We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 for effort”
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and found that this place is really trying to punch above its weight. They have an outdoor patio area on the second floor and a smoking area on the roof. Also little pictures beside the room numbers and they let you print your boarding cards for free. These are things you don't see at most hotels. The staff were excellent especially Mike. The shuttle bus was prompt and efficient. Very close to the Bart station which is also a major plus. With a huge amount of overpriced hotels in San Fran you could do a lot worse than stay here. They are really trying hard here to ' go the extra mile' here and that's to be admired.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 885 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have stayed twice this last monthin Millbrea, Ca., leaving our car, while we were gone to other states.
The place is clean, great rooms with everything, bed so comfortable, and the staff friendly and accomadating(especially Mike), You cannot go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy and the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madamesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed at the Dylan overnight prior to a flight.
Rooms pleasant, price is right.
I dealt with three different people at the desk, on three different shifts. They were all superb: friendly, helpful, cheerful. Do not remember the name of the woman on the days shift, and the evening and night shifts were Lajos and Mike. All very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvandersalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Ideally located within minutes of free shuttle to SFO airport. Clean, comfortable queen bed with good bathroom accessories. Wide range of morning breakfast choices. Very good Sushi restaurant next door ! Nearby commuter train and freeway access to Silicon Valley.

Room Tip: Request room away from street traffic / noise. Suggest rooms on second floor east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fwaffarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We travel a lot and want to settle on a hotel near SFO when we return from our trips. This is an upgraded Motel 6. I payed for the newer room and the rate was not cheap. I can't imagine staying in the older side of the motel. It is an old motel with someone trying to make the lobby and grounds nice, which is great but you don't sleep outside! After spending nearly 170.00 I would not advise anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay more for the quite area otherwise there is an outside corridor from your room wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDylanSFO, Owner at The Dylan at SFO, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We thank this guest for taking the time to write their first review on TripAdvisor as they have traveled extensively but never written a previous review. We feel it important to reply to the comments made. There is not an older or newer section to the Dylan at SFO. It was all constructed at the same time. All rooms have just finished being completely remodeled with all new guest room furniture and all new bathrooms. All guest rooms have pillow top beds with 2 choices of pillows to insure that each guest receives a comfortable night sleep. The rates at the Dylan vary throughout the year as they do at all hotels. The pictures on our website accurately reflect the product that we offer. Of course, it is ultimately the choice of each guest as to whether to book a reservation at our hotel based upon price, location, and value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent two nights in this hotel. It is a little gem!! The location is excellent, 5 mins shuttle transfer from SFO. The shuttle is free. Check in was quick and speedy. The room had 2 double beds in it. It had been recently decorated. The bathroom has a lovely shower and the beds are so comfortable. The hotel is literally a 3 minute walk to BART station which provides quick access to the city centre. The immediate location of the hotel looks a bit seedy but is actually fine. Continental breakfast provided was lovely and coffee was available all day.
We had a very early morning transfer to the airport. The transfer was really quick but when I went to check in , I realised that I had left my passport and a lot of cash in a money wallet on a table in the foyer of the hotel . Panic stations set in!! I saw myself missing my flight. I immediately rang hotel and spoke to the lady who checked us out. She had my wallet. I jumped into taxi, rushed back to hotel and got my money wallet with passport and cash all safely enclosed. I was in such a state if anxiety that I was going to miss my transatlantic flight that I never got the ladies name but she was working at 4.30 am on the morning of November 3rd. I never even said thank you but may I take this opportunity to say a big thank you to all the staff in this gem of a hotel but especially that lady.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eimear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly situated by the BART and across from a variety of shops.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was perfect! It had avert thing we expected and more!
Breakfast was good!
I would recommend to anyone that was visiting San Fran from out of town.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank acioffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Millbrae
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range: $111 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan at SFO, proud winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, is a newly remodeled 58 room boutique hotel. They are conveniently located just 1 mile from the San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and feature a free SFO Airport shuttle bus to and from the airport. They are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART/CalTrain station, gateway to downtown San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Our delicious complimentary breakfast features hot items that change daily, including: bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets, casseroles and potatoes. We also offer other tasty options: fresh waffles, fresh baked muffins, scones, danishes & cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels & cream cheese, toast, hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Complimentary fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea are available the afternoon. In 2017 The Dylan Hotel at SFO brought back mid-century modern with contemporary vibes through their recent remodel of the exterior, lobby, reception and breakfast room. The entrance is encased with eco-friendly siding and accented with a retro-feel hexagon patterned coreteen steel. Step into the lobby to the sound of subtle electronic jazz music quietly playing overhead as you take in the natural elements of the living wall and tree trunk table. Head to the reception, and enjoy the San Francisco murals behind the smoked glass and wood-grained shelving while checking in with our guest service agent. We offer complimentary Nescafe cappuccinos to enjoy while showing off your Scrabble skills on the giant wall game. In the morning enjoy a buffet breakfast featuring housemade granola, fresh baked muffins, waffles or some eggs and sausages along with many other goodies. While enjoying breakfast or waiting for our complimentary SFO airport shuttle, sit and admire the bigger than life sixties vibe wall art with starlet beauties and super heroes or just watch the wall mounted tablets streaming hip, retro movies. Their newly renovated guest rooms display the dreamy artwork of famous surrealist photographer, Thomas Barbey. Each guest room features all American made furniture with built-in USB, plush pillow top beds, 40 inch LED and much more. The newly renovated bathrooms have imported Spanish porcelain tile and rain showerheads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing