We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yosemite Bug Bus Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yosemite Bug Bus Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed at the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort for two nights as part of a two day tour of the Yosemite National Park offered by the Bug Bus in May 2011. I stayed in a large dorm room so I am unable to comment on any other of the accommodation they offer. The dorm beds were big and comfy and the toilets/bathrooms clean and functional. No lockers in room, although security didn't feel like an issue. The check in staff were friendly and easy going and this is the vibe I got from the whole place. The accommodation is located in a beautiful mountain area ( a fair drive from the sites of Yosemite) and is very quiet.

The restaurant / bar was comfortable and warm and the staff serving were generally friendly. I found all the food I ate there to be delicious and tasty and perfect for the start of a days activities, or to end a hard days trekking. The kitchen also looked after our packed lunch on our hikes which was equally good.There is a spa/sauna which some of my fellow tour guests partook in and reported that it was very relaxing.

The two days of touring was also very fun. Yosemite is an amazing place. We visited all the major attractions and did not feel rushed or bored throughout. Hostel pick up and drop off was included in the price which was very convenient. Dave our tour guide was very experienced and brilliant. He entertained informed, and kept us safe throughout. He pointed out many things I otherwise would have missed and I guess these things are all you desire or need from a tour guide.

If you have limited time and you want to see all the great things Yosemite has to offer take the Yosemite Bug Bus and and stay at the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    225
    70
    46
    30
See reviews for
117
187
71
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I didn't quite know what to expect. At 69, I was scared I wouldn't be able to keep up withe the adventuresome Aussies and a lovely German girl who had cycled from Vancouver. But Christopher, our excellent guide, had options for me. The food the first night at the Yosemite Bug Hostel was superb, and the bag lunches were good, better than what one usually gets. But it was the attention Christopher paid to his passengers that made the big difference. He went out of his way to see that we were each happy and challenged.

Room Tip: I slept in the hostel room with bunks to sleep 12, but it was really quiet. There are also several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We recently stayed in a cabin at Yosemite Bug for four nights and had a very pleasant stay. The cabin was clean and roomy, and the in-cabin bathroom was fine. We enjoyed having access to a kitchen and laundry facilities as well as meeting people from all over the world in the cafe, lounge and kitchen. The food in the cafe is excellent! The resort is almost an hour drive from Yosemite Valley. Staff was very helpful, and the office is open until 11 p.m.
I would warn that if you book Yosemite Bug through National Park Reservation, there is a 10 percent fee added to your total that will not show up until you get your credit card bill. It's mentioned on the NPR website but not in their confirmation email and is easy to overlook on the website. I was quite surprised to see the charge on my credit card bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region Parisienne
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at the Bug for 2 nights in a tent cabin. It was "rustic" but nice : 2 beds and a chair, the bathroom and the shower were in an other building
You can either chose to cook in the kitchen or you can eat in the restaurant (I have only tested the breakfast which was good).
In the kitchen, there are a huge fridge, lockers to store your items, a microwave and an oven
There are tables inside and outside
Wifi is also available but you must be near the reception
From the bug you are 45min away from Arch entrance if the traffic is light.
If you will spend just 1 day in Yosemite perhaps you will prefer to stay in a closer hotel.

Room Tip: I think tent cabins are quieter than dormitories and for sure a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laliace_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Travelled here with our 2 young children and stayed in an ensuite cabin. The first night was a bit noisy with neighbouring tents staying up til about 2am but it all calmed down for the rest of our stay. We were there for 4 nights. Location is not excellent. It takes about 45 minutes to drive to the National Park. But for the price and the atmosphere it is well worth a stay. Kitchen facilities are good and the cafe is excellent. The water hole had dried up while we were there but the staff recommended another water hole about a 10 min drive away which was fantastic - we were there every afternoon after big days in the park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed only one night in the dorms -- worked more than fine; friendly and helpful management, clean room (although a bit worn out), the place has a very special atmosphere, would like to stay longer next time. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

we were sleeping in el capitan building, 9 women and a man. The sheets were clean, and even if bathroom broke pretty soon, I had a very pleasant time in this hostel. it is into the wild and can see and listen birds singing at sunrise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peschetta831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
8.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
22.6 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,413 reviews
21.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
12.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Property: Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Address: 6979A Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Location: United States > California > Midpines
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Midpines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on its own bend along the stream, perched under a grove of black oaks, the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort has a magical feel. Located only 26 miles away from Yosemite Valley along California's scenic, open all year Highway 140. The Bug offers a relaxed and social atmosphere where families, backpackers and international travelers all find welcome and a variety of affordable accomodations and amenities an old time mountain resort would have. At the Bug we feature a variety of lodgings to suit any budget. From well appointed private rooms in cabins, vacation rentals, to tent cabins and Hostelling International licensed hostel dorms. Our guests find our facilities to be anything but a corporate hotel or motel setting. In fact, we are on a sloped hillside so be prepared to walk far up and down to your accommodations and parking. Our guests are welcome at the June Bug Cafe offering fresh comfort and international foods. The Cafe features an daily crafted dinner menu, highlighting our garden, local or organic ingredients. There are always vegan, vegetarian options and holiday feast menus. Breakfast & lunch are solid choices for your active day. Or, enjoy the fully equipped guest kitchen. Both have free wi-fi and are well stocked with board games, darts, ping pong, books and lively conversation with diverse guests and locals. The Yosemite Health Spa is located below the cafe with its own garden deck overlooking the valley below. There, our guests will find a yoga studio, massage therapy, essential oil baths, hot rocks sauna and a huge H2O2 UV spring fed stainless steel hot tub. With asian decor, world music and complimentary tea, the spa offers a calm yet social environment. Groups, weddings and courses will find varied accomodations and $50+ inclusive packages here at the Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort. Both the Bodie Room and the fireside redwood amphitheater are the perfect places to host gatherings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Hotel Midpines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing