We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stay before flight out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed one night before a flight out of SFO in December. We were surprised to see that the Park/Sleep/Fly option was still available so for the price of a night's stay we were able to keep our car in their parking lot for 10 days. Only to find out why we were able to book so late... they forgot to close down the website for bookings (as the attendant relayed to us). It is next to the Westin so although the parking lot was packed (many cars had to be valeted), we were able to find a place to park our car in the Westin parking lot. He mentioned that the setup was new so I would expect they would close the website sooner.

Otherwise the Aloft was similar to other Aloft hotels we have stayed at ... affordable, modern, minimalistic, self-serve approach which is really all you need when staying a night before catching a flight the next morning or if you spend all your day and most of your evening out and about touring.

Being an airport hotel, there is a hotel shuttle that leaves every 30 mins and you don't have to call for the shuttle when you arrive from the airport... one is always on its way. It is also one of the closest hotels to the airport.

We did not hear any of the flight noise others have mentioned but I wouldn't say it was quiet. We were in a room with some noisy neighbors. I think it was noisy because the rooms were adjoining so I assume the noise was leaking from the neighboring doors. They were loud through to 11:30p which is late when you have an early flight the next day. But we called down to the front desk and shortly the noise ended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and your flexibility during your stay in December! We have worked through the kinks of our parking facility so these inconveniences will not happen in the future. We’re also happy to hear that you enjoyed the style of the hotel and our DIY approach. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 840 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at two Aloft hotels on a recent business trip - first time at this brand. The hotel is different in a good way -minimal, yet very comfortable rooms. The decor is modern verging on industrial. The service to a person was outstanding both at this location and in Denver. My only complaint is the lack of a restaurant. If you just need a snack, no problem. But if you are on an extended road trip ( as I was ), the ability to get a quick, good meal in your room or at the location can be crucial - especially if you are in a daily grind. True, there are options nearby -but that can be a hassle if time is critical. In short a great place to stay for a night, but you may need more in house conveniences if on a long road trip.

Room Tip: Rooms had very good sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wacomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

wacomick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel – we share all reviews with our associates to make Aloft SFO the best it can be. We agree that quick and easy meals on a road trip are a must! At Re:fuel, in addition to snacks we have sandwiches and other items that can be heated up for a meal. We’re in the process of getting more frozen meal options as well. If you’re looking for more of a sit-down option, our sister property across the parking lot, has a full-service restaurant. We hope to see you again soon when you’re visiting San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Such a nice change from the traditional, charmless, tired Four Points. Enthusiastic service, hip atmosphere, 24h healthy snacks, strong coffee, decent wireless and extra comfy beds. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Dunno that there's much variety among rooms. One size fits all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Aloft tried too hard. I was excited about the new hotel redone at SFO as this is my favorite place for off site parking. By appearance, the new, clean, and shiny, and the staff is wonderful. the trendy euro look is clean looking, but very cold. in reality the rooms and the hotel lack. I stayed at Aloft for sleep park and fly, for a zero dark thirty flight the next morning. The heater was so noisy everytime it went off, it sounded as if the entire until would clank out of the wall. the beds were comfortable but that did not matter with so little sleep in such a noisy setting.
the shuttle I use frequently with the off site parking. It is probably one of the oldest shuttle buses, clunky, uncomfortable to ride. the drivers are less than friendly, and rarely help. Fortunately, it is the closest hotel and shuttle to the airport, so the ride is not long.
Starwood Hotel Chain needs to smooth out a few areas with their new shiny Aloft hotel at SFO.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threedandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I'm a big fan of the Aloft brand in general as I believe it's one of the better affordable business hotel chains around. This property was actually an old Clarion hotel that was converted into one of Starwood's urban, contemporary-inspired business hotels. The furniture and overall style makes you feel like you are staying in an Ikea showroom. They stock the bathroom with Bliss products, but unlike the W-hotels, they have the shampoo and conditioner in a dispenser (bummer for all travelers who collect hotel toiletries). The website states that the rooms are only 315 sq ft, but keeping with the Ikea-theme, the hotel does a good job maximizing the amount of space in the room. My personal opinion is that Starwood should invest in the Aloft as its main business chain as opposed to the Four Points.

In terms of location, the hotel is next to Highway 101, but is not flushed right next to the Freeway, thus limiting the noise a bit. Nevertheless light sleepers should request for rooms facing East. The hotel is not walking distance to SFO, but is only about a 10 minute drive. On the other hand, if you do need to travel into San Francisco, the hotel is only a 15 minutes walk to the Millbrae transit center where you can take either the BART light rail (about 35 minutes) or CalTrain (50 minutes) into San Francisco. Since this hotel caters to the business traveler, the room rates are much lower on Friday/Saturday nights and at least $100+ less than other comparable properties in San Francisco.

One negative I do have to point out is the parking. The parking lot is not free ($20/night) and is also used being used for Airport Parking (this was the case when I stayed in September 2012). Regardless, unless you really need a car, I suggest avoiding it at all cost and either take a cab or public transportation. There's also a strip mall with a few chain restaurants (In-N-Out Burger, Panera Bread, L&L Hawaiian BBQ) that's within 0.5 mile (10 minute walk).

I rated Service as Average as I stayed on the 1st or 2nd week it opened and they were training some new people. For the most part, Starwood is known for providing good service. Management, if you are reading this, I really hope you got the front-desk trained. I felt they were a little too informal, but this can easily be fixed.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, request for rooms facing East (away from Highway 101).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWTraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftSFO, Manager at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear nwtraveler25,

Thanks for the 4 star review! We're ready to care of you again when you're in the Bay Area again. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Aloft is just about right for our needs. New, quite and clean go a long way with us, so our complaints are minor in comparison with the positives. Aloft has an outstanding location if you are coming or going from SFO and their shuttle they share with Westin next door can't be beat. We asked for a quite room away from the airport and they delivered. Dead quite. All the stuff in the room was well organized, but....

Arrived to unload luggage and move to long term parking. I told reception person what we were doing but he never mentioned that we had to pay $4 to unload and $20 bucks to stay overnight. This info would have been useful at the time we made our reservation.
Bed mattress not outstanding.
Only one chair in room. 2nd person has to sit on bed.
No free coffee at time of departure to kick off the day?
No WSJ to read or purchase?
No happy hour except on Sunday?

Great walking path along Bay across the street from the Westin.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BoulderNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftSFO, Manager at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear BoulderNut,

Thank you for the review. We're glad our friendly staff was able to take care of your requests and get you exactly what you wanted for your room. We do offer complimentary coffee in the lobby beginning at 6am and there is also the in room coffee maker as well if you want to save a few steps. We offer the USA today or the San Francisco Chronicle complimentary for your reading pleasure also available in the lobby. Come back and stay with us again when you're in the Bay Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I love to try new hotels because it is cleaner than others ... materials (carpets) being new.
The hotel is OK, hip. The pool table is a nice touch. Being an airport hotel, I do not understand why they do not think about complementary coffee ... being served at all times. I payed a room with breakfast and they told me I was leaving to early (so no breakfast and not a single coffee eather). Flights arrive and leave at all times. Please consider tourits needs. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kovie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.4 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Millbrae
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Francisco Airport

Address: 401 E Millbrae Ave, Millbrae, CA 94030-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range: $126 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a half-mile from the airport, the Aloft San Francisco Airport hotel offers guests bright modern rooms with all the amenities including complimentary wireless internet access. Overnight parking is $23.00 Per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing