We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Bug for 4 nights on our first trip around California. Our cabin with private bath was great for our family of 4 and we ate in the Bug café every morning and evening. The food was very good value compared to nearly every other meal we ate in California and fresh and tasty. The beer on tap was good too!
Overall we really enjoyed our stay although it is a fair drive into Yosemite each day it's probably worth it for the nicer and more affordable accommodation. The road in is beautiful but windy so if you have kids who get car sick stock up on tablets etc...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    268
    75
    49
    37
See reviews for
138
217
81
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Reading some others' reviews, I can't help but wonder...what do you expect? It's a HOSTEL. But by god, one of the best hostels I've stayed at! Lovely setting, cozy and comfy common area with a fireplace, outside sitting areas, a spa (stainless steel hot tub cleaned with hydrogen peroxide and UV, so clean but not chloriney, awesome showers, sauna, hot tea, music). Yes, it's a bit of a drive to Yosemite, like everything in California. I'd rather stay here than those Holiday Inn wannabes next to the Park that charge waaaaay more....Liked the cafe so much too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salbolal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place is perhaps ideal for young rock climbers or others on a tight budget, but a complete disaster for 45-yrs old business executives. Rustic is a total understatement. The cabin was primitive and the food served in the "restaurant" gross (poor service too). But the beds are comfortable and the cabin was fairly clean. Big portion of food for those who have been active the whole day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjedde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was one of 5 hostels we stayed at while touring northern Cali. We are a family of 4 and stayed in a private cabin with bath. It was clean and as expected. This was a convenient stop to make before entering Yosemite and staying inside the park for several days. The drive was easy to the park entrance and this hostel would be an OK stay if lodging in the park was not available or too pricey. The restaurant was good and after doing several day hikes in Yosemite, I can see where the spa would come in handy in the evenings. We did not use the common kitchen so I don't know how well equipped it is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JacMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Over our three nights we managed to stay in 3 different types of accommodation. This seems fairly common practice talking to others. The walk to the shared showers/toilets was unmanageable during the night.
The food was great and the staff very friendly.
Too far from the park really

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We rented a 3 person private room (1 queen bed, 1 twin) and it was a nice size with a private bath. It was half of this trailer on stilts if you will. It is a hostel mixed with private rooms.

Overall I was impressed, I would pay attention to where it is while driving into Yosemite if you don't plan on stopping to check in on your way. We drove past it about 8am and continued on to have time for the Glacier Point trail. You MUST check in by 11 pm.

We ate dinner at the bug's cafe thing, personally it was overpriced but they did have some local brews on tap and wines. They do make hot food, we are chicken and steak.

It was about about a 45 minute drive from The bug to Yosemite. The only closer places are a fortune and fill up so quickly. I would recommend this for families and younger couples. I would never stay at just a hostel and I thought this place was clean and safe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just stayed here over the weekend with a large group. I was hesitant to stay here at first since we have never experienced a hostel before. But, I must say, the accommodations were much better than expected. The dorm area is clean and fairly well kept. The private rooms were just like a 3 star hotel room except there are no tv's or phones. The kitchen was not that great...but if you don't plan to cook, this is a pretty darn good experience. We would come again for sure.

Room Tip: Get the private rooms with bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MowNMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
8.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
21.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
18.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
18.7 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
22.4 mi away
Mountain Trail Lodge
Mountain Trail Lodge
#8 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Property: Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Address: 6979A Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Location: United States > California > Midpines
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Midpines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on its own bend along the stream, perched under a grove of black oaks, the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort has a magical feel. Located only 26 miles away from Yosemite Valley along California's scenic, open all year Highway 140. The Bug offers a relaxed and social atmosphere where families, backpackers and international travelers all find welcome and a variety of affordable accomodations and amenities an old time mountain resort would have. At the Bug we feature a variety of lodgings to suit any budget. From well appointed private rooms in cabins, vacation rentals, to tent cabins and Hostelling International licensed hostel dorms. Our guests find our facilities to be anything but a corporate hotel or motel setting. In fact, we are on a sloped hillside so be prepared to walk far up and down to your accommodations and parking. Our guests are welcome at the June Bug Cafe offering fresh comfort and international foods. The Cafe features an daily crafted dinner menu, highlighting our garden, local or organic ingredients. There are always vegan, vegetarian options and holiday feast menus. Breakfast & lunch are solid choices for your active day. Or, enjoy the fully equipped guest kitchen. Both have free wi-fi and are well stocked with board games, darts, ping pong, books and lively conversation with diverse guests and locals. The Yosemite Health Spa is located below the cafe with its own garden deck overlooking the valley below. There, our guests will find a yoga studio, massage therapy, essential oil baths, hot rocks sauna and a huge H2O2 UV spring fed stainless steel hot tub. With asian decor, world music and complimentary tea, the spa offers a calm yet social environment. Groups, weddings and courses will find varied accomodations and $50+ inclusive packages here at the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort. Both the Bodie Room and the fireside redwood amphitheater are the perfect places to host gatherings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Hotel Midpines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing