We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place near Lassen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Bernard Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mill Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Bernard Lodge
Save
You added St. Bernard Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Mill Creek B&B and Inns
Aptos, Ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place near Lassen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

25 minutes from Lassen Volcanic Park. Very nice people, FANTASTIC food, both at breakfast (included) and dinner (not, but reasonably priced). The landscape on back of lodge is very nice. There is a hot tub, but I didn't try it. The lodge is right on highway, so there is some traffic noise, but it is a lightly travelled road. Room was fine, be aware that this is a bed & breakfast, not a hotel. You do hear your neighbors moving around, going down the stairs etc. Also, be aware that there are no bathrooms in your room- you share two bathrooms with the other five or six rooms. There is a sink in each room which makes it easier. It was never an issue while I was there (two nights), there always seemed to be an open bathroom. It was a nice place to stay while exploring Lassen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChester, Owner at St. Bernard Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed our food. Thanks for taking time to write a review. Hope you will stay with us again when visiting Lassen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    20
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
15
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We (me and my wife) had stayed here for the labor day weekend a couple of years ago. This was perhaps the most relaxing weekend we've ever had.

There were a lot of cancellations because of weather that weekend (it snowed). Only one other room was occupied apart from us. The manager is great. They have a really nice bar and the best chef. The food was absolutely amazing.

This was our first time at a BnB. They had two shared restrooms and the rooms were a bit small but the service and the setting is great.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0utoftheloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChester, Owner at St. Bernard Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for the review. It is time you made a return trip to the lodge and Lassen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This place is marvelously funky, with excellent food and drink and helpful and friendly staff. It provided the perfect end to our long weekend at Lassen Volcanic: nice wine, our first TV (at the bar of course!), hot showers and flush toilets. The hot tub was a bonus treat, as were the nature walks both on and off the lodge's property. If you find yourself in the vicinity of Chester, indulge in a stay at St Bernard!

Room Tip: The rooms to the back are quieter as they are away from the main road. And save room for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChester, Owner at St. Bernard Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Carole thanks for staying with us, hope you will stay longer next time. Hope traffic was not to heavy on the way home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have driven by the St. Bernard Lodge several times in the past and it was a huge mistake! Last night my family and I stopped to check the place out. It is great inside and the dinner we had was fantastic! The owners were very friendly. The clam chowder was delicious as well as the steak and shimp scampi entrees. If you are driving past the St. Bernard Lodge on hwy 36, stop in and have a meal, maybe stay the night. You will not be disapointed. I know we will be back. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just spent a long winter holiday weekend here with my friends and we all truly enjoyed our stay. The owners are wonderful-- very accommodating to our needs and always cheerful and friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and while the decor is a little dated it's got a certain "cowboy" charm. The overall feel is very comfortable--- as if you're lounging in your own home. The included breakfasts were enormous and delicious. I was thrilled that I was served vegetarian dinner dishes made to order...Where does that ever happen? The room/food prices were right too. Lovely hot tub out back. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Almanor Peninsula, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I enojyed a delicious Valentines Day dinner last night. The owners Jim and Sharon made the evening very special. If you looking for good food with excellent service then the St. Bernard Lodge is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were expecting to stay somewhere in Chester when we found every motel in town was booked with firefighters and loggers doing cleanup from the Reading fire. We called the St. Bernard Lodge at 8:30pm! and the very gracious owner offered us lodging, even though they had no other bookings that evening and were looking forward to a well deserved night off. The lodge is beautiful, clean, historic, and wonderfully quirky. We love the different personalities of B&Bs, and we love St. Bernard lodge. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armstdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Creek
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn
12.7 mi away
Bailey Creek Cottages
Bailey Creek Cottages
#4 of 6 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Bernard Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Bernard Lodge

Property: St. Bernard Lodge
Address: 44801 State Highway 36 E, 10 Miles West of Chester, Ca, Mill Creek, CA 96061-9722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Bernard Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Bernard Lodge is located close to both Lassen Volcanic National Park and Lake Almanor. It is full of history and turn of the century decor. All rooms are country casual with knotty pine interior. The lodge is a great place for individuals, families and small groups to enjoy the outdoors and relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing