We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dim sum”

Hong Kong Flower Lounge
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
NJ, USA
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good dim sum”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Dim sum here is good - a bit better than the best I've had in NJ (and I'm Chinese).

Dinner is ok too- not the greatest, but good.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZonaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    49
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extensive but mysterious menu, terrible service”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Came here for an early dinner with relatives who'd just flown in to SFO. At that hour, there were still only a few customers. None of us could speak Chinese or had much familiarity with Chinese dishes. We needed help understanding the menu. Too bad! Service was surly, indifferent, unhelpful, slow, but constantly changing-- some one we'd never seen before would suddenly appear, bang an unidentified dish on the table, and vanish, never to be seen again. Staff members seemed to be hanging around chatting in Chinese with large family groups at a few other tables, but were of zero help to us. In short, a VERY disappointing experience. But not cheap.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you want authentic Hong Kong style dim sum, this is it”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

What else can I say? If you are really looking for authentic Hong Kong style food, this is one of the best in SF Bay area. They also have GREAT dim sum offered for lunch

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whchuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent food but poor service”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Well, it was New Year's Eve & it was crowded. Maybe that's their excuse. our party of 6 people ordered 6 different courses plus rice to share. Twenty minutes later, all we had was a cup of tea. After complaining several times they finally brought out 1 plate of shrimp which we nibbled on for the next 15 minutes. After more complaints they brought out 4 more plates, but 2 of them were things we had not ordered! Eventually we got the right foods but still no rice. The food itself was decent but we have had better Chinese food elsewhere. I doubt we will ever go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Check your Orders and Bill”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had friends from Sydney who had a lay-over in San Francisco and we decided to bring them here for dinner since it was close to the airport. I heard their lunch dimsum is good so I was expecting their dinner to be reasonably good, too.

Based on other reviews, they said their Peking duck is a house specialty. It was nicely presented with the crispy skin in a serving dish with hoisin, bun and scallions as traditionally done. However, there was no duck meat at all or we never got served the meat and we had to pay full price for the dish!

We thought seven dishes for seven people would be enough but midway through the meal, we had to request three extra dishes as everyone was still hungry. It took some time to get another waiter to get our orders. Finally, when the second set of orders arrived, they tried to serve us an extra dish which we did not order. The waiter was arguing that we did order the dish and I had to assert that no one in the table put the order. He finally acceded.

After dinner, we asked for our bill. I noted that the 15% gratuity was included in the final tally. We handed them our VISA and when the waiter came back with the receipt for signature, the bill had an amount writtten in the TIP to be added to the final bill. I had to argue back and forth with the waiter that we are being double billed for tips ( and the audacity to hand-write the tip again!). We asked him to check with the manager. He came back later with the corrected receipt grumbling that the cashier made an error. I do understand that sometimes mistakes happen but it is how one handles it that says a lot more about the restaurant.

What an embarassment to bring guests over. Never again will I set foot in this restaurant!

Helpful?
2 Thank SacFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Flower Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Flower Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing