We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly comfortable and charming”
Review of St. Bernard Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Bernard Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Mill Creek B&B and Inns
CA
1 review
“Incredibly comfortable and charming”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We just returned from the most wonderful 3 day/2 night stay at St. Bernard Lodge. Invited by friends to share a special, snowy New Year's celebration, we were amazed by the warm hospitality of Jim and Sharon, the innkeepers. The Lodge, although upgraded with modern conveniences, retains its early 20th century charm. Every need of ours had been prepared for in advance; every request was graciously fulfilled. This is a bed and breakfast, not a hotel. Check their website for the details. We are planning a return trip!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRussellCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    10
    1
    6
See reviews for
19
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2009

My husband and I needed a get away before the hectic school year began, as we both teach elementary school. We rode our Harley from Reno and pulled into the drive...we were a little cautious, as the property looked like it was being renovated....walked in and immediately felt like we were at home. The owners were amazing...cooking, visiting, taking time to teach us cribbage. The food was absolutely amazing...we ate so much while we were there...all well worth it!! Quiet, great place to hide away for awhile. We tell all of our friends about it...one of the best short getaways we've ever had...we'll come back!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doublenott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLBowman
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Jim and Sharon were fantastic. We had a large group of people for the weekend and they met all of our needs and more! I am enthusiastically recommending St. Bernard Lodge to all my friends and family. We are planning another trip in a couple months. It was clean and well maintained, very friendly and the food was so good, I put on at LEAST 10 pounds. Jim and Sharon bent over backwards for us!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMurphy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We couldn't disagree more with the previous review - the owners of this establishment were charming and went out of their way for us. It's cozy, bucolic, and beautifully maintained. And the breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This place has a country, rustic atmosphere that is kind of cozy. All the rooms are upstairs, above the restaurant and bar which was closed to the public since we were there during the week. One thing I liked about this place was that the inn keepers were willing to serve dinner and drinks to guests even though the restaurant was closed to the public. The breakfast they make is also very good. The problem is, the floors are very squeaky and the walls are super thin and I could here every step and spoken word from the other guests. This kept me up each night. I also remembered why I don't like sharing bathrooms with other guest. There are no private bathrooms here, only two shared bathrooms and only one with a shower. It was very inconvenient to wait for bathrooms, especially for the shower. And when I finally got in the shower, it was filled with hair. Yuck! This place isn't for me but I could see how some people wouldn't mind it. There are better lodging choices for the same price down the road in Chester.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMJCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

The owners/managers of this place have to be the rudest people we have ever met. Most folks in this quiet mountain area are extremely friendly but not at St. Bernard. Food was so-so and overpriced for being frozen

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oregon_Osprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Spent a wonderful, relaxing weekend at the St Bernard Lodge. Our hosts, Jim and Sharon, were friendly and welcoming, the lodge was clean and tidy, the food was incredible. We're already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcfeige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Bernard Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Bernard Lodge

Property: St. Bernard Lodge
Address: 44801 State Highway 36 E, 10 Miles West of Chester, Ca - 15 miles from SW entrance of Lassen Park, Mill Creek, CA 96061-9722
Location: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Bernard Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Bernard Lodge is located close to both Lassen Volcanic National Park and Lake Almanor. It is full of history and turn of the century decor. All rooms are country casual with knotty pine interior. The lodge is a great place for individuals, families and small groups to enjoy the outdoors and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your St. Bernard Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing