We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good Old Fashioned Hospitality”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Driveway Entrance Driveway approach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
Driveway Entrance
Driveway approach
Welcome Bear
Guest apartment entrance from parking
Entrance balcony
View from Patio
Covered Patio off of entrance balcony
Barbecue Area
Covered Patio & Guest Apartment
Garden Patio
Garden Patio
Second Sleeping Area
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Cooking Area
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
TV-Video Center
Bathroom with Shower
Floor Plan
16' Above Ground Pool
Pool Area
Aerial view of pool and patio areas.
View from the Pool Area
Yosemite Juniper Crest Sunset
Spring in the Front Meadow
Poppy Path to the Cabana
Summer bloom in the front planter
Winter in our backyard
December Snow 2013
Front Yard View Winter 2013
April Poppies on the Merced River
Yogi Coyote
Backyard Visitor
Hosts/Owners Rickey & Gary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Midpines, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ToddH1935
1 review
“Good Old Fashioned Hospitality”
Reviewed March 10, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

We had a wonderful time at Juniper Crest (despite the rain). Gary and Rickey's property is a destination in of itself, and they immediately invite you to make yourself at home. Our two little boys had a blast exploring the creek, riding the tire swing, and hiking up the trail looking for Bigfoot himself. Above all, Gary and Rickey's kindness and hospitality make Juniper Crest a truly special place, and the perfect gateway to the incomparable Yosemite Valley.

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer46...
1 review
“Fall Trip”
Reviewed November 27, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

They thought of everything and are very accommodating. The apartment is clean and comfortable. Gary provided great tips for our day trip out to Yosemite, making it a perfect visit. This is away from the crowds of Yosemite, in the quiet woods, and conveniently located to the quaint town of Mariposa where there are plenty of shops and restaurants to explore. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2018
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Making guests comfortable and sharing information about our area is what we are about. We enjoyed having you and your family as our guests and hope you come back for a longer stay.
Gary and Rickey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B
Bakersfield, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place and fantastic hosts!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Looking for an affordable place near Yosemite? THIS IS the place to stay. Beautifully kept and extremely clean. The photos on the internet are very true. No disappointments here. AND THE HOSTS!!!! Gary will give you all the information you need about what to see, where to go and how to get there in the National Park! Ricky, keeps the gardens on site looking bright and cheery. You will not find any better hosts! I and my husband were totally impressed and give the highest of recommendations. I am an artist, when we arrived I found that my camping stool that I sit on to paint outdoors, was broken. Gary whisked it off to his shop and fixed it better than new!

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2018
Thanks Russ and Kathy for being our guests. It was great having you here to enjoy our Sierra environment. Also thank you for sharing your wonderful art with us. We look forward to hosting your next Yosemite visit.
Gary and Rickey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
“Peaceful, well appointed and very clean”
Reviewed September 5, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

As our trip's main purpose was to visit Yosemite, the goal was to find comfortable lodging nearby that wasn't of the chain variety. Gary and Rickey's Juniper Crest fit the bill as we looked online and was even better when we arrived for the stay. Even with the Yosemite fires, Gary communicated with us to make sure that we had the correct and most accurate information prior to making the final decision to start our trip. The information proved to be most accurate and very helpful as we made multiple trips into the park. The apartment and surrounding acreage provided a certain amount of solitude that we enjoy but also allowed for some nice casual conversations with these great owners. We will stay here again if we find ourselves in the area again and will definitely suggest the arrangements for family and friends.

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2018
Thank you for letting us know that you were comfortable here and enjoyed our peaceful environment. It was a pleasure having you as our guests. We look forward to your return. Gary and Rickey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevord31...
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Getaway”
Reviewed July 29, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Honestly difficult to add more superlatives to the extensive reviews of Eric B and others who visited before us.

Simply superb get away for those visiting Yosemite and area. Our visit was affected by the nearby Ferguson fire that cut off direct access to the park and some of its key attractions. However Gary and Rickey were very upfront in offering us the opportunity to make a full or partial cancellation and did there utmost to make our stay as comfortable and interesting as possible.

We really appreciated how clean the place was and how our hosts were always careful to respect our privacy and allow us to do our thing.

Happy to recommend to anyone visiting this beautiful part of the world.

Trevor D

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2018
Thank you Trevor. It was a pleasure having your wonderful family here and seeing the boys have fun in the pool. We are glad that you appreciated the cleanliness and privacy we provide our guests.
Gary and Rickey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric B
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yosemite JuniperCrest is practically perfect in every way!”
Reviewed July 11, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

When it comes to vacation rentals I do my research. I spend weeks reading descriptions and reviews on different properties before finally making a decision because nothing is worse than being disappointed and then stuck somewhere that doesn't live up to your expectations. When I found Yosemite Juniper Crest I was immediately struck by the number of glowing 5 star reviews. It almost seemed the reviews were too good to be true but after spending a week with Gary and Rickey at Juniper Crest I can say with confidence that all the 5 star reviews are well deserved.
As many others have said, they are incredibly friendly and accommodating hosts. I truly felt as if we were visiting family for the week. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and to make sure we had everything we needed.
The apartment and property were absolutely perfect for our family of 4 (myself, my wife and two boys 9 and 11). Its conveniently located between Yosemite's west gate and the town of Mariposa. We would wake early everyday, head into Yosemite, hike all day and then head back to Mariposa to hit the Pioneer supermarket or one of the many restaurants located in town. The apartment exceeded all my expectations. Private entrance, full kitchen stocked with everything but food (although there was a snack cabinet that my sons raided everyday for trail snacks), kitchen table, four beds, TV with Direct TV, WiFi access, two air conditioners, bathroom with plenty of towels and soaps, laundry room on site. The private swimming pool (you're the only guest after all) was perfect for those days we got back early enough from the park and the temps were well into the 90's. The days in the Sierra Nevada are hot and sunny but the nights are cool and clear. The humidity is low which unlike our home on the East Coast makes 90 degree temps at mid day very bearable.
If a vacation to Yosemite National Park is in your plans and you want more than just an overpriced hotel room crammed into a village with 500 other guests than look no further than Yosemite Juniper Crest. Its everything you would want and more.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2018
Thank you Eric! We are so pleased to have provided you a home away from home for your Yosemite experience that lived up to your expectations. Privacy, comfort, convenience and informational support are key elements we strive to provide our guests. Rickey and I enjoyed hearing about your daily adventures and seeing your boys enjoy the pool. It felt like family to us having you here. There are still a few trails you left untraveled. So we look forward to your next Yosemite JuniperCrest stay. Gary and Rickey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MhelFerg
Elk Grove, California
1 review
“An Excellent Yosemite Getaway”
Reviewed July 2, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We really appreciated staying at JuniperCrest. Gary and Rickey were awesome hosts. We felt their warm welcome when we arrived. They showed us their lovely place and were very informative, giving us helpful information on the nearby town, surrounding area and good Yosemite advice on trails and activities. The accommodations were especially homey, comfortable and close enough to the park, making even the scenic drive in enjoyable. The place was super clean with enough space for our family of four, a stocked kitchen and outdoor amenities including pool and swing love seat allowing us to enjoy the stars in the evening. We’ll definitely be thinking of JuniperCrest for our family getaways in the future. We give it 5 stars with a rustic touch.

Date of stay: June 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2018
Thank you! It was nice having you as our guests. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always gratifying to know our hard work is appreciated. We will be waiting to book your next Yosemite JuniperCrest getaway!
Gary and Rickey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing