We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked a room at the Millwood Inn near the San Francisco airport fopr one night between trips from Hawaii and to Boston and Toronto. Our first reaction was concern because from the outside the Millwood is not your typical highrise airport hotel, but rather a " 60's" highway motel. However, our concerns were quickly removed as we were greeted by helpful staff and shown to a completly updated and attractive room with excellent bedding, modern bath and all the amenities you would expect in any "business" hotel. We left early for our flight (with an airport shuttle prearranged by the hotel which arrived right on time) but had a chance to taste the ample buffet breakfast offered gratis by the inn. Quite a value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhale53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. It's nice to know you were pleasantly surprised by us. We try to set ourselves apart from other inns in the area by offering modern amenities and attentive service. It's nice to know you appreciate all the care we put into our work. The next time you're visiting the San Francisco area, be sure to keep us in mind!

All the best,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    215
    56
    22
    3
See reviews for
147
219
56
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Easy to find from the airport, 5min drive from the rental car outlets. We got a wotif deal which was a very small basic room, but it suited our requirements and was very reasonably priced. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Vanessa,

Thanks for your review. I'm glad to know you found our location convenient and thought our rooms were clean and comfortable. Considering you enjoyed your stay, do you mind letting me know why you only rated us 3 stars? Your feedback will help us improve going forward.

Thanks,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold beach
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The nicest motel in which I have ever stayed. There are certainly wonderful, fabulously expensive hotels available but this lovely little motel just does everything right, at a fraction of the price. Only an easy fifteen minute drive from the heart of SF plus the area of Millbrae in which it is situated has its own wonderful shops and restaurants. Can't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Wow, the nicest motel in which you've ever stayed! Thank you so much, Peter. It's our goal to offer wonderful service and amenities at an affordable price. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a real find for us, near San Francisco Airport, and all the good things we read on Tripadvisor are true!

We had the best room, a King Suite, which offers very comfortable accommodation, with a separate bedroom and spacious living room, and ample storage. Toiletries etc. replenished daily. Friendly and efficient service. Parking on site is easy.

A good breakfast is included, but if you want a change, the Millbrae Pancake House ("Since 1959") just a few steps along El Camino Real, is well worth a visit!

The manager clearly takes a pride in running a very impressive property. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: King Suite is well worth considering
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for recommending us! I'm glad to know you found our service friendly and our rooms clean, comfortable and spacious. That's the goal! I really do take pride it my work, so it's nice to know you appreciate it. Hope to see you again the next time you're in San Francisco!

Take care,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here prior to departing for the UK. Close to airport, pleasant greeting from manager, very helpful, room was well appointed, clean and nice decor. Breakfast varied and typical American, healthy and unhealthy, covered all the bases, waffles, omelette, cereals cakes, toast etc. a bit pricey. Shuttle service offered to and thro the airport, would stay their again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks Robert! It was a pleasure meeting you the other day. I'm glad to know that, from our breakfast selection to our decor, you enjoyed everything about your stay. The next time you're in the San Francisco area, be sure to keep us in mind!

Take care,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We rented a suite which had a king bed in one bedroom and two double beds in the other bedroom. There was also a living room with sofa and flat screen tv. The suite had one bathroom with toilet and tub/shower in one room and a double sink vanity in another area, which was very helpful since we had 4 adults. The beds were extremely comfortable with very nice linens, and each bedroom also had a large flat screen tv. The rooms were not large, but were big enough to be comfortable. Everything was very clean, and the decorations were up to date and made the whole motel quite pleasing to the eye. Our stay included a hot buffet breakfast for all of us, which was quite good, including pre-made cheese omelets that actually tasted good, sausage or bacon, potatoes, several selections of breads, bagels and cereals, fruits and yogurts and sweet rolls, different flavors of coffees and teas, and a hot iron and batter if you wanted to make your own waffle. The first day we went early and the omelets were fresh and moist; the second day we went later and they were a bit tougher. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, since we were visiting family in Millbrae. It is very close to the San Francisco airport. There are quite a number of nice eating places and good shopping nearby, as well as grocery stores. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The suite with two bedrooms was less expensive than two separate rooms. It only has one toilet and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We want all our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us. Accordingly, I'm happy to hear you found your suite clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their warm and welcoming service.

How was your visit to Millbrae? I hope you and your family had a great time together. The next time you visit the San Francisco area, be sure to keep us in mind.

Take care,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

When the shuttle pulled up, I was disappointed. The hotel exterior had the gold and red coloring of the Soprano's living room. When we entered the room, I was thrilled by the decoration. It was obviously redone and modern. Unfortunately the room had a serious case of body odor that was deep in the carpet. Because it was late at night, I sprinkled the room with baby powder and fell into an exhausted sleep. If it was only that room, then I recommend this place. But if you have the same problem, well, you have been warned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Michele,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to know you were pleasantly surprised with our rooms' interior decor. On the other hand, I'm truly sorry you experienced an unpleasant smell from our carpet. We thoroughly clean our carpets often. We also would've been more than happy to relocate you to a different room if you were uncomfortable staying there. We care about our guests and want them to have an enjoyable stay. I'll be sure to use your feedback to improve going forward.

Best,
Vijay Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.4 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.8 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
2.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millwood Inn & Suites

Property: Millwood Inn & Suites
Address: 1375 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#5 Business Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millwood Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millwood Inn & Suites welcomes business and leisure travelers to enjoy a tradition of warm, personal hospitality. Located south of San Francisco in Millbrae, California, this distinctive hotel offers a refreshing mix of lifestyle luxuries and a relaxed coastal vibe for working, relaxing, playing and exploring the San Francisco Bay Area. Enjoy a casual contemporary ambiance that makes you feel at home. Our hotel offers a comfortable eco-friendly hotel experience in Millbrae, California.Our amenities include a flat panel TV with over 100 satellite channels, HDTV, WiFi, DVD player, alarm-clock radio, microwave, refrigerator, drip coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, full-size iron and ironing board, well-lit vanity and luxurious bath products. We also have a fitness center, breakfast buffet, an interactive business space, gift shop, parking for overnight guests and shuttle to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millwood Inn And Suites
Millwood Hotel Millbrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing