We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, handy for SFO”
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed just one night so experience was limited. Great room, good price, good service. Nearby supermarket and restaurant.

The shuttle bus got me back to SFO for a very early start BUT BUT BUT, in common with one other review, the shuttle from SFO to the hotel was a nightmare. Nearly one hour fifteen minutes wait time to get a shuttle bus for what amounts to a one mile journey - and then another extended wait whilst the shuttle driver micro-delivered passengers and their car keys individually to their rooms at an adjacent hotel. Someone needs to apply better business logic to this whole process.

Room Tip: Call the shuttle from the courtesy phone at the SFO stop before waiting too long. Beware excuses lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsultantIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDylanSFO, Owner at The Dylan at SFO, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We thank this guest for writing a review about our hotel. We do want to comment about the airport shuttle system. Unfortunately SFO does not allow any hotel to operate an independent shuttle so we share a shuttle with 2 other hotels. As soon as we receive a phone call from a guest, we immediately call the shuttle service for pick-up. Depending upon where the shuttle is on its route at the time of the call, we inform the guest that it will pick them up within 5-20 minutes. Then at that point it is a 5 minute ride to our hotel so all guests should be at our property no longer than 30 minutes from their call but often within 15 minutes. Also the Dylan Hotel is the first drop off point for guests. Unfortunately it appears that the driver for this guest neglected to stop first at the Dylan Hotel but instead went to the second stop thereby increasing the wait time for the guest. We have contacted the shuttle service to insure that this mistake is not made again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 874 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Let's start with the shuttle - called the hotel and immediately put on hold, waited 5 minutes. Hung up and called back, again before I could say anything I was put on hold for 6 minutes. Hung up and had to interrupt the desk clerk before he put me on hold again. The shuttle is a shared service with 2 other hotels, my first call to the hotel was at 9:25pm. We finally arrived at the hotel at 10:45pm. Bear in mind the hotel is 1 mile from the airport. The hotel room with king sized bed was big, the bathroom was outdated and small. Based on the service I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigosfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We ordered our rooms at Booking.com but when we got to the hotel, we saw that the room wasn't the one we ordered. The clerk said that the hotel has NO RESPONSIBILITY for what room we order at a that website. We ordered all our hotels from the website and never had that problem. So we asked him to change rooms but he said he can't so we asked for extra beds and he said he can't - "these are the rules". So one of us had to sleep on a mattress on the floor and another on the floor itself. The whole room was too small for a family. If you are going there, call them to double check.

Room Tip: Don't order on websites. Call them to order and make sure they got it right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Everyplacereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDylanSFO, Owner at The Dylan at SFO, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We thank this guest for writing a review on our property to bring to further light the problems that sometime occur when guests book rooms on a third party site rather than with the hotel directly. On booking.com it clearly states that the largest room that we have is a room with two double beds for an occupancy of 4. We can accommodate a 5th person in a rollaway bed if required. Under no circumstances can we accommodate 6 people in a room. Yet this reservation from booking.com arrived to us for 4 adults and 2 children. When the guest arrived at our hotel, our desk clerk informed the guest or our room size and limitations. He was not rude, he just explained what the hotel limitations are. He offered her the choice of a second room or to cancel the reservation. However, the guest was not flexible and demanded that we honor the booking.com reservation as it was sent to us. She wanted 2 rollaway beds fit into a room that cannot physically hold 4 beds. So at that point, all our front desk clerk could do was to offer enough bedding material and towels to accommodate 6 guests. If this guest would have called the hotel directly to book this reservation, we would have explained all of the hotel policies so that the guest would have been able to decide if our hotel could accommodate her needs. We cannot provide what the hotel does not have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Dylan is a great hotel if you want the following:
1. complimentary shuttle to and from airport (we were the first drop-off and last pick-up so shuttle ride was short)
2. short walk to basic shops and dining options
3. safe and short walk to the BART station
4. clean and tidy accommodation
5. free wifi.
The hotel is basic but good. If we need to stay close to San Francisco airport and within an easy commute of central San Francisco again, we will definitely choose the DYLAN.

Room Tip: Reserve a "quieter corridor" room for a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hataitans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was quiet, the rooms clean and large, and the staff very friendly. They also had a wonderful breakfast available before 6am, which was great since I had an early flight. The breakfast included waffles, cereal, granola (coconut, almond and cranberry), juice, toast, bagels, yogurt, etc.

The elevator permit expired back in March but I was told they were trying to take care of it but there was a backlog of requests for new permits.

I took the courtesy shuttle to the hotel from the airport and from the hotel to the airport. You can sign up for shuttles to the airport at 30 minute intervals (e.g. 6am, 6:30am, 7am) and they will come within 15 minutes of the time (e.g. 6am - 6:15am). My 6am shuttle arrive around 6:10am.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic location if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of downtown SF.
5 minutes from a BART station which will whizz you to downtown, 10 minutes from SF Airport .
Clean rooms , nice breakfast included, great free wi-fi connection. Across the road from a Lucky store with a great hot food selection. Lots of restaurants around.
You would be paying much more for a grim hotel downtown.
All in all a really nice stay.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back e.g. 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We only stayed 1 night here between flights. Arrived in from Las Vegas at 9.30 pm and followed directions on the hotel website re calling for free shuttle. Got given excellent directions on how to find shuttle pick up point and the expected timeframe for it to arrive (20 mins) plus what it looked like and what would be written on it - all easy to follow and it arrived as expected 20 mins later. Room was comfortable, on the small side but well appointed. Had a bit of trouble finding a hair dryer but it was stashed up on a shelf above the hanger space. Breakfast was excellent - one of the best we had on our 3 week trip, can't beat freshly made waffles and the option of berry syrup with them was a nice touch.

Were able to store luggage with them the next day while we headed into San Francisco city centre one last time. The BART and Caltrain are both in the same place about a 2 min walk away - go up the escalator for the BART which takes you much closer to Union Square if that is the area you are headed. Very easy to use - buy tickets at the platform, make sure you read the instructions re price from that station and then subtract dollars and cents from the $10 ticket that first comes up to get to the required amount ($8.60 I think). About 35 mins on the BART gets you to the bottom of Powell St just opposite the big Westfield shopping mall. There is an entrance directly into the food hall section of the mall from this station if you want it.

Our only hiccup at the hotel was our shuttle being late to pick us up for our flight home. We arrived back a little early and were offered an earlier shuttle which we accepted. This never turned up and the one we originally requested was 10 mins late as well. So make sure you allow plenty of time prior to check in restrictions, we were glad we had.

Others have commented on the great personal touch at front desk, we didn't find them particularly warm but they were efficient and did give excellent directions. Maybe this was because we were there such a short time. Despite this we would seriously consider staying here for a longer stay if we are back in SF sometime. The price is much cheaper than central city location even with the BART cost added on and the trains come very regularly plus a great free breakfast to start the day.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kiwidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range: $130 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan at SFO, proud winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016, is a newly remodeled 58 room boutique hotel. They are conveniently located just 1 mile from the San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and feature a free SFO Airport shuttle bus to and from the airport. They are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART/CalTrain station, gateway to downtown San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Our delicious complimentary breakfast features hot items that change daily, including: bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets, casseroles and potatoes. We also offer other tasty options: fresh waffles, fresh baked muffins, scones, danishes & cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels & cream cheese, toast, hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Complimentary fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea are available the afternoon. In 2017 The Dylan Hotel at SFO brought back mid-century modern with contemporary vibes through their recent remodel of the exterior, lobby, reception and breakfast room. The entrance is encased with eco-friendly siding and accented with a retro-feel hexagon patterned coreteen steel. Step into the lobby to the sound of subtle electronic jazz music quietly playing overhead as you take in the natural elements of the living wall and tree trunk table. Head to the reception, and enjoy the San Francisco murals behind the smoked glass and wood-grained shelving while checking in with our guest service agent. We offer complimentary Nescafe cappuccinos to enjoy while showing off your Scrabble skills on the giant wall game. In the morning enjoy a buffet breakfast featuring housemade granola, fresh baked muffins, waffles or some eggs and sausages along with many other goodies. While enjoying breakfast or waiting for our complimentary SFO airport shuttle, sit and admire the bigger than life sixties vibe wall art with starlet beauties and super heroes or just watch the wall mounted tablets streaming hip, retro movies. Their newly renovated guest rooms display the dreamy artwork of famous surrealist photographer, Thomas Barbey. Each guest room features all American made furniture with built-in USB, plush pillow top beds, 40 inch LED and much more. The newly renovated bathrooms have imported Spanish porcelain tile and rain showerheads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing