We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midpines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA
Riverside, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We got the campground an hour early. We were excited to start our first family trip to Yosemite and landed koa - my kids and my husband were waiting in the van as the owner told us that we cannot park on the registration parking lot - we must get out of the campground and return at 1 pm. It became 12 15 and I tod them my husband is very exhausted for driving hours all morning and we ll wait inside our van - the owner tore our cabin reservations up and told us we disrespected their policy and scattered us out or they would call police. At first I thought they were teasing us but they were serious - even more we are deaf and we tried to write back to them - apologizing if we made them upset by staying in our van at the lot. They refused to read the paper and put the sign "we reserve no right to serve anyone" . I never had experience bursting into tears all of my life for this - I was hurt and my two kids (5 and 7 years old) did not und why we had to leave with no place to sle. We had to go to Fresno to sleep hotel for three nights - and go back to Yosemite during the day. I had been to koa all of my life and I never have experienced this horrible encounter in my life. It is still scarred in my mind.

Room Tip: Do not go to this place. All staff were unkind and insensitive .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jeannette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    35
    28
    39
See reviews for
89
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Absolutely brilliant setting, and plenty for the kids to do. Toilet shower facilities were clean most of the time (but you needed to know when the daily clean was taking place, and not try to use them in the hour or two before!). The site wasn't that busy, so we didn't spend too much time waiting for showers, but can see how that would be a problem at peak times. Staff on the whole were pretty friendly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MJN2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

From arrival to departure (four day total) we were treated well. Bridget was the lady who checked us in and was personable and hospitable. She made suggestions about our visit to Yosemite and was very sweet to my four year old son when I got him an ice cream cone later in our visit.

Our cabin was clean and satisfactory.

YES THERE ARE FLIES, MOSQUITOES, AND BEES. That's because you are CAMPING. The bees are EVERYWHERE throughout the Yosemite valley.

The pool was cold but clean (NOT as cold as the river was though). The grounds were well maintained and the restrooms were clean.

The ONE drawback is the number of showers (the only reason for the four instead of five rating)...I agree with other reviewers in that they really could add some more showers. I could see how the shower arrangement would get overwhelmed if they had more campers than were there while we were.

Room Tip: The cabins are clean but the mattresses are NOT the best quality, though standard fare for KOA Kampi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was a long drive from Yosemite, about an hour each way. The drive was pretty but two hours each day was spent on the road. We stayed in cabins and they were OK except they cost about $75 each night. The camprgrounds looked crowded and some of the tent sites looked like they were up steep walks from the parking or road. There was only one restroom in the main building but it wasn't crowded at times we were there.(although I imagine it was a times.) The road from the cabins to the restrooms was a fairly steep hill. Actually the whole property was a big hill. The pool was nice but closed most of the time when we got back from Yosemite. A plus was the 24 hour laundry with adequate amount of machines. WIFI was best around the main building and they limited you to only an hour a day of free service. We had to sit on picnic tables near the building as it did not reach to our cabin.
The staff were friendly to a point, mostly matter of fact. In the store I paid for ice before removing it from the freezer. A worker who came in then asked me if I wanted to pay for it. I felt bad he though I was trying to swipe it. I told him I had already paid the lady at the counter. No apology or graciousness given... kind of made me feel badly. A plus was the caboose that had old arcade games which my teen loved!! A unique touch! Not sure I would stay here again for a Yosemite visit. But places around Yosemite are scarce.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShurleyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here with our tent. The surroundings are pretty, the pool is nice, but the price you pay for this campsite is really not in line with the facilities they offer. There are not enough showers and toilets for the number of people on the campsite and should be cleaned more often.

We didn't have much to do with the staff, but the few encounters we had were not as friendly and sympathetic as we are used to at other, cheaper, campgrounds.

So, all in all, I hesitate between two and three bullets, but for the scenery and the swimming pool, I decided to award three.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskiaNLNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The facilities were in poor condition. Almost every bathroom I went to needed flushing - disgusting. One of the 3 showers didn't even work (don't know about the women's showers). At the the lower shared bathrooms 1 of the 2 doors couldn't even close for you to lock so was unusable unless of course you have a guard posted. The site itself was not very level and pretty much ant infested. My advice, find some other place to camp - not one of the better KOAs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeystoneMountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Midpines hotels

PHOENIX
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

First time I stayed here 7 years ago the cabin was totally full of bugs and my then 7 year old freaked, to the point that was all he remembered from our trip to Yosemite.. This time (after first checking there would be no bugs) we had a nice new cabin no11, with a door lock that was dodgy at best, didn't lock half the time. Overall the cabin was fine,the showers and toilets are sparse for the number of people staying at the campground (3 showers, 3 toilets). The shower heads are low flow so it takes twice as long to get your hair rinsed, and the mens showers I was told only one shower head was working properly. IHowever when we checked in the woman at the desk was LESS than friendly. Not sure why she was so inhospitable, maybe she doesn't like people in her campground. I also made the HUGE mistake of going into the laundry room and not shutting the door, and got an earful about that from the "yellow shirt" After two bad experiences, 7 years apart, I dont think I would stay there again, especially as the drive into Yosemite is long from this location and there is no draw to camp there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midpines
8.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,004 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
20.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
4.6 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
782 reviews
12.7 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA

Property: Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA
Address: 6323 Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Location: United States > California > Midpines
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Midpines
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Yosemite West / Mariposa Koa Hotel Midpines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing