We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the way out of San Francisco?”
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“On the way out of San Francisco?”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

The location is the jewel in this Travelodge hotel. You can shuttle to the airport or take BART (that is just across the street) to San Francisco. There is a grocery store across the street and 15 restaurants within 3 blocks. The rooms are not big and they have full size pillowtop beds. Some might prefer queen, but alas they have none. Breakfast was fine for a deluxe continental. The bathroom has the best shower we have had on our trip. At the price I think it is the best value at this time, but check Trip Advisor for an update.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    360
    103
    31
    19
See reviews for
194
302
103
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

I stayed at this motel because of the BART station. As advertised, it is literally a 2 min. walk.
I rode BART every day and it was easy. Room was quiet, easy to get to, with dvd player, cable tv. AC/heat. Office had computer you can use for internet (great for boarding pass).
Only concern was limited parking for rental car. Had to park in street 1 night but no problems.
BART is extremely easy to use and this Travelodge's location makes it a no-brainer to book this motel. Will stay again for sure. Manager Cynthia a great help!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelAZ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I read the reviews and thought, what? it's a Travelodge! If you have to spend a night on a stopover and look for a cheap hotel outside SF don't look any further, I am very allergic to noise. The Travelodge is on a pretty busy road opposite a railway station. It was quiet! The breakfast was great and the bed very nice. All that in SF for 85$.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The close location to BART to reach the city and the airport was great. Shuttle to and from airport was prompt and courteous. Rooms were very clean. All staff encountered were very helpful and went out of their way to assist, in particular Cynthia at the front desk. Breakfast was more than adequate with reasonable variety. The availabiltiy of tours which pick guests up at the hotel was another bonus. We were so pleased with our initial stay of 3 nights that we returned for 2 nights prior to our return home. Easy access to small plaza across the street was useful and numerous restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed at the Millbrae Travelodge Airport South during our trip to San Francisco. We were quite satisfied with our stay and found the price reasonable and the staff very friendly and helpful. We especially commend Cynthia, the desk manager. She was excellent. The first night we stayed, we had trouble with the toilet and she promptly upgraded us to a better room. The hotel is only a block or two away from the BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) station which makes access to San Francisco very easy and convenient. The airport is only about a mile away and there is a shuttle provided by the hotel to the airport which runs every 30 minutes or so. The hotel is in a nice, safe area with many restaurants and stores within walking distance. The free continental breakfast is decent. There was an adequate selection of food to choose from and it was continually refreshed. There are safes in each room and free wi-fi. The free cookies in the evening at the front desk are a nice touch. There is free parking, but it can become quite full at times. The only (very small) complaint I would have is that the hotel is on a busy street and the traffic noise can sometimes be heard in the room. This is to be expected, though, because of it's very convenient location and was not at all a disturbance for us. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone planning to stay in the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

The shuttle worked well. We rang from the courtesy phone at the airport hotel display. The driver insisted in taking our carry-on bags and putting them in the trunk. We discovered the reason - there is a sign inside saying "suggested gratuity - $1 per bag". They request a "tip" of $2 for a "service" I neither want nor need. Do they not pay the driver? However this is not the hotel's doing. The bus service is shared with other hotels - and is the closest to the airport, so we were first dropped off, and last picked up.

On our return to the airport, the bus trunk was already full with bag, so there was no problem with taking the same bags inside with us.

When we reached the hotel, the elevator was not working, so we carried our bags up to the 3rd floor. This was no big deal, but it is all a bit crazy that someone expects $2 to put our bags on/off a bus, but it is fair enough to carry them up two floors. Grumble over, as this pet peeve of mine has little to do with the hotel, which was very good.

There is an iron and a coffee-maker in the room, excellent shower, large room, motel style. The "enhanced breakfast" was excellent (compared to what we were expecting in a lobby area) - paper plates, disposable cutlery, no freshly cooked stuff, but plenty of choice - ham, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, yoghurt, muffins. Toaster and microwave for heating.

We did not venture out (we were on a one-night stopover in SFO connecting to Asia) but BART station was visible and seemed quite close. I would suggest this as an excellent choice for arriving or departing from SFO, or for people, like us, making a connection.

You can get a discount by booking (and paying) two weeks in advance. The confirmation email did not specify which credit card we had used, and we did not have the right one with us. They accepted a different one as deposit against any extra charges. The reservation was held despite an evening arrival, made later by the plane being delayed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This has been a great experience. The elderly man who was here when I arrived at 2 am was very helpful, facility was amazingly qiet given the location.
The noon checkout and the strong internet were unexpected BLESSINGS

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suem321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
579 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Property: The Dylan at SFO
Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan at SFO, proud winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, is a newly remodeled 58 room boutique hotel. They are conveniently located just 1 mile from the San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and feature a free SFO Airport shuttle bus to and from the airport. They are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART/CalTrain station, gateway to downtown San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Our delicious complimentary breakfast features hot items that change daily, including: bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets, casseroles and potatoes. We also offer other tasty options: fresh waffles, fresh baked muffins, scones, danishes & cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels & cream cheese, toast, hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Complimentary fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea are available the afternoon. In 2017 The Dylan Hotel at SFO brought back mid-century modern with contemporary vibes through their recent remodel of the exterior, lobby, reception and breakfast room. The entrance is encased with eco-friendly siding and accented with a retro-feel hexagon patterned coreteen steel. Step into the lobby to the sound of subtle electronic jazz music quietly playing overhead as you take in the natural elements of the living wall and tree trunk table. Head to the reception, and enjoy the San Francisco murals behind the smoked glass and wood-grained shelving while checking in with our guest service agent. We offer complimentary Nescafe cappuccinos to enjoy while showing off your Scrabble skills on the giant wall game. In the morning enjoy a buffet breakfast featuring housemade granola, fresh baked muffins, waffles or some eggs and sausages along with many other goodies. While enjoying breakfast or waiting for our complimentary SFO airport shuttle, sit and admire the bigger than life sixties vibe wall art with starlet beauties and super heroes or just watch the wall mounted tablets streaming hip, retro movies. Their newly renovated guest rooms display the dreamy artwork of famous surrealist photographer, Thomas Barbey. Each guest room features all American made furniture with built-in USB, plush pillow top beds, 40 inch LED and much more. The newly renovated bathrooms have imported Spanish porcelain tile and rain showerheads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing