We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Unfortunately, we were disappointed with our stay. This was our first time staying at a Fairfield Inn but thought it was a safe bet because of the Marriott name. The location was the best part. Many good local restaurants within a few blocks. Hotel staff has a map available and will offer suggestions to help you find a restaurant. The room and hotel were very clean. The best part about the self-sevice breakfast buffet was that it was included in the price of the room. It would have been easier to accept if they didn't try to offer hot foods. The bacon was so thin you could see through it and the scambled eggs were fake. The next mornig had sausage patties that were okay. The buffet line was cramped and difficult to navigate especially when the kitchen staff of one was trying to come out of the kitchen. The door was right next to the bread and toaster where people would be standing. The kitchen staff would open the door and require you to move out of the way so they could get through. Not an ideal situation with people reaching around each other to get to food like it was their last meal. Bread was left in the toaster as I waited to put my toast in. I finally got tired of waiting and decided to pass on the toast. As I was finishing my breakfast, I noticed a hotel staff member walk in and take the toast and walk out of the dining area. So, that was the reason the toaster was unavailable. As I entered the lobby, I noticed this person working ther front desk, answering the phone, checking out customers and eating her toast. Short on staffing? Not the Marriott image I always had. Now to the room. We had a king room. The living area was too crowed with a desk, TV stand/microwave, sofa, chair, two end tables and coffee table. Get rid of the chair, coffee table and one end table. The one-cup coffee maker was in the bathroom. It appeared this was because there wasn't an electrical outlet near the TV stand/microwave, which had plenty of space. Think of all the challenges associated with making one cup of coffee at a time, in the mornig, in the bathroom! At least the coffee aroma doubled as an air freshener. The heater/air conditioner wall unit was not the type you could set at a certain temp. You had to guess where to set the dial at blue for cold, red for hot. As the air blew out and up, it would blow the window curtains open. So, you had to decide if you wanted the public to see you or if you needed the air or heat.There were 2 flat screen TVs with Direct TV (one in the crowded living area and one on the dresser in the sleeping area). The two areas were seperated by the bathroom door that opened outward. You had to have the bathroom door completely open or closed, otherwise it became an obstacle to get by or prevented access to the closet. Walls and floor were thin. We woke up and went to sleep with the heavy feet in the room above us. There was just one coin operated washer and dryer on the third floor. It cost $3.50 for one small wash load and $3.00 for 45 mimutes of dryer use. Even with the high price, people were waiting to use the washer and dryer. I guess we were lucky to have one available. Yes, there was same day dry cleaning services, but that was too pricey. The elevator seemed to be on it's last leg. Very slow and noisey. In summary, the hotel was clean, service was good at the front desk, free reliable airport shuttle, but it just fell short of what we expected from a hotel with the Marriott name. You could probably do better at the Best Western down the road. The pictures on their web site are accurate.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th floor so you don't hear foot steps from the room above you. Avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2KTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice250, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank-you for your stay and comments. We thank-you for your very detailed comments. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and greatly appreciate any guest feedback that can assist us in such improvements.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 457 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

I missed out on a connecting flight, so I came here to use a day room. Check in a fast and efficient, and had immediate access to breakfast. My only criticism would be how they try to cram everything in such tight space. Surely, there is a fitness center and a swimming pool, but the room is crammed with treadmills, and the swimming pool is only big enough for skinny dipping. After all, sport facilities are the appendix of hotel facilities. The room is modern and clean and has two TV's each, one in front of the sofa, and the other in front of the bed, which would be suitable for families with children, or friends who don't want to get into each other's faces. Across the hotel were some restaurants and stores, which I haven't explored due to time constraints. BTW, internet is complementary, so no extra $10 required.

If a day room experience was this great, I am eager to see how an overnight experience would deliver. Would definitely give this place a try the next time I come to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien_Holloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel is modern & clean. A few minutes of walking gets you to the BART Milbrae station...it's about a 15 minute ride into SF. Debbie at front desk provided great service. Lots of stores & restaurants in the area to easily walk to.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Tampatony78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Due to lost luggage on a trip from Atlanta through DFW and on to San Francisco, we had to change plans at the last minute to stay near the airport so we could get out bags on the first flight the next morning. So, we were "walk-ins" and I have to say they treated us like long lost friends. When we didn't have any luggage, the clerk asked and, when she heard, discounted the room by $30 and provided us with shaving cream, tooth paste, tooth brushes and the like - all at no charge.

It was so refreshing to know that there are still people and businesses who have some compassion for their fellow man. I will stay at this hotel any time I need to be in the Bay Area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardman760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got an excellent deal on this hotel, so we opted to stay here on a recent girls' weekend to SF. We loved it.

Check in was smooth and easy, the young lady working the front desk was very knowledgeable and helpful, and the room was very roomy and clean, with everything we needed.
The hotel is within walking distance to the BART station (which was very convenient), as well as a convenience store, some restaurants, and a bar. There's also a fast food restaurant right next door.

They served free breakfast each morning: usually it consisted of eggs, sausage, various cereals and breads, yogurts, etc., along with coffee, juice, and milk. Perfect to grab a quick bite before heading out for the day.

I'd stay here again, no question. Great value, lovely staff, and great location, if you're not insistent on staying in San Francisco proper. We really enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor; easier coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Avoid if possible.
It is not worth paying $180 per night.
Shuttle to the SFO late for more than 20min and no apology.
Bad experience.
Location is good.
Room not clean.
Poor quality.
I will not use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushi-suki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice250, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

On behalf of the entire staff at the Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites, we would like to apologize for your unfortunate experience. We will be investigating this matter as our hotel prides itself on both customer service and product. Our shuttle does run on a strict schedule. At times, there can be a delay if there is a traffic issue at or en route to the airport. However, we pride ourselves on an on-time arrival rate of about ninety-five percent. As for our rates, you will notice that we are competitive against all other hotels that are in the area. Unfortunately, San Francisco hotel rates can be expensive due to all of the costs of doing business in the San Francisco Bay Area. We hope that you give us another opportunity to earn your business.


-Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We walked here from the BART station the night before we needed to depart from SFO! It was an easy walk and seemed safe!

First off, the girl at the front desk was FANTASTIC! They were having problems with the business center printer, so she turned around a computer at the front desk and let me use it to print off our boarding passes for the morning! She also made us fresh coffee when we came back from dinner!

The rooms were modern, updated, and clean!!

The outdoor spa was a welcome retreat after walking 5 miles around San Francisco that day. It was hot, clean, and there were plenty of towels on the rack!

The airport shuttle was on time, and the driver was friendly!

Great hotel and awesome staff! If we're ever in SF again, we wouldn't hesitate to come back! We travel VERY frequently, and will be looking into other Fairfields in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InOurHappyPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.7 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Millbrae
616 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae

Address: 250 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range: $124 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located just one mile west of San Francisco International Airport and twelve miles south of Downtown San Francisco. The property is within minutes of popular attractions such as Candlestick Park, AT&T Park, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Union Square, and the Golden Gate Bridge. Silicon Valley and Oakland are only twenty minutes away.Complimentary amenities with each stay include Fairfield Inn's signature Early Eats Breakfast Buffet, free airport shuttle service and free printing, faxing, and copying services in our Business Library. All of the hotel's guestrooms are oversized and have a separate living and sleeping area that are decorated in warm contemporary colors. Each room is equipped with free high-speed internet access, two 32" flat panel televisions, a microwave, a refrigerator, and a large executive desk with an ergonomic chair. After a hectic day of travel or business, guests can unwind in the hotel's therapy outdoor whirlpool spa or workout in the hotel's fully equipped executive fitness room. The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott's also within a very short walking distance to both historic Downtown Millbrae and the Millbrae BART and Caltrain Station. Historic Downtown Millbrae has a large collection of boutique and antique shops, restaurants, spas, national retailers, and entertainment. The Millbrae BART and Caltrain Station provides convenient and inexpensive Caltrain and BART train service to Downtown San Francisco, Oakland, Berkeley, and the Silicon Valley. Additional recreational activities such as golf, biking, hiking, rock climbing, and sailing are nearby. San Francisco and Napa tours can be booked from the hotel with free round-trip tour pick-up and drop off service from/to the hotel. Park Stay and Go Packages are available that include a one night stay with all amenities plus up to fourteen days of additional parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport/Millbrae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport Hotel Millbrae
Quality Inn Millbrae
Quality Hotel Millbrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing