We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very modern décor. The lounge area is like a night club. This can be OK if you aren't looking for the same business hotel experience. It's very close to the airport and has a shuttle that runs every 20 minutes. But you never hear the noise from the hotel - very quite rooms. If you like big breakfasts or lots of food options, this place isn't going to deliver. The staff is great and very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 582StephenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 840 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was the one of the last hotels we stayed at on a recent trip to America, and it compared surprisingly well to the other hotels. The shuttle was easy to find and no hassle, and we had a pleasant meal at the restaurant/ sports bar at the Westin next door. The first room we were given on level 6 was a little noisy due to rooftop air conditioning hum but they moved us to the 4th floor with no problems. We had a coffee maker in our room (look and learn, St Regis!) and the beds were comfortable. We liked the extra effort the hotel went to, from decor (such as the UV lit floor gel the lefts) to staff friendliness. Very well run hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyonHolidays_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

No frills hotel. Very loud and noisy in the lobby. Staff was helpful and went out of their way to help with problems. Good value near airport. Great free shuttle. Area to get drinks but a little costly. Bought chicken tenders from the bar, just so-so and said it came with cole slaw which I didn't get.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our associates were helpful. In our lounge we encourage our guests to mix and mingle and listen to music. We apologize if this was not a good experience for you. Our backyard is another lounging option that is much quieter – fully equipped with heaters if it’s evening. We hope you’ll give us another try in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It has been said that this place is oriented toward a younger crowd, and that's true. Despite being older, we loved it. The music (there was live music on a Friday night) was pretty good, and the sound confined to the lobby (the hotel hallways have doors that completely block the sound from the lobby).

Some have complained about the lack of food - but there are dozens of delivery places that will bring almost anything you want to your hotel door, and for way less than room service at a regular hotel (just google "food delivery Millbrae" and if you have a smartphone, download a food delivery app or just sign up for food delivery). We had excellent sushi one night, and Italian another.

Energetic youngsters were taking full advantage of the gym in the early morning hours, there's a dog park area (with baggies for pick-up) and they greet your dogs with a dog bed, dog bowls, placemat and dog treats. The carpeting and tile are the kind that are hypoallergenic, meaning they act as barriers to allergens and vacuuming is similar to what would happen on a wood floor.

Linens provided are well above average for a hotel, and the bath products are of better than average quality (but not provided in the wasteful plastic containers that you can take away - this is a greenish hotel).

Rooms are spacious enough, bed was *very* comfortable from our point of view.

Now - the noise issue has been brought up. Yep, you can hear planes taking off from nearby SFO. I was there on business, so I really had no choice about staying close to the conference hotel (which was next door). But, we simply wore ear plugs at night and had the TV on during the day or listened to music, and it was fine. The planes were not nearly as numerous during the wee hours.

Humans were more noisy than the planes, btw, as they always are, but this hotel was quieter than many. The fact that some tipsy patrons stumbled down the hall two times made us feel better about the fact that our dogs responded by barking a few times (but when standing outside the room, I couldn't hear our dogs - which was great). The dogs, of course, were never left unattended, but the staff greeted them so cheerfully and graciously (and they were welcome in the lobby, where there were snacks to buy and a cocktail lounge).

The snacks provided at cocktail hour looked good (we didn't try them). For purchase, as well, were various yogurts, cereals, microwaveable meals, and sandwiches. There is a toaster and a microwave in the lobby for all to use (and napkins, silverware, etc - we had packed some of our own food). Room had a small refrigerator, so we were all set for sandwiches, salads, etc., that we brought from home.

The bay is about a block away, and while not terribly scenic, it's still nice to have a green space (and the area does not have the kind of enormously impacted traffic/car scene that San Francisco and some of its neighboring communities have). For those travelling with pets, this is a great place. There's a free shuttle into SF itself, although I do not know if pets are allowed on it. We had planned to eat at one of SF's 500 or so dog friendly restaurants, but in the end opted for local delivery and were not sorry at all.

Front desk staff was adequate, hardly any wait for any question or service. Room was not tremendously expensive.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are best for pets - if you want it to be more quiet, ask for a room on the south s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeBiscuit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel was so new, the GPS didn't have it to find. I was very tired, hungry, and it was pouring rain when I arrived. The staff was great, and the accommodations was terrific. Even at the late hour I went to get food, and they had small plates that hit the spot. It was a very hip place to stay, would go back if I have the chance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotSpringslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It's noisy from happy guests in the lobby bar, and the food is nothing special, but otherwise this hotel is very good. It's only ten minutes from the airport. The rooms are really spacious, but mostly the re-design is done in a very smart way. The bathroom has a nice "anti chambre" that combines a closet and a large table with wash basin, semi-separated from the bedroom that has a spacious entrance and enough room for two windows, a desk and a large bed.

The interior details throughout the hotel are hip and colorful but are cheaply executed, however I think no one notices this except when you're an architecture pro. Don't worry about it and just enjoy the contemporary, informal and metropolitan atmosphere of this hotel. Much more affordable than the Westin right next door, and more fun!

Room Tip: There's a pool table in the lobby. Not my thing, really, but other guests had plenty of fun with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogiervanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is brand new, with comfortable rooms; and a swimming pool. The Front Desk staff
try really hard to make everyone happy. There are quick snacks and sandwich for purchase, if needed.

A great place to stay for 1,2,3 nights.

Room Tip: Sign up for the new Aloft smart card, which allows you to avoid Front Desk at all Aloft Hotels. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay while you were in town. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.4 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Millbrae
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Francisco Airport

Address: 401 E Millbrae Ave, Millbrae, CA 94030-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range: $125 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a half-mile from the airport, the Aloft San Francisco Airport hotel offers guests bright modern rooms with all the amenities including complimentary wireless internet access. Overnight parking is $23.00 Per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing