We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stopover Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Stopover Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel rather than spending the night at the airport. The hotel itself was fine. The shuttle from the airport was horrible. We expected stops at other hotels and they did. However, when they stopped at the Best Western, it was a different story. The driver went inside the hotel, picked up their room keys, and drove each person to the front door of their room where he unloaded and took their luggage to their doors. It took forever! The shuttle back to the airport was very efficient. We'd stay here again but plan to spend lots of time on the shuttle to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50StateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    224
    90
    31
    21
See reviews for
202
172
43
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skowhegan maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in Jan ..Staff very receptive to my needs , special thanks to Nicki on nights ,I get up early and the person that I travel with didnt so I would go down to the lobby to hang out.. she gave me GREAT info on tours , places to eat, parking .. hotel was clean and beds were comfortable , breakfast was good . It was a way out from the city but easy to get to .. overall very happy with stay ..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breingan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were very pleased with our accommodations at La Quinta. Had stayed there before when it was a Choice Hotel. It's been nicely updated with a bigger breakfast room and fresh, very clean bathrooms. This is a great place to stay when flying out of SFO. Rooms are spacious, have microwaves and refrigerators. The location is convenient to restaurants and shopping.
But what really impressed us was the staff. Have never encountered such nice, helpful shuttle bus drivers! Great guys, wish I'd caught their names. They do an A+ job!!! And Renee at the front desk is a real sweetheart! So friendly and patient with everyone. We were so impressed with the time and courtesy she gave an elderly couple ahead of us in line for check in. Excellent customer service! Would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back and up higher are quieter. El Camino Real can be noisey at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I did not stay in a room but only visited this hotel to participate in a depostion in a conference room though this experience may be of interest to an over-night visitor or someone considering this site for a work event.

CONFERENCE ROOM
The conference room faced the main road (El Camino Real) a 6- lane secondary road which is roughly 40 feet from the hotel. The road is very active with traffic (including large trucks) and traffic noise could clearly be heard through the windows and vibration through the wall: I would expect that similar noise would be heard and felt in the rooms on this side of the hotel. The room had a faint smell of mildew.

EXTERIOR/INTERIOR STRUCTURE
The hotel's structure is dated and in need of renovation. It has a very odd layout apparently dictated by the property: an unequal-sided quadrilateral of small rooms with an open center where there is a small pool and a glass walled structure containing workout equipment.

SERVICE
The front desk was helpful and pointed us to our conference room on the second floor. The elevator was etremely slow.

The workers were friendly but several seemed to have trouble understanding English: a lady on the first floor only laughed and smiled when asked the location of the Coke machine, a man in the laundry asked for the same question to be repeated three times asked "elevator?" then pointed me to the machine on the second floor. The front desk attendant was nice and helpful though she admitted it was only her first day.

VENDING
There is no vending on the first floor. The vending maching on the second floor would not accept any money and a light flashed "empty". The only other vending maching on the third floor accepted money but did not dispense as it then also flashed "empty".

OVERALL
Barely acceptable for a work conference. Based on this experience I would not recommend staying overnight unless the price was irresistible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

This hotel room is surprising big and have separate kitchen which provide full kitchen facilities.
It was clean and provide free shuttle to and fro from SF international airport. Call them for shuttle and it would arrive within 15mins to pick you from airport. You would have to give a grace of 10-15 mins from the requested time of shuttle to pick you from the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay near airport.

Room Tip: Cheap, spacious room. Free shuttle to airtport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheng2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed overnight close to the airport. The team is very friendly and helpful. The grounds and rooms clean and comfortable too.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmacd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The La Quinta Inn and Suites in Millbrae, CA, is a good hotel at a very reasonable price. It is close to the San Francisco airport and is within walking distance to many restaurants. The rooms have kitchenettes. The hotel is clean and has plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is away from the main street which is El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFanaticJGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
1.7 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Address: 1390 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#5 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, HotelsClick and Reservation Counter so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport West
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West Hotel Millbrae
Comfort Inn Millbrae
Millbrae Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing