We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of us relish 'rustic'.”
Review of Mill Creek Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mill Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mill Creek Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Reviewed March 1, 2010

I'm biased - I grew up vacationing at my grandfather's cabin which is within walking distance of Mill Creek resort.starting in 1954. Mill Creek is a rustic place - built in the 30's - the area supported logging, and not much else. Don't go if you want amenities. If you want quiet, simple, beautiful and are a strong hiker this may be your place.
Trout fishing has always been fun and scenic. You can fish all day and not see anyone else on the more remote parts of the creek which is down hill from the resort...w-a-y downhill.
The cabins are as describeld in the other reviews, rustic but clean. 16 of us go back every year and enjoy being close to Almanore, Lassen Park, the creek and the tall trees.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank OldForester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2008

What a great place to stay, especially if you want to relax and enjoy nature. The cabins are wonderful and if you want to bring your own food to cook or barbecue you will save some money, though the cafe at the general store is pretty good.

Mill Creek is located close to Lassen Park, and we also toured Burney Falls (a bit of a drive, but well worth the time), visited the Lava Caves and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

If you can't sleep on a hard mattress, make sure to bring a foam pad to put on top of their bed.

We can't wait to return to this wonderful spot : )

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SJLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Mill Creek Resort is a classic rustic resort with small, clean cabins, large, beautiful trees, a scenic creek area, and plenty of spots to hike or explore back country roads. The fishermen in my family rave about the fly fishing. There are often deer strolling through the property. The resort is located in the northern Sierras, about 10 miles from the entrance to Lassen Volcanic Park and about 30 miles from Lake Almanor. It's not a "destination resort" in the modern sense of the term; it's a small, old-fashioned family-run resort with a campground, cabins, store and cafe, public showers, laundrey area and a post office.
We own property in the area, and have stayed at the resort several times over the years when our own cabin is uninhabitable, or we need extra space to accommodate guests. We love having the resort close by and hope to see it remain as is for many years to come.
P.S. I also drink regular old coffee, so I don't consider going without a mocha latte to be "roughing it."

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank HiDesertFarmGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

This is the really rustic part of Northern California. If you are looking for Starbucks and a spa, go to Sonoma. If you want clean fresh air and no crowds this is the place. The outside of the cabins reflect the fact that they were built in the thirties. The inside was delightful. The walls, curtains and background of the bedding were white, so you could tell at a glance that everything was very clean. The kitchen was the best equipped we've found in a rental. It was really impressive how well put together our small cabin was. (We rented the smallest one they had.) Although the bathroom was small, it had a medicine cabinet and shelf for our belongings and the best low flow shower head you can find.
A short walk from the cabins took you to the trail to Mill Creek and a lovely swimming hole. We went to Mt Lassen one day, swimming at Mill Creek, exploring around Chester and Lake Almanor, cooked all our own meals and stargazed in the evenings.
Would suggest you bring some paper towels and a small electric fan and prepare tounwind.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeeweeAlbanyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

We have stayed at several Resorts in the area. Mill Creek is not a Resort. A few old cabins with a small Restaurant is not a Resort! The Cafe is what you would expect in a small town, and Mill Creek is too far out of the way to enjoy Lassen Volcanic National Park. No credit cards accepted for a reservation! Not recommended. Better places to stay and play!

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hondacruiserguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

Mill Creek cabin is a great experience. Do they sell mochas? No, but it one of the finest places in northern California to fly fish. It is considered a "trophy" creek. Anyone who missed the creek didn't leave the cabin. I appreciate the rustic, no nonsense appeal. I personally don't need someone to make by bed for me so maid service not an issue. My family and I go as often as vacancies will allow. I guess what what I like the most is what the other reviews bitched about. Whenever a friend asks for a fun weekend, this is where they are pointed.

Stayed: November 2006
6  Thank DArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

The cabin exterior was cute: That's the best to say about Mill Creek. Cabin interior was updated in early 80's and shows years of use. No bathroom door, full-size bed is too short. Impossibly windy road to this remote location. "Cash or checks only" and no ATM for 25 miles. No maid service: change of towels and new soap costs $5.00. Full-sized bed was too short. Restaurant food was greasy!, spoiled coffee creamers, simple order was wrong, service is poor (staff will completely ignore you, even if no one else is around - and don't expect a smile). Early closure of restaurant / check-in / services means your hiking day will be cut short.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank toddinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Creek
15.5 mi away
Best Western Rose Quartz Inn
3.0 mi away
Highlands Ranch Resort
Highlands Ranch Resort
#1 of 1 in Mill Creek
96 reviews
9.3 mi away
St. Bernard Lodge
St. Bernard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mill Creek
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Creek Resort

Address: 40271 State Highway 172, Mill Creek, CA 96061-9711
Location: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mill Creek Hotel Mill Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing