We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mix of rustic, mountains, gourmet and hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Yosemite Bug mixes well vintage hotel-style cabin rooms with private baths and traditional hostel rooms/environment. The photos of the rooms on the website are exactly as they look in person; well cared for. We spent a lot of time in the cafe/lounge playing games and eating their terrific food. The menu is limited, changing only every three days; however, the preparation and presentation was a wonderful surprise. Fresh, creative and hearty portions. If you are looking for candlelight dinners with tablecloths, this place ain't for you. With large tables and benches/chairs, you might wind up sharing a table; but that's the charm of the place. Two large sitting areas with comfy couches make this the perfect hang out spot. We also tried the steel tub spa and dry heat suana. A nice setting, likely different than what you are spa-used-to. Beds were extremely comfy, only wish the comfy comforter came with a top sheet. On the downside, our room had no dresser and a winky dink cubby for a "closet." There was a nice couch we would have liked to lounge on, but it quickly became our dresser, clothes spread out on it. A vintage dressing table was nice to look at, but we would have preferred a small table we could have set up a computer or board game on. Also, shelf space in the bathroom was
non-existent. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Clientele is a mix of foreign and USA hostel travelers, California locals and outdoor lovers. There is also a community kitchen, fully stocked with cooking implements, open for all to use. Setting is lovely and for the most part guests were respectful of the 10 pm quiet time. We went for our shared birthdays with our college age son. I would like to make it a family tradition. Yosemite Valley only about 30 mins away.

Room Tip: We were in Liberty Cap B. Ask if there is a closet, dresser in the room you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillDoreen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 697 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a huge surprise in the best possible way. We had a room with private bathroom, and enjoyed the unusual safari theme. The room was pristine and very warm which was more than we had expected from what looked like a simple hostel cabin from the outside. The shower facilities were simplistic, but consistent with the eco-friendly theme that seemed to pervade. The restaurant was good for breakfast, not so good for dinner, but the real pleasure was the forest surrounding the location, which gave a real sense of isolation, and guaranteed very quiet nights. The resort is about an hour's drive from Yosemite valley, but there are very few closer options on the road in, and prices rise rapidly as you get closer. There are also spa facilities which appeared good value for money, although we did not get to use them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart_and_Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I first visited Bug Lodge back in 2005 and returned in 2013 and its still as amazing as it was back then. A great homey feel, making you want to explore the great outdoors. The staff are amazing and the restaurant is filled with amazing people from all round the world.

I stayed in a cabin which I loved, they also have tents should you want to stay in them.

Yosmite is an hour away by YARTS bus transport and the service is good, just make sure your on time at the bus stop located at the entrance to Bug Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m24instudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I liked the place: we took the room with private bath. Clean and enough space for 2 people.
the only problem was the shower... very weak
There is common kitchen equipped with all necessary tools to prepare meal , and you can store your food into containers and refrigerator. we used it for dinner after day of hiking.
The local restaurant: we tried breakfast- tasty and big :) also we took the packed lunch - it was great!
there is SPA , but we didn't have time to try it.
you have ~ 40 min drive to the park entrance. not issue for us, since for the option to stay in the park you pay twice or more than here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalo4ka80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

After coming from a grimy hostel in San Fran you could imagine my relief in walking into this gem! Nestled amongst the trees the hostel/resort has cabins dotted all over the property. The dorm rooms are surprisingly spacious with lockers and bathrooms in the dorm (handy when it's freezing cold at night). The cafe offers fantastic food, although not great for the budget traveller, however there is a full hostel kitchen also. The added bonus is they have their own spa! For only $7 you get all day entry which includes the huge spa and sauna. Well worth it after a full day hiking. While the hostel is a little out of Yosemite National Park itself, the Amtrak bus stops right out the front, and there is a shuttle that runs from the hostel straight into the park $12 return (including park entry fee). Such a relaxing, beautiful hostel I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Compared to the Curry Village tents (where we stayed the night prior to staying here) these tent cabins are much better. Ours was clean and the bed was comfortable, the biggest improvement was having a power point in the tent. The room came with a fan in, but we went to reception and asked for an electric heater instead, which they happily provided. The mountain resort was good, the lounge/ bar/ cafe was very nice and there was live music when we were there on a Friday night. We ate dinner onsite and it was excellent home-style cooking.

Unfortunately, the shower and toilet facilities were quite terrible. We camp a lot and they are some of the worst that we have encountered on a paid site. They weren't at all clean and it was a long walk to the shower block from the tent.

I would give the tent, the resort in general and the food in the cafe all 5/5 but the shower facilities 1/5. If you can make do without a shower for one night and just use the bathroom in the cafe then, especially for the price, I don't think that you can beat it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My daughter and i stayed here for 2 nights in mid September. The tastefully decorated room we stayed in had 3 beds, we used 2 of them. The cabin had a similar room adjacent to ours. The beds were comfortable, the windows let in a cool breeze at night and it was quiet. The drive to Yosemite Park each day took us about 45 minutes on a curvy road but in our opinion it was worth it to have a quiet place to be away from the crowds. Plus the restaurant on site served delicious and nutrition food. And there is a sauna and jacuzzi to use for a small fee! And the staff was friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
8 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,223 reviews
21.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
22.6 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
23.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
12.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Address: 6979A Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Location: United States > California > Midpines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Midpines
Price Range: $42 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 miles downstream from Yosemite Valley , we are located on a small valley under a grove of oaks in a former scouts camp. We are best known for our authentic old-style mountain resort character and social atmosphere. We have everyone from backpackers to young families who enjoy this place. The June Bug Cafe focuses on sustainable, local and fresh, in a daily changing menu with excellent vegan and vegetarian options as well as standard meats and seafood. The Cafe is considered to be one of the five best in the Yosemite Region. The Yosemite Health Spa is social and busy with herbal soaks, H2O2 Hot Tub and a hot rocks sauna. We have yoga on weekends. The private rooms are decorated well but all are different in style. Our family cabins and dorms are very popular. We align with the Hostelling International brand for our backpacker dorms. All accommodations are in stilted cabins. Tent Cabins are all well appointed and can be heated or regular for budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Hotel Midpines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing