We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Location is convenient: right off of the freeway, close to the airport & not too bad of a drive from the city. Right next to Caltrain and Bart.

The decor and layout is very modern! From the hotel lobby to the bar to the elevator with moving puddles to the showers with built in soap dispensers. Staff was really helpful and accommodating!

I was given a room on the top floor (6th) and despite some reviews complaining about the noise I think it was pretty good. I don't think I could've asked for more.
The beds were really comfy! 42" flat screen TV, free access to the fitness center, complimentary bottle of water & their free internet is great and I was able to get some work done while sitting at the bar! Overall, I was very pleased with my stay, no problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard / pool as they are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank licertune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're so thrilled to hear we met your expectations and that you enjoyed the full Aloft Hotels experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    350
    118
    38
    32
See reviews for
142
171
72
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here one night in November and was very happy with the experience. The location is not ideal for tourist stuff, but there's a beautiful run along the water from here that can take you for miles if you choose. The workout room is also impressive and there's a pool, but don't expect to get your laps in.

The bed was comfortable. The Bliss products include a shampoo/conditioner mix + shower gel in dispensers in the shower and a lotion + soap bar. Great products, but for us long haired gals, I'd recommend bringing a conditioner to compliment. Coffee/Tea set up in the room is decent enough and there's complimentary tea/coffee in the lobby too if you drink more than one tea bag in the morning. Breakfast selection is pricey.

Lighting throughout the property is trendy/hip/younger crowd focused. The lobby has loads of seating. Complimentary airport shuttle picks up where all the other ones do and drives to the Westin first; I just got off there and walked to the Aloft since I was the only one left on it.

Checkin took a bit longer than I hoped. The one gal at the round desk to your right as you enter (it does not look traditional, so don't look for it against a wall) was on the phone with a guest discussing something unpleasant whereby I stood there for a while until someone else entered the desk area and checked me in. It was a relatively quick check in after that; he looked up my SPG info which I hadn't used in years and found it after a couple tries.

I would stay here again; but it's SF and I love checking out hotels in the region. But if I were to stay right near the airport, I'd select this place over the Westin due to the focus on younger guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I missed my connection in San Francisco and had to find somewhere to stay. I was pleasantly surprised at everything about this property. The room was comfortable and clean. Very modern (I described it as shades of Ikea - pleasant). Personnel pleasant (it was after midnight when I checked in), and prompt, friendly service to and from the airport. I was able to check on my flight and print my new boarding pass. What more could I have asked for??? Good experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseHappyNOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to hear your first experience at a Aloft Hotel was a great one! We are glad we met your expectations and hope to see you again the next time your are flying in or out of SFO. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have been traveling to San Francisco on business for many years and usually stay at the Westin right next door. This time around I wanted to accumulate Starwood points but give Aloft a try after hearing much buzz about it. Upon entering the lobby, I noticed they had very limited personnel and facilities and upon spending a night I felt I was in an upgraded "dorm." No room service, intermittent front desk coverage, and spartan and impersonal rooms contributed to my less than ideal experience. If you want a hotel with limited services but clean and predictable accommodations, this could be your place. From my perspective, I will never stay there again and will enjoy the significantly better experience of the neighboring Westin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misterpepito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel may look nice but there is a very important reason why you should seriously consider NOT staying here.

I stayed at the Aloft for a single night because I was attending meetings at the adjacent Westin, which has common ownership with the Aloft. Around 6:15 am on Sunday I went down to grab an early breakfast but it didn't start until 7:00. I went back up to my room but the door key wouldn't work. They have fancy electronic locks where you just wave the card in front of the lock to open the door. I got another key from the front desk but it didn't work either, nor did the security officer's key. They told me that the lock's battery was dead and that they could not open the door until the maintenance man came in at 8:00. Meanwhile, all my stuff was in there including my laptop which I was using at the time. They offered me another room, though that wasn't of much use if I couldn't get to my stuff, and called the maintenance man to ask him to come in a little early. I told them I had an 8:00 meeting at the Westin and would at least not have to wear the clothes I slept in for that meeting.

So at 7:00 I ordered breakfast. It's a weird setup where you tell the front desk staff what you want, they enter it in the computer, and then one of them goes back and makes it. As it turns out the oven was broken and they told me it would take an extra 20 minutes because they had to use the bar kitchen. They offered me a $20 credit on my bill, which I mulled over, but by 7:55 rolled around they still couldn't let me in my room. I told the woman at the front desk that, considering the circumstances, I thought that they should comp the room. She said she would ask the manager.

I went to the meeting at the Westin and apologized for my appearance while warning people about staying at the Aloft. During the meeting I got an email from the manager, Allen, who offered not to comp the room but to give me 10,000 Starwood points. He also extended my checkout to 4:00, which I did appreciate. That afternoon I emailed him back saying that the points were of little use to me and that I did want the room comped.

I should point out that the staff at the front desk was as helpful as they could be, even though Manager Allen did refer to them anachronistically and slightly misogynistically as "the girls." You may be running a hip hotel but this isn't "Mad Men" and in the 21st century we refer to professional females as "women."

For me, being locked out of my room until after my meeting was an inconvenience and a professional embarrassment. But what if I had an early flight? Or if I had vital medication in the room? The Aloft has no way to change a battery during off hours. Let me repeat that--if the battery dies in the middle of the night there is no way for them to let them back into your room. No one is trained to replace them. One of the front desk staff said that batteries had gone out before, but this was the first time this had happened when the maintenance man wasn't around. That right there should have been a message to the management that it could also happen the other 128 hours of the week.

The Aloft should train one of their staff or one of the Westin staff on how to change the battery. Until they do this I highly recommend that you do not stay at the Aloft SFO.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank runchadrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I’m glad we were able to connect and resolve this to your satisfaction. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience we caused you. As you know, I have shared this issue with my team and as a result everyone is on the same page on how to resolve this efficiently if it should happen in the future. We can manually enter all rooms despite the battery dying. If you have further questions or comments, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. Chris, General Manager, coffutt@aloftsfoairport.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel near SFO airport. Beautiful and efficient at the same time with outanding features and great customer service. If you are in the bay area for a game or just a quick visit, this is the place to stay. Close to the airport and major freeways, this hotel is unique and it gives you all the amenities that the more expensive hotels provide at a very good rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Beware of parking fees! If you book through third party they charge $20 a night! Super close to airport and pet friendly which is good. Decor is cheap looking office style. If you like absolutely no soul, this is for you. Rooms are roomy though sparsely decorated. Front desk folks cheery and helpful, apologizing for parking fees and explaining directions to hidden features such as the fitness facility and the laundry room. Fitness facility is basic. Laundry available if you search for iron 6th floor. Basic needs are covered at this simple business stop over.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Francisco Airport

Property: Aloft San Francisco Airport
Address: 401 E Millbrae Ave, Millbrae, CA 94030-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a half-mile from the airport, the Aloft San Francisco Airport hotel offers guests bright modern rooms with all the amenities including complimentary wireless internet access. Overnight parking is $23.00 Per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing