We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta is the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Middletown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are visiting this area, skip the Casino! Take the time to seek out these wonderful quiet little cabins in Greta's backyard. So comfy and relaxing. Each cabin has its own porch, table, and little fire-stove, plus coffee maker and fridge. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

It's my great pleasure to have business travelers like you feel so at home here and return again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 71 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was an interesting place. When we first arrived, we wondered if we had the wrong address. It looked like just an ordinary little house and garage but the address was right so we figured we park and find out if we were lost! But Greta, the innkeeper, heard our car and came to her front door.

She opened the gate to the backyard to lead us to our lodging, and there is where the "oasis" part comes in. There is a huge backyard, with an organic garden, lots of large beautiful trees, a pond and spring towards the end of the property, and three individual cottages. She led us to the third, i.e. farthest from her house. Cute little cottage with its own outdoor table, umbrella and sitting area - rustic. But inside the cottage it was really very nice - simple but tasteful, plenty of room, very clean, good reading lights, a very comfortable bed, and a very nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. We spent about an hour with a glass of wine outside on our little porch, just enjoying the quiet serenity of the place. We were the only guests that night so we had the place all to ourselves.....and we slept like babies.

Greta is relatively flexible about her breakfast hours - particularly since we were the only ones there. She served a frittata made with vegetables from her garden....quite tasty. She promises a "full country breakfast" so we had no "gourmet" expectations. And while it was sufficient and tasty, it was perhaps the least impressive breakfast of our 10 day trip - all in B&Bs.

So no real complaints - we slept wonderfully and enjoyed our little cottage. This is a relatively rustic but very comfortable environment. Only improvement could have been the breakfast.

Greta is also a skilled masseuse so massages are available upon request, but we didn't avail ourselves of this service.

Look past the entrance and you'll enjoy a true backyard oasis!

Room Tip: Pick the last cottage, closest to end of property if you want the most private room. You'll als...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you, Silverwing 928, for your thoughtful and heartfelt review. I greatly appreciate hearing from someone like you, who suggests improvements and talks about enjoying so many aspects of her cottage and being able to “sleep like babies” and “enjoy the quiet serenity” of the Oasis. It tells me that you have gotten to appreciate the core of what is possible here. 'Till next time ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was a lucky find for us at a busy time in the wine country. These are 3 cute cottages nestled in the woods of Middleton. Each cottage has its own patio with table and chairs. Clean, large room with comfortable bed, roomy bathroom and nice little touches everywhere. Greta is a gracious host, makes a great breakfast, and is just plain nice to visit with. We enjoyed dinner at the "Boars Breath" restaurant and bar in Middleton. Take the Highway 29 scenic route through great wineries and Calistoga. Tons of stuff to do in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a wonderful rural retreat in one of the most beautiful parts of the California wine country. The rooms are very homey and beautifully maintained, and the gracious hostess serves a gourmet breakfast; she is also very knowledgeable about local attractions.

Room Tip: There are three separate cottages, and they are all extremely nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Backyard Garden Oasis is a little bit of heaven in Middletown. Beautiful setting, very tranquil.
Abundance of bird life and butterflies. Your room is really a cabin that is delightful. It was a very busy five days preparing for family wedding and visiting family in area. Looking forward to returning for a more restful visit. Innkeeper Greta was a great hostess.

Room Tip: Room closest to large pond as great text service on cell. Don't bother trying to call out t on c...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinthelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a terrific little gem, hidden away between Calistoga and Clear Lake. Greta, the innkeeper, is a warm and gracious hostess who takes a sincere interest in her guests and goes out of her way to make sure you're comfortable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean and private. The grounds are pretty and peaceful. The breakfast is homemade, delicious and healthy to boot. You're also located close to Clear Lake and some fabulous little-known wineries like Gregory Graham. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Greta is a gracious host, great cook, superb masseuse, and probably has many other skills we didn't have a chance to experience. The B&B is a great value, far exceeding our expectations (even with good reviews).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daveg_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
18.2 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
8.4 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
460 reviews
8.3 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
519 reviews
22.3 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
19 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Garden Oasis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Garden Oasis B&B

Address: 24019 Hilderbrand Rd, PO Box 1760, Middletown, CA 95461-9790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range: $172 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Backyard Garden Oasis B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Wine Country Bed and Breakfast Inn whose 3 Diamond AAA rating is just the beginning of a quiet, serene escape to celebrate your life, whether for a wedding or anniversary or a business trip. The three cottages have king sized beds, skylights, wireless, satellite TVs, fireplaces and ac's. Views are pastoral and the breakfasts are delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Backyard Garden Oasis B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Garden Oasis Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing