We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have stayed here multiple times with different options. We love the insulated tents cause they are quiet but cozy. Not as much of a fan of the canvas tents cause you can hear everything around you. When we have have a personal bathroom we tend to stay longer. The community bathrooms are also not horrible but we tend to make an effort to use the restaurant or spa bathroom when we can cause they are just nicer.
The price is perfect for us and we love doing the spa options including the jacuzzi and sauna. I have only ever had amazing massages there.
We love that a good amount of the food prepared at the restaurant is grown there or organic. The food is always yummy and they always very gracious to our son. And when we have left overs, and we always do, we can take it to the community kitchen to store. We don't often use that kitchen for much other than left overs primarily cause we love the restaurant so much however when we do plan on using it we do tend to bring our own cook wear just cause it feels like maybe the dish's don't always get as clean as we would like but I think that's cause you hand wash any dish's you use after. But they are well stocked on cooking tools.
And the number one reason why we go there is because of how close to Yosemite it is and how friendly everyone is.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMathews590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 683 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Yosemite Bug several years ago - we have such fond memories of our stay we are now planning a return visit to the U.S hope to stay at the Bug just outside Yosemite with its spa and jacuzzi. The scenery was so breath-taking with the water falls and streams on the property. It was the best part of our stay in California.

Room Tip: We stayed in a log cabin which was very clean and spacious
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APNenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Bug Inn for a 3 night stay in September 2013. We had one of the log cabin rooms which was roomy and clean, with a large en suite bathroom. This was set on the side of a wooded hill and we had deer's visiting each day. The best part of this complex was the restaurant, the food was home cooked and great value, the drinks were the cheapest we had in the USA!! It was a very informal and relaxing stay and central to visiting Yosemite National Park. It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessie carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is my hostel of choice when visiting yosemite. Its still going to be a half hour to 45 minute drive to reach the park, but its a lot cheaper then staying in the park. For those without a car there is a bus service that leaves to the park from here. There is a restaurant onsite that serves a unique menu always changes day to day. The wifi is excellent here because you will have dead spots within the park.

Room Tip: if this is your first time suggest finding it in the daytime or the minute you start heading downhil...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I am so glad I met that redhead in San Francisco, who told us about this secret gem. As soon as me and my roadtrip buddy arrived, we were welcomed by 5 big deer 2 and baby deer on the hill behind and oh yeah how can I forget the Bear we saw just a few mile before arriving to the hostel.

I stay in a lot of hostels not many of them are like this, so secluded, so quite. There are Bonfires, local singers with guitars playing sweet melodies. Locals come over for a bite and drink in the hostel restaurant. If you are lucky to find fun friendly people like we did (there is a huge chance you will) you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apoorv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

we stayed here for a night before visiting yosemite. the room+bathroom were clean and cosy, and you are right into nature, so that birds will wake you up (what´s wonderful!) breakfast and dinner were freshly made and tasty! everyone was very helpful in planning our trip and there is also free wifi!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asialeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is a good location to visit the Yosemite National Park. We stayed here for 3 nights last September, we were booked into a insulated twin cabin. The cabin was really basic, the bathroom was quite far away to walk at night in the dark, in the end it was the same as camping, which was ok. This place also has a little Spa which was great to relax there after driving/walking all day. The cafe' is the best part of the whole complex, the food is amazing, very good and fresh. Staff at the cafe' is really helpful and friendly. The cafe' itself is nicely furnished and really relaxing even to stay after dinner to read a book. Here I've tasted the best food of my whole holiday in California.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vale7vale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
8.0 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,151 reviews
22.6 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,863 reviews
21.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
16.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
504 reviews
12.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Address: 6979A Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Location: United States > California > Midpines
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Midpines
Price Range: $69 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on its own bend along the stream, perched under a grove of black oaks, the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort has a magical feel. Located only 26 miles away from Yosemite Valley along California's scenic, open all year Highway 140. The Bug offers a relaxed and social atmosphere where families, backpackers and international travelers all find welcome and a variety of affordable accomodations and amenities an old time mountain resort would have. At the Bug we feature a variety of lodgings to suit any budget. From well appointed private rooms in cabins, vacation rentals, to tent cabins and Hostelling International licensed hostel dorms. Our guests find our facilities to be anything but a corporate hotel or motel setting. In fact, we are on a sloped hillside so be prepared to walk far up and down to your accommodations and parking. Our guests are welcome at the June Bug Cafe offering fresh comfort and international foods. The Cafe features an daily crafted dinner menu, highlighting our garden, local or organic ingredients. There are always vegan, vegetarian options and holiday feast menus. Breakfast & lunch are solid choices for your active day. Or, enjoy the fully equipped guest kitchen. Both have free wi-fi and are well stocked with board games, darts, ping pong, books and lively conversation with diverse guests and locals. The Yosemite Health Spa is located below the cafe with its own garden deck overlooking the valley below. There, our guests will find a yoga studio, massage therapy, essential oil baths, hot rocks sauna and a huge H2O2 UV spring fed stainless steel hot tub. With asian decor, world music and complimentary tea, the spa offers a calm yet social environment. Groups, weddings and courses will find varied accomodations and $50+ inclusive packages here at the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort. Both the Bodie Room and the fireside redwood amphitheater are the perfect places to host gatherings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Hotel Midpines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing