cleanliness. It looked like attention is paid not only the lobby, but also hallways, parking garage, swimming pool, and more importantly - rooms. We stayed in a guest room on the third floor away from the street. The room was quiet with 2 to 3 roars from plane take-off or landing that night. Given the proximity of this hotel to the airport, I think this is inevitable. The room was very well organized and gave a very refreshing feeling once we entered the room. The bath tub, to our surprise, had jacuzzi! We didn't use it, but just wanted to mention it to other fellow travelers. The room is also equipped with complimentary wifi - speed sufficient to check emails.

During our stay, we saw three different people at the front desk - all of them were friendly and proactive in helping the guests. At night I called the front desk to ask the location of the vending and ice machine. The front desk person (I believe her name was Anita) didn't just tell me the location but gave me directions from my room. This to me was an indication that hotel staff is really dedicated to making our stay comfortable.

The complimentary airport shuttle service is another aspect worth mentioning. It is every 30 minutes and picks up guests from two other hotels in its vicinity. La Quinta is last for pick up because of which the shuttle may arrive a few minutes after the scheduled time. The front desk attendant (Sarah this time) had told us about this so that we schedule right pick up time. we had asked for 6 am pick-up and the shuttle was there 3 - 4 minutes after scheduled time. It took roughly 15 minutes to get to departures at SFO.

The breakfast starts at 6 am so we didn't have time to eat. But the hotel staff opened the restaurant doors so that guests leaving early can at least grab some coffee and muffins to go. I also noticed that there are several restaurants at walking distance from this hotel. This may be helpful to know for guests staying for longer duration.

Overall - it was a brief but pleasant experience. I hope that the hotel staff keeps stepping up the guest experience. We stayed at a 4 star hotel ($$$$) in SF Embarcadero area. My wife said "we could have just stayed at La Quinta if they had a shuttle to the City or the nearest Bart station"!!




Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank expedition17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for your compliments and kind words about our staff. We are very delighted that your stay was enjoyable. Your word of encouragement are great motivating factor for us all. Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed account of your stay. We look forward to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Pet friendly and great accommodations. I was quite pleased with the facility and its staff. Good parking, centrally located for the area, very accessible. Front desk personnel very helpful. For pets it was just great, ample area for exercise, carpeted for sure footing, bring pickup bags.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and we greatly appreciate your compliments. We will be looking forward to your next visit soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

La Quinta's have always offered a decent value and this one is no exception. Other than noisy early morning Niner's fans heading to the game, the rooms were clean with updated baths and even Keurig coffee makers. B'fast is decent. Plus they're dog friendly! We usually use the SF airport park & fly hotels for extended trips but we'll keep this on the list for overnighters in the South Bay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1globetrekker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for providing complete account of your stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback and delighted that your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Where to begin? The "best" part of this hotel was the friendly and efficient front desk staff. They were professional and quick to serve. We were locked out of room one evening (our cards no longer worked) and they were quick to correct the problem. We had a standard room which was below standards. There were unidentifiable stains on the couch in the room, there was a tied up bag of trash left behind the door, the coffee maker only worked when we unplugged the microwave and even then you had to keep your finger on the "on" button to keep it working. I plugged in my lap top and got an arc out of the outlet. The walls are paper thin and then gentleman in the room next to us kept us awake all night hacking up a lung and talking on his cell phone all hours. There was a Coke machine on our floor, but it didn't work. The only plus side(s) to this hotel were the friendly staff and free parking. I booked this hotel as a La Quinta member and because of the high ratings on here, but I was personally disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us your feedback. Our entire team is very disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we truly are very sorry. However, we will ensure the issues highlighted are addressed immediately. Hope you will consider staying with us again. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I were greeted by a friendly front desk clerk, who informed us -- without our asking -- that she would be upgrading us to a larger room that had a kitchen. We didn't really need it, but figured it would be a better room for the same price. It turned out to be a very nice, spacious room.

We quickly noticed we could hear the TV in the adjoining room but didn't think that would present any major problems for us. We slept well until around 5 a.m., when a man in the adjoining room (who was from New Jersey, had a very loud voice, and was stranded due to Hurricane Sandy) began to make a series of phone calls -- all of which we could hear, including many expletives. After about an hour of this, we called the front desk and asked to be moved to a different room for our second night's stay. They graciously accommodated our request, and that room -- while considerably smaller -- was quiet and met our needs perfectly.

The complimentary breakfast was great, with many hot and cold food selections -- making this hotel a great overall value.

We did not use the pool or fitness center during our stay, but both looked inviting. I'm fairly certain the pool is not heated in early November, but it still looked like a nice area to sit in the sun and read.

The hotel is convenient to the San Francisco Airport and the Millbrae BART station. There is also airport shuttle service available, although we did not make use of it.

The only rub for us was that we were charged an extra $25 for the room we were assigned to on the first night. That, my friends, is what is known as an "upsell", not an "upgrade".

Room Tip: If you don't need a kitchen, opt for a smaller room in a quiet area of the property. Ours was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we are always looking ways to improve our services so we can serve our guest better every time they stay with us. Thank you for providing a detailed account. We look forward to your next visit soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff was very helpful and also excited about our story. My high school girlfriend from 45 years ago and I stayed here for 3 days and had a GREAT time! We reunited last year on Facebook after being apart for 45 years and we both grew up and dated in this area all those years ago. Our stay was more than excellent and our trip down memory lane brought us much closer. We will definitely stay here again and may even get married close by and have our reception and/or honeymoon here in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank haroldr127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for your kind words about our establishment. We are truly honored that you decided to stay with us to celebrate long awaited reunion and humbled by your experience. Your feedback means a lot to our entire team who are dedicated to give their best. Welcome home! We look forward to see you again soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.0 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
1.8 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Address: 1390 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-1411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#5 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport West
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West Hotel Millbrae
Comfort Inn Millbrae
Millbrae Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing