We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a great trip to wine country. We were expecting a very basic hotel close to the airport. For the price, I was hoping for clean. We got so much more. We were in a newly upgraded room with brand new fixtures, spacious accommodations and many extras. It was super clean. The grounds featured modern seating areas and new landscaping. Continental breakfast was good. Location for the traveler to SFO can't be beat. We dropped off the rental car in San Francisco and took the BART to the hotel. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tancros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 874 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was flying in to SFO from New Zealand and needing to be back at the airport the next day to catch a bus up to Sonoma County from there. Therefore just somewhere to crash was needed but also somewhere near public transport for a quick adventure in the central city without dragging my suitcase along. BART station( Millbrae) is a 3 minute walk.Easy.The Dylan was perfect- free shuttle to get me from airport and next day take me back. Really comfortable bed.The shower was a bit too powerful- slightly painful. Heat pump worked well to heat up the room, it was noisy so I turned it off to sleep.Lovely staff at front desk who made me feel so welcome and gave me great tips for catching the BART to Embarcadero Station ( $4.30) and then visiting the Ferry Building, eating a light dinner there plus an excellent coffee,and looking at the Bay Bridge lights.Breakfast in the lobby was downmarket( paper plates and cups, plastic cutlery) but plenty to eat and all for free! Thanks so much Dylan.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonymousAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I only had 12 hours to transfer, so I needed to find a place to take a break.
The Dylan at SFO is close from the airport and so clean!
Also, it gave us a great deal!
Mike at the reception was so so so great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S00Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Dylan used to be a Travelodge and it was barely acceptable then. Now rebranded and under new management, and with refurbishments under way (new large screen tis, new bed linens etc), the Dylan is a much better buy. Prices are good (around US$98) and the room I had, while small, was very clean and comfortable. There was a room safe, a really big plus. What makes the Dylan special, however, is its location- just a block away from the Millbrae station of BART and Caltrain. This means that if you don't want to rent a car you could use the Dylan as your base for a short trip to San Francisco and even the East Bay, as well as taking the Caltrain further south towards San Jose. There is a free shuttle to and from SFO every thirty minutes, and it runs 24 hours a day. A modest breakfast is included in the tariff (bagels, toast, cereal, boiled eggs, juice, coffee, tea and so on). The staff at reception vary from being competent, if rather distant, to excellent and very friendly. All in all, the Dylan is a really good bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDylanSFO, Owner at The Dylan at SFO, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We thank this guest for taking the time to write a review on our property. The Dylan at SFO has been under the same management for over 25 years. We separated from the Travelodge brand over a year ago as we felt their brand image was not up to our level of standards and quality. In an effort to deliver the most pleasing stay possible, we are constantly making changes and updates to our rooms—this includes the addition of 40 inch LCD televisions, Simmons pillow top beds with duvet coverlets, a choice of down feather or firm foam pillows, new desk chairs and new wallpaper and carpeting. All of these updates were installed prior to our conversion into the Dylan at SFO. Since 2005, we have offered a deluxe continental breakfast consisting of: in-house-baked pastries, muffins and scones, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, meats and cheeses and within the last year, the addition of a fresh waffle station. We are currently remodeling all of our bathrooms from top to bottom with porcelain tile from Spain, frameless glass doors and Panasonic WhisperLite ENERGY STAR® fans. We started this process in December and expect to have all of the bathrooms completed by the end of May. We are also in the process of replacing all guest room furniture and artwork. The furniture is currently being made for us in the USA and will be installed by the end of May as well. We take great pride in offering an updated property, with friendly service, in a great location and at a reasonable price. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We started our west coast vacation here because it was economical and close to the airport, and then returned to it in the process of fleeing a dodgy looking place downtown. While a short drive from much of what we wanted to see, it was great. They have frequent shuttles and tours departing and its a couple of blocks from the BART station so you could theoretically stay here without a car and still see everything. The friendly staff gave us excellent directions to anywhere we wanted to go, the rooms were spacious and clean, it was easy to park the over-sized rental car we were saddled with (hint: in San Francisco, rent small cars. Parking is horrid otherwise) and the included morning breakfast was palatable and nutritious. Wouldn't write a sonnet about it, but it got the day started alright.

Room Tip: Either upstairs or downstairs is fine, we tried both and the sound proofing was good. Book ahead, pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookietheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I feel lucky to have found this hotel. It's great for late arrivals or early departures because it is so close to the airport. It's also great because it's next to the Caltrain/BART station, so you can easily get around the entire Bay Area. But then on top of that, it's a lovely boutique hotel with gracious service, luxurious bedding, and an excellent breakfast -- while at a reasonable rate. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariz0nagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Free regular shuttle service to and from SFO. Good size clean rooms. Simple but fresh and ample breakfast. All you could expect for the money. If you want train access to San Francisco or San Jose it is walking distance.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fong-Gha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range: $131 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan at SFO, proud winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, is a newly remodeled 58 room boutique hotel. They are conveniently located just 1 mile from the San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and feature a free SFO Airport shuttle bus to and from the airport. They are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART/CalTrain station, gateway to downtown San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Our delicious complimentary breakfast features hot items that change daily, including: bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets, casseroles and potatoes. We also offer other tasty options: fresh waffles, fresh baked muffins, scones, danishes & cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels & cream cheese, toast, hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Complimentary fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea are available the afternoon. In 2017 The Dylan Hotel at SFO brought back mid-century modern with contemporary vibes through their recent remodel of the exterior, lobby, reception and breakfast room. The entrance is encased with eco-friendly siding and accented with a retro-feel hexagon patterned coreteen steel. Step into the lobby to the sound of subtle electronic jazz music quietly playing overhead as you take in the natural elements of the living wall and tree trunk table. Head to the reception, and enjoy the San Francisco murals behind the smoked glass and wood-grained shelving while checking in with our guest service agent. We offer complimentary Nescafe cappuccinos to enjoy while showing off your Scrabble skills on the giant wall game. In the morning enjoy a buffet breakfast featuring housemade granola, fresh baked muffins, waffles or some eggs and sausages along with many other goodies. While enjoying breakfast or waiting for our complimentary SFO airport shuttle, sit and admire the bigger than life sixties vibe wall art with starlet beauties and super heroes or just watch the wall mounted tablets streaming hip, retro movies. Their newly renovated guest rooms display the dreamy artwork of famous surrealist photographer, Thomas Barbey. Each guest room features all American made furniture with built-in USB, plush pillow top beds, 40 inch LED and much more. The newly renovated bathrooms have imported Spanish porcelain tile and rain showerheads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travelodge
Millbrae Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing