We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location to trains and general stores”
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The location of the hotel is ideal for quick trips around the Bay area with both the BART and the SouthCal train stations just 5 minutes walk away. CVS, Lucky supermarket and Walgreens are just across the El Camino Real for essentials like water and snacks. A free shuttle is available to SFO airport. The staff at the reception are more than happy to help and give recommendations. Ask to stay in the deluxe rooms which opens into an inner corridor in the new extension. Most of the rooms are motel stay and opens out to an outside corridor, which may not be that appealing to travelers from the Asia. I strongly recommend this Hotel if you are just going to be in the Bay Area for a day or two or if you have an early flight departing from SFO. The single elevator was broken during my visit so I had to carry my luggage to my second floor room but that's a minor irritation. Morning Breakfast is simple but there is a Café Roma just across the road with great coffee and pastries.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors and the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 874 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Dylan reminds me of the B&B's we stayed in while touring through Austria and Germany. It's not luxurious in the typical American sense (no lounge with live music, no pool, no chrome, no mint or cookie on the pillow). Instead they put their money where it counts, in the clean and well kept facility, understated but efficient front desk service, excellent breakfast buffet (hard boiled eggs, cold cuts, make-your-own waffle stations that turned out surprisingly good waffles, yogurt, coffee, bagels and cream cheese, and much more), complimentary computer station for printing out boarding passes, and free shuttle service to/from the airport.

And the location can't be beat; it's an easy and safe 4-5 minute walk to the BART station (in the hotel lobby you can pick up BART schedules, and tourist maps of San Francisco which includes route info for the BART, metro, cable cars, etc.). It is also across the street from a Walgreens, CVS, grocery store, coffee shop, a Japanese sushi restaurant (which we didn't try), and Hong Kong Flower Chinese seafood restaurant (which we did try; it's outstanding on an international scale).

Surely there must have been some bad points? Really, the only thing I can think of is that the double bed was on the small side for two adult-sized occupants (my husband and I are not big people either at 5'6" and 5'4"); we kept rolling into and kicking each other accidentally. We would have been much more comfortable in a queen sized bed, but that wasn't an option at the Dylan (to be fair, larger beds weren't an option at the other hotels I considered in the area either; I wonder why?)

Overall, I enjoyed our stay at the Dylan very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunhat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here mid-May with a school group using five rooms. The staff worked to make our stay nice, answering questions, making recommendations about the area. Checkin was easy, rooms nicely done, breakfast good, cleaning crew friendly and busy, nothing for us to fuss about. The location is great being the closest motel to SFO BART station. You can use the motel shuttle to get back and forth or take BART (stop is only a block away, 5 minute walk). We love the location! We always use BART to go to downtown and enjoy the ride. It is simple and easy to use. Save money staying here and using BART! Downtown parking runs about $40!!! Stay here and ride in and back for about $10!!!
Breakfast was make your waffle, breads, meat & cheese, cereal, juice and coffee. Seating might be tight but just take it to your room.
I never heard anyone of our group talk about hearing noise from other rooms. It's possible, but most hotels are noisy, aren't they? I mean you're around a bunch of people!
Rooms are clean and comfy - love the beds. Easy to sleep on. Isn't that why you select a motel? This is a great location for rest in between flights. (If you are already grumpy from traveling take it easy on your expectations.) Or use it for your base for sightseeing a few days, or for your business trip. Save from staying downtown SF!
Neighborhood is safe and mostly residential with stores and shops for locals. Two supermarkets close by, Walgreens across the street, Chipotle, Taco Bell, In-N-Out Burger, Thai, Chinese, all kinds of eating places close by.
Easy to walk over to the BART for traveling across the city, with CalTran right there too. You might hear the train bells once in a while but engine noise was not a problem.
Have stayed here several times over recent years and not disappointed this time either! Enjoy returning here and seeing the upgrades they seem to be doing continually. Place is lovely, well-kept, convenient for travelers, inexpensive, safe, and friendly. Give them a chance and enjoy a nice place to lay your head.

Room Tip: Rooms with interior hall are larger (cost a little more, but worth it), all other room doors face ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoachSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My family and I came in on a late flight to San Francisco on a week night. Our plan was to drive to Yosemite the next day, but when we landed we were hungry and tired. Thanks to Trip Advisor, we had researched hotels that were near the airport and the Dylan sounded like it would suit our needs. I was glad that I paid attention to the reviews that spoke about taking a deluxe room that was off of an inside corridor. We wanted to make sure that we would have a comfortable quiet night’s sleep. The Dylan did not disappoint us. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious enough for the 4 of us. Breakfast the next morning was of average quality and included the usual assortment of cereal, yogurt, toast, fruit and make your own waffles. Overall, however, staying at the Dylan was a good experience.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money if you can afford it to reserve a room off of the Interior corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Dylan looks like a large chain motel repurposed by its current owners. Seems like this operation may have stopped working at its best. Before starting, I think note has to be made that this is a motel with its rooms and picture windows facing onto an exposed outdoor corridor, which is lousy for privacy and poor for quietude. That said:

Upon checkin (4:30 PM), none of our three rooms was ready. While the search for new rooms was underway we asked for the quietest rooms possible and were told the hotel had no quiet rooms. The rooms we got were right next to the elevator and all its noises.

There was a pervasive strong sweet chemical smell, just like that you get from being near a hairdressing salon, in my room. It did not fade much with familiarity.

It was easy for me to hear the person in the next room talking on the phone.

There was hammering and construction going on throughout the afternoon we checked in. We had checked in to relax and nap. I called to ask when it would stop and the clerk said he’d call back with info. The phone did ring once about 10 minutes later, but no one was on the line. The hammering would continue until just before six. I decided to relax in a hot bath but there was no tub, just a shower enclosure.

There is clearly an effort to provide clean attractive rooms and nice amenities, but too much went wrong for this to be a successful visit.

Room Tip: The higher the better to get away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dual1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Dylan is located a block & half from the Milbrae Transit Center where the CalTrain will take you within a long block of AT&T Park or BART can take you roundtrip to the SFO Airport or into Downtown S.F. stops along Market Street. By then walking or connecting to MUNI streetcars or buses one can avoid paying the huge parking fees S.F. demands!! The Dylan itself offers free parking unlike most other downtown and SFO lodging.

The Dylan is apparently a former Travelodge built 30+ years ago and current ownership has probably done the best it can in updating the exterior. However, the room interiors have been effectively modernized with nice size showers, wide-screen tv and updated furnishings. Only drawback noted was background noise from thin walls and ceilings. A person showering upstairs sounded like we were visiting Niagra Falls with its roaring waters!! Luckily we were there for 1 night midweek in a Queen room so no big deal. Breakfast choices were varied enough but nothing cooked hot for you!! You could make a waffle with the pre-mixed batter provided.

Given its train/BART station location to save parking costs in the City and a nicely-decorated room for a modest cost of about $115 including tax (super for Greater Bay Area), the Dylan is deemed a value in an otherwise expensive city to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room--perhaps on the top floor(3 or 4 floors) as elevator is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaffgolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was in S. SF for a day long conference and just needed an reasonable hotel for a couple nights. Read the reviews here and booked The Dylan. I was not disappointed. The free shuttle every half hour to/from SFO airport was a big plus. I asked for a quiet room and was given one in the back. Room was clean and pleasant, decent wi-fi, comfortable bed, nice shower. No problems. There is a Walgreen's and grocery store across the street, and eateries all around. I was starved and ate at the Chipotle but later went for a walk and saw there are a gazillion Chinese, Vietnamese and Thai restaurants in the neighborhood. I would definitely stay here again if I needed a place near the airport.

Room Tip: There is a lot of traffic on the busy road so a room in the back is quiet enough if you crank up you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tx834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range: $130 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan at SFO, proud winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, is a newly remodeled 58 room boutique hotel. They are conveniently located just 1 mile from the San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and feature a free SFO Airport shuttle bus to and from the airport. They are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART/CalTrain station, gateway to downtown San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Our delicious complimentary breakfast features hot items that change daily, including: bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets, casseroles and potatoes. We also offer other tasty options: fresh waffles, fresh baked muffins, scones, danishes & cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels & cream cheese, toast, hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Complimentary fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea are available the afternoon. In 2017 The Dylan Hotel at SFO brought back mid-century modern with contemporary vibes through their recent remodel of the exterior, lobby, reception and breakfast room. The entrance is encased with eco-friendly siding and accented with a retro-feel hexagon patterned coreteen steel. Step into the lobby to the sound of subtle electronic jazz music quietly playing overhead as you take in the natural elements of the living wall and tree trunk table. Head to the reception, and enjoy the San Francisco murals behind the smoked glass and wood-grained shelving while checking in with our guest service agent. We offer complimentary Nescafe cappuccinos to enjoy while showing off your Scrabble skills on the giant wall game. In the morning enjoy a buffet breakfast featuring housemade granola, fresh baked muffins, waffles or some eggs and sausages along with many other goodies. While enjoying breakfast or waiting for our complimentary SFO airport shuttle, sit and admire the bigger than life sixties vibe wall art with starlet beauties and super heroes or just watch the wall mounted tablets streaming hip, retro movies. Their newly renovated guest rooms display the dreamy artwork of famous surrealist photographer, Thomas Barbey. Each guest room features all American made furniture with built-in USB, plush pillow top beds, 40 inch LED and much more. The newly renovated bathrooms have imported Spanish porcelain tile and rain showerheads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing