We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
1 review
“A Real Deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

April was a great time to visit San Francisco, and this Travelodge was a great place to be! I spent a week there with my wife and five year old daughter...a week well spent.
Getting from the airport to and from the property was very quick using the free shuttle.
Getting downtown was quick and easy using BART, a five minute walk from the property.
Wake up, eat a great breakfast (included in the price of the room) and be downtown 30 minutes later. Return and take advantage of the local restaurants and supermarkets. I can recommend the Little Lucca Sandwich Shop at the mall across the street. The best subs I ever had.
The rooms were very nice. Clean and comfortable.
When there was a small problem, (when isn't there?) the staff was right there to take care of it with a smile.
In conclusion, if you are looking for a budget hotel, you cannot go wrong here.

  • Liked — Location and Convenience
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank r2d2blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    352
    103
    31
    18
See reviews for
190
296
103
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

We found this hotel as a good priced hotel outside of San Francisco. If this was just an overnight stay it would have been decent for us but for a four night stay it was hard to ignore some of the less impressive points of this hotel. First, the hotel is much dingier on the outside than the pictures on the website would suggest. Second, the rooms were alright at first glance but looking at the bathroom in particular there was mildew and cracks around the shower area, and gunk built up under the hot/cold sign on the tap of the sink. Third, there was one lady in particular at the front desk who gave terrible advice about the parking prices in San Francisco and was quite rude and pushy. But on the upside- it was a good distance from San Francisco without the expensive price of San Francisco! We did NOT hear any planes being so close to the airport. The continental breakfast was quite good with a good selection.

  • Liked — That it was less expensive than hotels right in San Francisco but was still close enough to drive in to the city.
  • Disliked — The dirtiness of the bathroom, the overly soft bed, the rude lady at the front desk.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TeamMonklaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

We were visiting SFO for 4 days and we decided against renting a car but rather explore the city and suburbs by Public Transportation.

After researching the TripAdvisor reviews, we settled on Travelodge. We were not disappointed. With the Caltrain/BART station closeby, it was very convenient and safe.

The room was clean, the breakfast was great. We even made reservations for the Alcatraz visit through the hotel.

My only complaint is that the hotel claimed that the room had queen beds but they really were double beds.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JayTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

staff friendly-travel info re sfo bay area freely given.well informed property very clean ammenities galore. owners pride abounds. highly recommended. excellent location especially if depending on public transportation.

  • Liked — friendliness location
  • Disliked — nothingnear airport
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

The hotel was just great! We flew in from Japan and we were little early to check in, but desk staff checked us in anyway. We were very tired so I appreciated that!! We stayed for total of 6 days, two different rooms (307 and deluxe 225) and had no problem. The beds were very comfortable, clean sheets and towels, and shower pressure was great. The breakfast selection was good; loved the OJ. There were railroad tracks out behind the hotel, but the noise was not a problem to us. We had great time in the San Francisco area and hotel sure made it easy for us to have fun. We stayed in four different hotels in a central CA area while on a rode for 2 weeks and I think your hotel was the best.

  • Liked — Clean and very confotable bed
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DanJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

We chose the Travelodge in Millbrae as a convenient place to stay while making a short visit to San Francisco before leaving by air, and were not disappointed. The BART station is a short walk and provides convenient transport to the downtown (about 30 minutes to Union Station). The motel is a basic travel inn, but it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was basic but had enough variety to satisfy us, and the coffee and juice were fresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a drug store and a grocery store within walking distance, and a number of choices to eat (we opted for the Panera Bread, which requires crossing the freeway overpass and is thus better reached by car though it is quite close). Downtown San Francisco has plenty of things to see and do - we enjoyed the Botanical Gardens which are both free and beautiful, as well as the Union Square and Fisherman's wharf areas. Leaving for the airport was straightforward as the shuttle was there when promised (note that you must schedule it ahead of time) and it is only a short ride. We arrived from the south by rental car, and there was good signage directing us toward the hotel from the freeway, making it easy to reach.

  • Liked — Location near airport and BART
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tnlehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

I am happy to write this review to let people interested in this Travelodge to know that this is a great choice. I have stayed here many times over the past 4 years and have never been disappointed.
The staff is absolutely great. They are always friendly and helpful and I always feel welcome when I arrive.

I usually stay in one of the deluxe rooms. They have always been clean and very spacious. They have microwaves and refrigerators so if I feel like eating in the room I can go to the grocery store across the street for any groceries I may need. Of course there are several restaurants within walking distance as well. And no need to worry about breakfast because they have breakfast set up in the lobby in the morning. They offer a nice selection of breakfast items. The location is a big plus. This is just across the street from BART and CalTrains. You can be in SF in a very short time on BART. The hotel offers free shuttle service to SFO and you can leave your car there while you are away on your trip.

I highly recommend this Travelodge to anyone flying in or out of SFO or visiting the SanFrancisco area.

  • Liked — Friendly staff!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank klbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Property: The Dylan at SFO
Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family owned boutique hotel with newly remodeled guestrooms (2014) is conveniently located 1 mile from the San Francisco Airport (SFO) with free 24-hour SFO Airport shuttle bus service to and from the SFO airport. They offer free parking for your night of stay; however, no car is necessary as they are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART (rapid transit)/Caltrain station-your gateway to San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Aside from Their superior location, there are other perks that will make your experience with them even more special. Every morning guests will enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast featuring hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, tasty in-house-baked goods, freshly made granola, fresh waffles and so much more. Come back to the front desk in the afternoon to enjoy freshly baked cookies, tea and coffee. Talk to their friendly front desk staff about San Francisco tour recommendations, they are happy to assist you with planning. The Dylan is proud to offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to catch up on work or emails. Lounge by the fountain in their relaxing Tuscan themed patio complete with comfy seating and lantern lighting. They recently completed the remodeling of their guestrooms in 2014. They took an artistic approach to their new room designs and worked with famous surrealist photographer Thomas Barbey to select each piece of his dreamy artwork to display in their guestrooms. Look closely at the art and you'll begin to recognize icons from all around the world, including San Francisco. Each room is stylized to highlight the beauty of his work. If you enjoy unwinding in front of the TV, you'll love watching HBO on the 40 inch LCD flat screen TVs that they've provided in each guestroom. Their modern all American made furniture adds a touch of sophistication to their room design and unlike most hotels, they've incorporated ample USB ports and electrical outlets into every headboard and desk as they know the importance of staying connected to loved ones and colleagues. Their stunning new bathrooms feature spacious showers with imported Spanish porcelain tile, frameless glass shower doors and relaxing rain showerheads. For over 2 decades, they have been committed to offering their guests a quality stay at an extremely competitive rate. Their excellent reviews and awards, including the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, attest to this. Stay with them and see how easy and stress-free traveling can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing