We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed for 1 night and would happily stay longer. Great location for both the airport and transport to downtown san francisco. Clean rooms with above average amenities. If you don't mind travelling to get into downtown then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thompjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    349
    100
    31
    17
See reviews for
188
292
102
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is very near SFO International Airport. Right beside the train station so easy to get into the city in about 30 minutes. And price was about $100 per night cheaper than hotels on Fisherman's Wharf area. Some eating places handy. Very pleasant accomodation except the room lighting is rather weak. No problem with noise. Great breakfast food in a small dining area, and it's free with continuous hot drinks available. I especially enjoyed the daily home-made cookies also free. Nice homely touch. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBTurners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I came to this hotel for the 3rd time. And I'm very glad of my choice. As usually, my room was very quiet, very clean and functional. The bed is perfect and the toilet is well equipped. And also the breakfast is good. Some customers -I've read here on TA- are complaining about the bad manners of some employee. I do not agree, and anyway I think that they are just subjective opinions. If one person seems to be a bit curt, but at the same time is filling me with useful information about a restaurant to go for dinner; or if at 4.30 am that person kindly activate the coffee maker and offers some pastries though it is not breakfast time, well, this fact can only be described as: efficiency. The location is perfect: the Bart to downtown San Francisco and the Caltrain station is 3 minutes away. The airport shuttle is free and the trip takes only a few minutes. Millbrae is full of restaurants. The ratio quality-price is also very good: that's the reason why, when I'm passing through SFO I stop here at this hotel, where some refurbishing works are getting almost completed, with a new and higher standard level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were pleased to stay at the Dylan. However, if you are not looking for an airport hotel, but want to see San Francisco, add some $4.20 per person each way for BART train, which takes some 25 minutes to take you to city center. For the three of us it was additional $25 per day.
We live in Florida and Orlando hotels start at $29.99 per night, so paying $110-$150 per night is hardly considered a budget choice for us. Perhaps it is in SF?
True, I could not stay at YMCA on Turk Street for $25 per WEEK, as I did 34 years ago. They moved the YMCA somewhere else. However, Turk Street miraculously maintained its flavor and successfully scared both my wife and my 15-year old son. And that was during the day. Simply said - do not book any rooms in the zero-star hotels on Turk Street in downtown SF.
Returning to Dylan, the place was safe and even free from the freezing fog that engulfs SF in the summer evenings. We even found out from our friends/clients who lived 10 minutes driving time towards the city center, that Millbrae (where Dylan is located) real estate prices were much higher than those closer to the city, because of absence of the fog. To visualize this, the average home in our friends' neighborhood cost $1,000,000, while in Millbrae it would cost $1,200,000.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAELTAMPABAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Close to SFO (ca.10min. drive), airport shuttle provided by hotel (you can call from the airport with the courtesy phone- waiting time for shuttle only 10-20minutes), very helpful staff at hotel, amswering all my questions and requests! Hotel room equipped with everything needed, even ironing bord, and in very good condition, very clean.
Only thing that gave me a sort of "uncomfortable" feeling- and this is why I do not give the full five points- that the rooms are actually not IN a hotel complex (at least the ones I was in, at ground level), and travelling by myself it felt a bit weird that the door to the rooms would lead right outside, easily accessable from anyone walking by. But that was just MY feeling, it might not be an issue for someone else. Nevertheless, I was safe...
One word about Millbrae: This is actually a very nice town by itself! Has a lot of Asian influence, many very good (mainly) Chinese restaurants, at least 2 well equipped Wallgreens, some massage and foot reflexiology salons (I got a REAL traditional Chinese reflexiology massage!) etc. So it is worth walking down the main road and then take a left turn to the shopping street that is right behind it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bavaria23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Budget hotel ideal for airport overnighting. We did stay more than one night and enjoyed the easy access to BART, the great breakfasts and the airport shuttle. The locality around the hotel is a bit sparse but there is a supermarket, pharmacy and a couple of food outlets just across the road.

We can see why it scores well in ratings!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIDLANDS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We wanted to stay at a hotel close to the airport in San Francisco however did not want to pay high prices.
We took a chance and booked at the Dylan and we were quite surprised. Doesn't really look that great from the outside however the rooms are very nice. The best were very comfortable with nice duvets and linens.
Not really that much in the way of a breakfast. When we came down it was quite busy and no place to eat so we skipped it and ate at the airport. There is no charge for parking (which is an bonus). The front desk guy
could do with a little attitude training, if you don't like your job, then don't work at the front desk. Overall, I would
book this hotel again mainly for the convenience to the airport and the good prices.

Room Tip: If you want to use the computer in the main area, you have to ask the main desk attendant to get you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.2 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Property: The Dylan at SFO
Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family owned boutique hotel with newly remodeled guestrooms (2014) is conveniently located 1 mile from the San Francisco Airport (SFO) with free 24-hour SFO Airport shuttle bus service to and from the SFO airport. They offer free parking for your night of stay; however, no car is necessary as they are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART (rapid transit)/Caltrain station-your gateway to San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Aside from Their superior location, there are other perks that will make your experience with them even more special. Every morning guests will enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast featuring hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, tasty in-house-baked goods, freshly made granola, fresh waffles and so much more. Come back to the front desk in the afternoon to enjoy freshly baked cookies, tea and coffee. Talk to their friendly front desk staff about San Francisco tour recommendations, they are happy to assist you with planning. The Dylan is proud to offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to catch up on work or emails. Lounge by the fountain in their relaxing Tuscan themed patio complete with comfy seating and lantern lighting. They recently completed the remodeling of their guestrooms in 2014. They took an artistic approach to their new room designs and worked with famous surrealist photographer Thomas Barbey to select each piece of his dreamy artwork to display in their guestrooms. Look closely at the art and you'll begin to recognize icons from all around the world, including San Francisco. Each room is stylized to highlight the beauty of his work. If you enjoy unwinding in front of the TV, you'll love watching HBO on the 40 inch LCD flat screen TVs that they've provided in each guestroom. Their modern all American made furniture adds a touch of sophistication to their room design and unlike most hotels, they've incorporated ample USB ports and electrical outlets into every headboard and desk as they know the importance of staying connected to loved ones and colleagues. Their stunning new bathrooms feature spacious showers with imported Spanish porcelain tile, frameless glass shower doors and relaxing rain showerheads. For over 2 decades, they have been committed to offering their guests a quality stay at an extremely competitive rate. Their excellent reviews and awards, including the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, attest to this. Stay with them and see how easy and stress-free traveling can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing