We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and cheap tent cabins” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cheap tent cabins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Compared to the Curry Village tents (where we stayed the night prior to staying here) these tent cabins are much better. Ours was clean and the bed was comfortable, the biggest improvement was having a power point in the tent. The room came with a fan in, but we went to reception and asked for an electric heater instead, which they happily provided. The mountain resort was good, the lounge/ bar/ cafe was very nice and there was live music when we were there on a Friday night. We ate dinner onsite and it was excellent home-style cooking.

Unfortunately, the shower and toilet facilities were quite terrible. We camp a lot and they are some of the worst that we have encountered on a paid site. They weren't at all clean and it was a long walk to the shower block from the tent.

I would give the tent, the resort in general and the food in the cafe all 5/5 but the shower facilities 1/5. If you can make do without a shower for one night and just use the bathroom in the cafe then, especially for the price, I don't think that you can beat it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    253
    75
    49
    34
See reviews for
129
207
80
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eugene
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My daughter and i stayed here for 2 nights in mid September. The tastefully decorated room we stayed in had 3 beds, we used 2 of them. The cabin had a similar room adjacent to ours. The beds were comfortable, the windows let in a cool breeze at night and it was quiet. The drive to Yosemite Park each day took us about 45 minutes on a curvy road but in our opinion it was worth it to have a quiet place to be away from the crowds. Plus the restaurant on site served delicious and nutrition food. And there is a sauna and jacuzzi to use for a small fee! And the staff was friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I would definitely stay at the Yosemite Bug again, the rooms were lovely and had a log cabin feel and it is well located to access the national park and the surrounding Sierra Nevada forest. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced and the dining room was cosy and casual. We would have liked to have found time to visit the spa which looked fantastic but unfortunately our itinerary didn't allow us. I only wish we had stayed for another night or 2!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed with my co-workers last May 2013. There are coed dorms and it was very clean. The food at the canteen was okay. They have a big lounging area near the fireplace. You need a car if you are staying here some of the dorms are way high up the side of the mountain. We enjoyed our stay here. It is a good 30 minute drive outside Yosemite. So stay closer if you can. This is good distance to the town of Mariposa where most of the restaurants are located.

Room Tip: Choose a lower level dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimeCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Very Eco-conscious in spirit using refillable containers for soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, etc. Had dinner first night of roast pork with red wine gravy, mashed red potatoes.... Hardly what we expected for a rustic cabin experience. The room had a queen and 2 twins one of which had a trundle with a desk and chair and also an easy chair all crammed into the room. Thank goodness it was only for 2! In retrospect we would not stay there again IF we were visiting Yosemite as it is an hour to the park entrance. There is internet in the dining area which is quite well-appointed in a rustic way. There is no internet in the cabins, very dim CFL bulb, clock but no radio, and soft shower sprays of water rather than an invigorating brisk spray of water. But definitely clean.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kingsharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just loved this jewel of a place. It is difficult to describe as it is such a unique place but i'll have a go. It is more of a very clean and comfortable hostel and yet hostel doesn't really describe it well either. Anyway... the accomodation is in little seperate cabins dotted throughout the trees. The restaurant with a lovely spa on the ground floor is in a central wooden building. The cabins (well the one we were in anyway) are decorated in a really charming shabby chic style and have lots of facinating artefacts. Really comfy and quiet so you get a good nights rest if you intend hiking in Yosemite. You really feel you are sleeping in the woods here and the lovely smell of the trees pervades everywhere.
The service was first class from all the staff we encountered and the food was amazing - simple, fresh, wholesome and great value. Best of all there was plenty of nice choices for vegans and vegetarians and of course meat people also.
Love, love, love this place and want to go back.

Room Tip: There is a great choice of rooms which will suit most people's needs from private ensuite to dor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LundyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Although a bit outdated furnishings in the room, it was all clean and the beds made sure we had a good night's rest. The staff members were very sincere. Especially the kitchen staff, who by the way cook excellent dinners that are not your standard American greasy salty dinners, which sometimes seems hard to get.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_overbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
8.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
21.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
23.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
12.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
18.7 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Property: Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Address: 6979A Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Location: United States > California > Midpines
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Midpines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on its own bend along the stream, perched under a grove of black oaks, the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort has a magical feel. Located only 26 miles away from Yosemite Valley along California's scenic, open all year Highway 140. The Bug offers a relaxed and social atmosphere where families, backpackers and international travelers all find welcome and a variety of affordable accomodations and amenities an old time mountain resort would have. At the Bug we feature a variety of lodgings to suit any budget. From well appointed private rooms in cabins, vacation rentals, to tent cabins and Hostelling International licensed hostel dorms. Our guests find our facilities to be anything but a corporate hotel or motel setting. In fact, we are on a sloped hillside so be prepared to walk far up and down to your accommodations and parking. Our guests are welcome at the June Bug Cafe offering fresh comfort and international foods. The Cafe features an daily crafted dinner menu, highlighting our garden, local or organic ingredients. There are always vegan, vegetarian options and holiday feast menus. Breakfast & lunch are solid choices for your active day. Or, enjoy the fully equipped guest kitchen. Both have free wi-fi and are well stocked with board games, darts, ping pong, books and lively conversation with diverse guests and locals. The Yosemite Health Spa is located below the cafe with its own garden deck overlooking the valley below. There, our guests will find a yoga studio, massage therapy, essential oil baths, hot rocks sauna and a huge H2O2 UV spring fed stainless steel hot tub. With asian decor, world music and complimentary tea, the spa offers a calm yet social environment. Groups, weddings and courses will find varied accomodations and $50+ inclusive packages here at the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort. Both the Bodie Room and the fireside redwood amphitheater are the perfect places to host gatherings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Hotel Midpines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing