We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean little motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean little motel”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed at this property for 3 nights. Excellent location, about equidistant to both Millbrae and San Bruno BART stations. Very quiet given proximity to the airport - didn't hear any planes. Room on the small side, but clean. Got the 2 double bed, and felt it was short (in length) somehow. OK breakfast. Good wifi signal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigapoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, General Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for you comments on our hotel. Our double beds are standard size and are pillow top mattresses. Our complimentary hot breakfast does include hard boiled eggs, either scrambled eggs or omelets, sausage or bacon, hash browns and waffles each morning in addition to the other items (cereals, pastries, oatmeal, choice of coffee, juices, English muffins, breads, and fruit) We are always looking to improve and suggestions are always welcome on our breakfast and hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    216
    56
    22
    3
See reviews for
147
223
56
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

When I started searching for hotels in San Francisco before my vacation I found out that they were either very expensive or had no rooms available. Then I decided to take a look at the hotels near the airport and TripAdvisor led me to this place. I praise Millwood Inn for the following:
- kind and attentive staff;
- a big room with all amenities, including microwave oven, fridge, two flat-screen TVs, and a comfortable bed. I had the best sleep in years there!
- modest but tasty breakfast.
Location is good but if you are traveling on your feet you should consider that the nearest railway station is not close to the hotel. I spent around 15-20 minutes every morning and then every night walking to the BART/CalTrain terminal and back to the hotel. But I must say that returning back to Millbrae at 11pm - 12am I never felt unsafe, only raccoons scared me once.

In general, I really enjoy my stay in Millwood Inn. Was a really pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan_Balakhonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, General Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments and review. We would like to note, guests may take our complimentary shuttle to and from the San Francisco Airport in order to take BART from the airport station. The Millbrae BART station is located 1 mile from our hotel and is an easy walk, should one decide to walk to the station. Public transportation is also available to and from the Millbrae BART station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night after we flew in and one night at the tail end of vacation...so close to the airport. When we first got to the hotel, it looked like an old Howard Johnson's...don't let the first glance fool you. The grounds are well tended with flower boxes all over. Upon opening the real wood doors....each room has been redone, you really think you are in an upper scale hotel. Lovely bedding, great televisions and swanky bathrooms. Definitely the place to stay close to the airport.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Before we arrived we emailed the desk several times with questions and each time they responded very quickly with all the information requested. Superb.
Close to the airport with a good shuttle service.
We were only staying for one night so this was a good choice. We taxied to downtown for the tours which was not ideal as it was over $60 for the taxi fare to d/town. The reception suggested that we Bart back to the airport and then catch the shuttle back to our accommodation which we did - much cheaper and very quick. Definitely recommend that option for traveling to the city.
Breakfast was satisfactory - our daughter loved the waffle-maker :)
Wi-fi was good and the area felt safe.
Room was clean, good pressure and temps
Would stay here again if passing through. If we were to stay for longer we'd probably stay closer to the city bit this time, for us, this was ideal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTKTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justice, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is a fantastic place. Beds are more comfortable then most expensive hotels. Wonderful breakfast for a continental breakfast. A very good assortment of breakfast choices for everyone. Fresh food and plenty of it. Clean area. Friendly staff. Newspapers daily. Safe environment, family owned. Good, fair price for the size of the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly8725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The room was clean and well set up. The airport shuttle runs every half hour or so with an entertaining driver. It is about 15 - 20 minutes walk to BART. The breakfast itself was good. Outside there were lots of plants - always a good sign of care.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stvjyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights because it was close to the airport and had decent reviews and for this reason alone it was very good. We had a long flight and layover so we were happy to have a no hassle check in at 2am. Staff were friendly on the whole, they did hold our bags for a while and let us park in their car park even after checking out but this did take a little encouragment.
The rooms were a really good standard with ok coffee machine and tv that had movie channels which I find is better than just CNN. Location is 20 minutes walk to BART train station and that takes about 35 mins to Fishermans Wharf for about $9 return.
Breakfast is ok, lacks a little fruit and is a bit of a sugary carbohydrate mix.
If you want a bit higher standard than usual this is a nice enough place although, but if you are after a cheaper place to just rest your head, then there are cheaper places in San Bruno just down the road that are adequate and are $70 dollars cheaper, and this does count. We paid about $180 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathanfoster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.4 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.8 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
2.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
981 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millwood Inn & Suites

Property: Millwood Inn & Suites
Address: 1375 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#5 Business Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millwood Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millwood Inn & Suites welcomes business and leisure travelers to enjoy a tradition of warm, personal hospitality. Located south of San Francisco in Millbrae, California, this distinctive hotel offers a refreshing mix of lifestyle luxuries and a relaxed coastal vibe for working, relaxing, playing and exploring the San Francisco Bay Area. Enjoy a casual contemporary ambiance that makes you feel at home. Our hotel offers a comfortable eco-friendly hotel experience in Millbrae, California.Our amenities include a flat panel TV with over 100 satellite channels, HDTV, WiFi, DVD player, alarm-clock radio, microwave, refrigerator, drip coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, full-size iron and ironing board, well-lit vanity and luxurious bath products. We also have a fitness center, breakfast buffet, an interactive business space, gift shop, parking for overnight guests and shuttle to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millwood Inn And Suites
Millwood Hotel Millbrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing